??!
2 photos
Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer

MPNs: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR
3.7 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Benchtop and Toaster Ovens Buying Guide

Everyone loves a good, home-cooked meal - crispy-crust pizza, anyone? A benchtop/toaster oven is a mini, portable oven that sits on your kitchen counter and achieves delicious results. Read on for more information about whether a toaster oven is right for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Linda

LindaGreat Southern, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst appliance I have ever bought

published

The air fryer is impossible to clean it has a sticky substance on the bottom which won’t come off it looks like it hasn’t been cleaned in months but is only a few weeks old

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
PJT

PJTSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do yourself a favour

published

My brother has this unit and, while it is good, I purchased the Cuisinart Combi steam/convection oven instead and I am glad I did. It was cheaper and does a lot more than the Breville. It doesn't airfry but I also bought a small inexpensive airfryer

Purchased at Myer for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
MLM

MLMBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good all around oven

published

Purchased in June 2020 at David Jones Online Store for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

part of the oven peeling

published

Purchased on April 27, 2020 and used almost daily. We liked it until today (June 10) It started to smoke and smelled like rubber or electrical burning. Paint is peeling off the outside, close to the controls. We are taking it back. I don't want aerosolized toxins in our food.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Elle

ElleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't get it hot - chips have taken 75 mins and still cooking!

published

My first ever use of this machine and I'm disappointed. I thought it would be a faster cooker, not painstakingly slower. I'm about to give up cooking chips in the Breville and put them in my normal oven as it's been well over an hour now. Not sure if there's something wrong with my machine or if if this is just it. Very disappointing as I was so excited to use it! Will need to take it back I think as this is basically unusable.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Euan

Euan

  • 2 reviews

Breville Smart Oven/ Air Fryer model BOV860 Error E05 if you have solar panels

published

We had just bought a new Breville BOV860 bench-top oven/toaster. We followed the pre-use instructions exactly. About 30 seconds after the pre-use heating had been completed error code E05 showed on the control panel. I called the Breville customer support number and explained the problem. The immediate response from the support person was 'Do you have solar panels?' which we do. It seems that there is an issue with these appliances where they do not work if the premises have solar panels.
We will be returning the oven to the store where we bought it.
Very disappointed (we did not even get to try using it) and not good enough considering that approx. 25% of households have solar panels.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
john1818

john1818Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Disappointed with Airfry function

published

large oven that works ok on most functions but didn't realise that the airflow fan is placed at the side of the oven and not from the top. When airfrying you want the airflow hitting the chips across the whole surface from the top down. I find it more uneven when cooking with the air coming from the side plus the most annoying feature of this is the oven has preheat when you select Airfry. Which adds cooking time and is not how other models seem to work . It feels like Airfry has been added on as an after thought. If you are looking especially for the airfry function I wouldn't recommend

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Rusty air fryer basket

published

Initially I was excited to buy the product however the product is not even 1 month with me the air fryer basket started to get rusty on my first use. If this is made for food it should not rust at all plus it is a stainless steel it should not rust. Tried contacting Breville and their customer service representative is useless, I was promised they will send air fryer basket 5 to 7 business days and I've even given them chance to extend it till 3 weeks the basket hasn't come yet. Tried calling again and was advised they still need few more days to get it delivered. How ridiculous this company can be!

Will never buy their products again and will never recommend to everyone.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
TC80

TC80Gold Coast

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Needs to be recalled. Buy BOV845 instead.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville
TC80
TC80

Hi, I got no reply from socialmedia@breville.com.au

TC80
TC80

Still no reply from socialmedia@breville.com.au

Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wisey

WiseyToowoomba

  • 88 reviews
  • 100 likes

Not what we'd hoped

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville
See all Breville the Smart Oven Air Fryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Chris A

Chris Aasked

Can I use baking paper to line the air fryer basket in the Breville 860 smart oven to minimise drip onto the elements which are apparently difficult to clean? If the extra airfryer baskets become available in NZ again, can I successfully use 2 at once with the air fry function? Like many other members, I obviously would have preferred to purchase the larger 900 model. Can’t understand why Breville could not offer it to their AU/NZ customers. We don’t have smaller families than in the US!

No answers
Andy

Andyasked

I heard that the AU version does not have the dehydration function, can anyone confirm this?

No answers
Gayle

Gayle asked

Hi team I am considering purchasing a Breville Smart Oven but I have not been able to find out if it is possible to install it into my caravan using the space I have for my microwave. I am concerned that it might need more breathing space around it. Could please advise me if it possible to safety install it in my van. Many thanks. Cheers Gayle

2 answers
Linda
Linda

It is the same size as a micro wave and will fit in a caravan but don’t waste your money I sent emails and pictures of my air fryer with a question of how to clean it , it is a nightmare to clean and after several times asking I got a very sarcastic email try using a scourer and soap and water :/ I will never buy a breville product again Customer service sucks

Gayle
Gayle

Thanks Linda did not think about it being up high and difficult to clean. Cheers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryBenchtop / Toaster Ovens and Air Fryers
Price (RRP) $499.00
Price (RRP) $499.95
Capacity22L
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless Steel or Black
Power2,400 W
Weight13 kg
Non-Stick CoatingNo
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
TimerYes
Dimensions 480 x 403 x 278 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432018807
  • MPN: BOV860BSS and BOV860BTR

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.