??!
2 photos
Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

MPNs: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR
3.7 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Benchtop and Toaster Ovens Buying Guide

Everyone loves a good, home-cooked meal - crispy-crust pizza, anyone? A benchtop/toaster oven is a mini, portable oven that sits on your kitchen counter and achieves delicious results. Read on for more information about whether a toaster oven is right for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jane M.

Jane M.Perth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Nice, but misrepresented Aussie functions

published

Nice, but ripped off by AU specs. No proofing or dehydrating in Aussie unit & like others here - I thought I did my research. Love the black colour, easy to operate and cooks a charm.

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Apple

AppleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

very handy and I used it every day since purchase

published

I really like this smart oven day 1, it can cook very crispy chips, fried chicken and bake nice cake as well. except one thing - it's actually quite hard to clean compare to the traditional oven.

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones for $429.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
crisssydoll

crisssydollSouthwest, VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

Meh.....pretty mediocre

published

It does not have thorough explanations of using each program. Very basic, have no idea how to cook a roast in it. When i follow instructions it takes much longer to air fry than i want. Its taken me 40 minutes to air fry calamari after heating oven. Wouldnt recommend this product

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $465.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Addison Elwood

Addison ElwoodGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good things come in small packages

published

Bought this six months ago as a temporary replacement for my regular oven that’s on its way out. It’s done it’s job having cooked roast meat, baked cakes and other snack foods. While it’s done it’s job and certainly filled a void with my cooking needs it does need some improvements. The roof of the oven is extremely difficult to clean. Can’t remove oily splatters off the roof and my light doesn’t switch on when the door is opened. This aside it does crackle my pork really well and it’s great for frozen pizzas and oven cooking small meals. Although it has an airfry option it won’t replace my airfryer.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Breville Fan

Breville FanPerth, WA

Love my BOV860 Smart Oven Air Fryer

published

I have one issue and that is my reluctance to use the air fryer tray without lining it with tin foil before air frying any foods that drip since the catch tray lays beneath the base elements which cop all these drippings and I'm unable to perfectly clean doing as per instructions, consequently defeating the purpose of an air fryer. I refer to foods such as chips, chicken patties, bacon and the Broiling pan is not big enough for chicken kebabs. If I'm able to find the correct size baking tray would that be okay to place at the lowest position of the oven in order to catch drippings plus protect the elements, or does Breville offer an accessory for this very purpose?

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Les F

Les FSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not worth it, check door fit

published

I purchased the BOV860 two days ago and returned it today. The door did not align with the body and the Air Fryer was not worth the extra money, almost $500 and you can get the BOV845 for under $300. I have two of the previous models of the oven, one about nine years old which still works well and the other about three years old and the fan has stopped working so thats why I bought the new one. The quality of the new one is very inferior to previous models. I was going to replace the BOV860 with another one. I checked four new ones and they all had problems with the doors. When I checked new BOV845 models all the doors fitted well. I think Breville should look hard and fast at their supplier.

Purchased in June 2019 for $370.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

We are very sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your oven and we will be looking into the door fitting. We do understand your frustration and truly do value your feed back on this.

JasonI

JasonISydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very Very Disappointed

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville
LittleJimmy

LittleJimmyBunbury

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Compact smart oven is also a great air fryer

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
csutak40

csutak40Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 31 likes

Great, on the whole - shame we are America's poor cousin

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
csutak40
csutak40
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Chris A

Chris Aasked

Can I use baking paper to line the air fryer basket in the Breville 860 smart oven to minimise drip onto the elements which are apparently difficult to clean? If the extra airfryer baskets become available in NZ again, can I successfully use 2 at once with the air fry function? Like many other members, I obviously would have preferred to purchase the larger 900 model. Can’t understand why Breville could not offer it to their AU/NZ customers. We don’t have smaller families than in the US!

No answers
Andy

Andyasked

I heard that the AU version does not have the dehydration function, can anyone confirm this?

No answers
Gayle

Gayle asked

Hi team I am considering purchasing a Breville Smart Oven but I have not been able to find out if it is possible to install it into my caravan using the space I have for my microwave. I am concerned that it might need more breathing space around it. Could please advise me if it possible to safety install it in my van. Many thanks. Cheers Gayle

2 answers
Linda
Linda

It is the same size as a micro wave and will fit in a caravan but don’t waste your money I sent emails and pictures of my air fryer with a question of how to clean it , it is a nightmare to clean and after several times asking I got a very sarcastic email try using a scourer and soap and water :/ I will never buy a breville product again Customer service sucks

Gayle
Gayle

Thanks Linda did not think about it being up high and difficult to clean. Cheers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryBenchtop / Toaster Ovens and Air Fryers
Price (RRP) $499.00
Price (RRP) $499.95
Capacity22L
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless Steel or Black
Power2,400 W
Weight13 kg
Non-Stick CoatingNo
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
TimerYes
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432018807
  • MPN: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.