??!
2 photos
Breville the Crystal Clear BKE750

Breville the Crystal Clear BKE750

MPN: BKE750CLR4JAN1
1.6 from 14 reviews

Reviews

1.6

14 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
eric g.

eric g.

  • 3 reviews

Unacceptable.

published

Pretty unbelievable that a premium priced product, in such a well-understood category, performs SO poorly. The first thing we noticed was that the switch to start the kettle was really fussy and difficult to press in. The deal-breaker, though, has been the ever-present pool of water on our kitchen counter under and around the entire base of the unit. Fortunately it's a stone benchtop.
Leaking is just unacceptable. Really can't believe they let this product go to market.
Today we replaced with a Sunbeam unit, and will not be purchasing another Breville product.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Derek J

Derek JGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Faulty Product - no not buy

published

Product leaks from day 1! The large number of poor reviews should already persuade you to shop for anything else but this! The nice lady at Customer Service told me 'we sell more non-leaky kettles than leaky ones so...', but given the amount of reviews left with the same issue - for a $140 kettle - I wouldn't bother with taking the risk, or anything else from Breville from now on.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
EJ1965

EJ1965Southern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews

Buy this if you like looking at condensation

published

Residue of condensation around all of the glass including the lid after kettle boils. It looks ugly and cheap, defeats the purpose of having a clear glass jug. Jug is a replacement for Sunbeam clear stainless steel jug no problems with condensation ever!

Purchased in July 2020 at Betta Home Living for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Crystal Clear BKE750 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ali S

Ali SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Disappointing

published

The kettle keeps boiling for long before turning off. Surprisingly the lid jammed after short use right after warranty. Used to trust this brand more. Not worth $70+ at all

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for A$75.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
C.Liu

C.LiuSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Internal water leak after 5 months of use.

published

Leaks from internally after only 5 months of usage. NOT HAPPY! Even the 10 dollars kettle from kart last much longer than this Kettle. We bought a sunbeam one as replacement and it is much better!

Purchased in December 2019 for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Teles

TelesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent! Clean, quiet and reliable.

published

I read the reviews here and kept seeing warnings about leaks. My kettle is perfect. No leaks, no discolouration, no plastic taste. Its fast and safe, although the glass does get very hot.

Dypsis

DypsisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Beware: It Leaks

published

I bought the Breville The Crystal Clear BKE750CLR Electric Kettle recently, but unfortunately the next morning, we noticed a lot of water on the kitchen bench and in and around the electric base. It leaks from between the plastic bottom of the kettle and the stainless steel outer surround. We took it back, and were informed that they have had quite a few returns. In my opinion, it should be withdrawn from sale. It's hazardous, and there are a number of other people with the same problem. I bought a cheaper glass one for less than half the price.

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Luna

LunaSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy this product

published

I bought this three years ago. It lasted 8 months then when I went to try open it it wouldn't open. I got a replacement however. The new one was working fine for about 1.5 years and now it has the same problem. It only has a 12 month warranty and now I have to buy a new one. One of the plastic hinges of the lid is now broken thus it does not pop open when the water is boiled anymore and I am unable to open it unless I flip the kettle backwards. It has two springs on two hinges (right underneath the lid) and one of the hinges has now broken I can see it is made of plastic and it's very delicate no wonder it has broke after 1.5 years.

Unless you want to change kettles every 1 to 2 years don't buy this one.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bruce J

Bruce JSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice kettle.....But Leaks

published

Nice looking kettle with good ergonomics. Also like the extra capacity and is fairly quiet compared to some others I have used. Boils water quite fast as well.

But... after 4 weeks of use it has started leaking around the base. Going by the number of reviews with the same problem it is a design flaw. Avoid.

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones Online Store for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville the Crystal Clear BKE750 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emmie

EmmieHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous.

published

Works well BUT after 3 weeks leaks from the base making a mess and maybe dangerous. This kettle actually replaced a ten month old Breville bke595clr when the lid kept popping up , I am disappointed. I am waiting to hear back from Breville but now have lost trust and feel confused when old previous kettles lasted for years.
Photo shows water on paper towel from leak.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

A leaker.... definitely a flawed product!

published

Like other reviewers, we liked the style of this kettle. Also liked its extra capacity and quiet operation. But the appearance of water around the base necessitating frequent wiping before use means we won’t be keeping it for long. This is the second one we have tried and proves the fault was not a one off.

Purchased in August 2019.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Andrew A.

Andrew A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good Looking Kettle but Leaks

published

A very good looking design. Like the clear glass, ergonomic handle. Very fast and surprisingly quieter than similar glass kettles. But found puddles of water on the base within a couple of days of use. Water trickled out of the bottom of kettle before it came out of the spout.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Mark Nickolavic

Mark NickolavicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The one we bought leaks

published

Within a few days of buying this kettle there was a pool of water around the base. It seems that it leaks when it’s cooling down. Each time we use it we have to wipe up the water before using it again

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$90.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Nice looking leaker

published

Purchased one week ago and kept finding water on the base when picking up the kettle to use but couldn’t work out why. Turns out it leaks from the bottom as the water cools and water is caught between the glass and plastic on the bottom of the kettle, and between the plastic and metal on the base plate. Straight back to the store for a refund no questions asked and replaced it with a new version of our old Breville kettle which worked perfectly for 8 years. Really liked the glass but wonder if there is a design flaw with mixing glass, plastic, metal and heat.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all Breville Crystal Clear reviews

Questions & Answers

JanM

JanMasked

the Crystal Clear BKE750

my Breville Crystal clear BKE750 leaks into the base with the electric cord. Am i at risk of electrocution? Is it the jug leaking or condensation in the base as hot air hits cold outer metal? Should i take it back?Only a month old.

1 answer
Emmie
Emmie

I cant answer that But Water and electricity are a very bad combination.
Take the kettle back to where you bought it hope you keep your proof of purchase or can show on a credit card transaction.
.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.