??!
1 photo
Breville The Oracle BES980BKS (Black Sesame)

Breville The Oracle BES980BKS (Black Sesame)

4.2 from 18 reviews

Reviews

4.2

18 reviews
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.7 (13)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (12)
Previous
Next
Bella Paola

Bella PaolaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

2 Years and going strong

published

I purchased mine just under 2 years ago and I can say I’m very happy with the build quality. The Quality of the coffee always comes out consistent and delicious. The temp control is good and gives you more control over your coffee.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
chooklet

chookletAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

Needs some work

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980BKS (Black Sesame) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SunHonmons

SunHonmonsPerth, WA

Great Machine! Fantastic White-Glove Service!!

published

Love The Oracle as the coffee is great and looks beautiful in our new home. I use an Oracle Touch at work and after Emily came for the White Glove Service in Perth, I was sold on great service she provided, so I purchased The Oracle BES980 to use at home.

Emily is fantastic! I have recommended The Oracle and the White Glove Service to all my family and friends.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Tim Lidcombe

Tim LidcombeSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

The best coffee machine I have ever owned

published

After having three automatic coffee machines over the years (1 Krups and 2 x Delonghi's) all failed and broke down after a while, this espresso machine makes the best cafe' quality coffee and has been very reliable. A friend was very impressed with my machine but he bought the cheaper version... he now regrets not paying extra for the better machine.

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Ian

IanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Breville product

published

I’ve owned the Black Oracle about 3 years it’s been faultless except for the inner shower screen disintegrating and jamming the head into the machine.
But Breville sent me a replacement with out any cost. Great machine For those who want the perfect Coffee.

Purchased in March 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$2,350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Rosemary Webster

Rosemary WebsterHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

We take it on holidays as we can’t be without it...

published

We purchased our Oracle in 2017 with an extended warranty thrown by Harvey Norman sales rep.
We love it. We use it at least twice sometimes three times a day and it has never failed. We religiously clean the machine and back wash daily. It consistently makes great coffee especially as we use full cream real milk not cheap $1 rubbish.
We returned to an authorized repairer once because the external casing started to show corrosion and it was replaced whilst we holidayed overseas. I would happily recommend this machine, and when I have to, I’ll probably buy another similar.
We paid $2200 with free coffee , filters, and an extended warranty.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$2,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
david

davidauckland

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

good product

published

very good machine, good design, black colour is beautiful, have to adjust the grinding dial at first couple times, the coffee taste just like coffee shop, very happy.
highly recommend, thanks breville.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Product is used Daily
Craig R

Craig RPerth, WA

Best thing I have ever bought

published

I've had all sorts of coffee machines, including high end, fully manual Italian ones, without a doubt the Oracle is the best one I have ever had, with the in house, white glove service, I was full bottle on the way to use it and look after it, the dedicated Oracle phone line is another bonus

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,940.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980BKS (Black Sesame) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jasmine

JasmineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great coffee, but beware of the after-sales service

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
chichi

chichiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great coffee machine

published

Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this coffee machine. I use it almost everyday and it is easy to operate. Especially the auto grind/tamp function and the ability to simultaneously perform extraction and milk frothing , it saves me a lot of trouble/time compare to other coffee machines. The coffee it makes is at the right temperature as well. However, I've found inconsistency with the espresso extraction. Using the same coffee beans with the same grinding size/level, the amount of espresso extraction can be very different. Sometimes it's right, sometimes it's over-extracted. Other than this, it is a very good coffee machine for the family.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,934.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

rensinoz

rensinozGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

After two years needing to spend $600 on repairs

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$2,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Martin

MartinNew South Wales

Require a flathead?

published

This is the perfect machine to create the ultimate flathead or warren coffee. I wouldn't look anywhere else. Any other brews you make are also sensational, this machine can not be beated

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Gina

GinaIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Real coffee taste

published

Very happy with this machine the coffee is very consistent and the taste is great. The temperature is adjustable to your liking. My daughter and I bought one each. Fantastic.

Purchased in April 2019 at Always Direct.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Iqbal

IqbalSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

A perfect wedding gift

published

Bought this as a wedding gift for my brother. Absolutely loved it. Easy to use and has a lot of settings for everyone's use. There is no standing around holding a jug to froth or steam milk....you just hit the lever and it does it for you with pre-programmed temperature and time! The coffee tastes perfect every time

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980BKS (Black Sesame) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
margaret n

margaret nGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville Oracle

published

This machine is so easy to clean and operate,makes great coffee from lattes to short blacks,digital display makes it easy to follow when cleaning or making coffee ,has manual or automatic milk frothing.

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Donna NZ

Donna NZ

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this coffee machine!

published

I love this coffee machine! I've gone from buying 2 takeaway coffees a day to making them at home. It's so quick and easy, but most importantly the coffee is just as good as a cafe one - better if you invest in really good quality freshly roasted beans (not supermarket beans!) I cant fault this coffee machine, it heats up really quickly, and has all the bells and whistles you could ever need. It looks great (I've got the black sesame model) and it's quick and painless making a coffee for a few people since you can steam milk and extract coffee simultaneously. The built in coffee grinder and tamper save time, and it's just so easy! Highly recommend this coffee machine.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
coasttech

coasttechMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

No Regrets - 2 years 3 months broken.. no help from Oracle

published

Purchased in October 2016.

2 comments
coasttech
coasttech
coasttech
coasttech
See all Breville The Oracle BES980 reviews

Questions & Answers

Christopher L.

Christopher L.asked

BES980BKS (Black Sesame)

Our Oracle touch [3 months old] operated flawlessly until 3 days ago can no longer produce a well tamped puck Even at grind setting 1 a single shot latte runs for 30 seconds and fills the glass as if for a very weak long Black Grind setting 9 - 8 previously produced a perfect shot for our preferred beans Any advice would be most welcome CJL

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.