?
? !
2 photos
Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

MPNs: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR
3.7 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Benchtop and Toaster Ovens Buying Guide

Everyone loves a good, home-cooked meal - crispy-crust pizza, anyone? A benchtop/toaster oven is a mini, portable oven that sits on your kitchen counter and achieves delicious results. Read on for more information about whether a toaster oven is right for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (15)
  • Product is used
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
SAMMY

SAMMYHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This pocket rocket is awesome

published

Just bought this little unit and have tried out a few functions already. So far so good. Its easy to set up and use with a pre set buttons for most things. We tried out the chip mesh tray and it was great. Chips were crispy but not too dry and nice that they weren't oily. Chicken strip's were also delicious in the air fryer. Crispy on the outside and juicy and moist inside. I will update more functions as I use them.

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Robyn R

Robyn RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

I use it so much more than expected.

published

I originally bought this to act as a "sort of" proofing oven but find myself using it often for many other things. I love the air-fryer for potato wedges - thanks for nothing Breville - but it toasts gluten free bread really well, grills very gently, and even fits my 26cm casserole pot. It's an excellent addition to my kitchen freeing up space in the built in 90cm oven for larger items and also quicker to heat for smaller jobs

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alan

AlanSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville Smart Oven Fryer a definite winner in our household, work place and farm.

published

I have three of the original Breville Smart Ovens, at home, at work and at the farm. I recently upgrade to the Smart Oven Air Fryer. A great appliance that can just about cook anything. A bit small for the large family roast. I cook the vegetables in the Smart Oven and Meat or Chicken in the Smart Oven Air Fryer. My Sister and Brother have purchased the Smart Oven Air Fryer for their kitchens. No need for the gas oven.

Purchased in April 2020 for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
St John M.

St John M.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great

published

We love this little oven. So useful and fast. Got the air fryer to go on top of the straight oven/toaster.
Very useful combo
Its very easy to program and so is useful.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love love love

published

This is a fantastic oven . We live in a rental property with a really terrible oven , so i bought this oven as substitute for anything i wanted browned instead of steamed . I cook roast meats , great roast potatoes , cakes, pizza and muffins to name a few .The reheat and warm options are very helpful. I can't live without my new oven .

Purchased in February 2020 at Betta Home Living for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colin Foley

Colin FoleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great machine, don't even use the oven any more!

published

Great product, perfect for a family of three, best toast ever and have used every function. Only thing is it can take about 20% longer to cook then packet would suggest

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Burkstrum

BurkstrumCaloundra

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Pizza in 10 minute's!

published

I love fried food. I can cook fresh home made pizza in 10 minutes, frozen fries come out crispy, cheesy garlic bread is a breeze! I love all of the functions this little oven has and it's the perfect counter top oven for those smaller meals.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for $428.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mimi

MimiSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very, very happy with this oven.

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Myers for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MarnieB

MarnieBSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Couldn’t live without it.

published

This oven is the utter best. I would be lost without it. It’s versatility is second to none. It grills, toasts, bakes, roasts, slow cooks reheats. I bake cakes, roast meat slow cook casseroles reheat snacks bake vegies. If you need an over then this does it all & so easy to clean.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $275.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharon

SharonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

So glad I made the investment

published

Purchased in July 2019 at David Jones for $469.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cayenne

CayenneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

The Breville BOV860 Smart Oven is the best thing since sliced bread!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $424.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mac31

Mac31Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

So far so good

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer for $424.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Nic

Nicbrisbane

  • 30 reviews
  • 43 likes

It's a Cracka!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I’m glad your in my life

published

Slow cooker is the best. I put on as I get to work and my breakfast is ready on time! Cheese toastier are delish too! All the boys love it as well

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
banter

banterSydney, NSW

  • 34 reviews
  • 28 likes

It's Not Just Smart... It's Brilliant!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Breville.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Christine B.

Christine B.asked

Can foil be placed over meat when roasting

1 answer
airfryer01
airfryer01

no, not to try foil in oven

Reginald Caspall

Reginald Caspallasked

Can I spray chips from the super market in Australia with small amount of oil to air fry them

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

If it is not in the manual just ring and ask service number

Chris A

Chris Aasked

Can I use baking paper to line the air fryer basket in the Breville 860 smart oven to minimise drip onto the elements which are apparently difficult to clean? If the extra airfryer baskets become available in NZ again, can I successfully use 2 at once with the air fry function? Like many other members, I obviously would have preferred to purchase the larger 900 model. Can’t understand why Breville could not offer it to their AU/NZ customers. We don’t have smaller families than in the US!

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

What did Breville say when you contacted them directly?

See all Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryBenchtop / Toaster Ovens and Air Fryers
Price (RRP) $499.00
Price (RRP) $499.95
Capacity22L
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless Steel or Black
Power2,400 W
Weight13 kg
Non-Stick CoatingNo
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
TimerYes
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432018807
  • MPN: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.