??!
5 photos
Brita Marella Cool / Marella XL

Brita Marella Cool / Marella XL

Cool, XL
3.8 from 32 reviews

Reviews

3.8

32 reviews
5
(12)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Previous
Next
trompfy

trompfyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 188 reviews
  • 55 likes

The best water filter for your home

published

On Friday 28th August 2020 I bought this for when I move into my own unit in September 2020 so I can have filtered water ready for tea for me and coffee for when my family and friends come over. The staff were kind and thoughtful to me and the service was amazing.

Purchased in August 2020 at Brita for A$39.40.

M.W.

M.W.Perth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Works Very Well

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for A$33.00.

Maryanne

MaryannePerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent water filter system and affordable

published

This water filter is excellent. We have had ongoing water taste problems and the Brita jug filters the water to leave it tasting like water - nothing else! It filters quickly so that the water is ready to use within a minute or two. We have been using this product for approximately 1 month now and we are extremely happy with it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Serveware Products

Find out how Brita Marella Cool / Marella XL compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue de C

Sue de CNoosaville

Brita Jug Faulty Lid

published

Yes just bought my Brita jug and my lid keeps falling off as well. Just doesn’t fit. I will be contacting the company to ask what the problem is. The filtration part is great but faulty lid is annoying.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Roz

RozSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lid falls off

published

I replaced my brita from big W but the lid does not fit properly. It falls into the jug because it will not fit perfectly. My previous one I thought must have been wear and tear but this one as soon as I bought it. Anyone else had this problem?

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Susan

SusanPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

The ONLY Water Filter that removes COPPER

published

The Marella wasn't and will not be the only Brita Water Filter I have and will use.

I suffer from a very rare genetic illness (Wilson's Disease), I accumulate copper in my body until if left untreated can be fatal.

I got my first Brita back in the early 80's, when I was a teenager, 18 years old, as the years have passed, not only is it helping my body by lessening the copper intake, but now at the ripe age of 52 years young, not only in my opinion a person who has never been particularly frond of a glass of water, does the water taste better. BUT my kettle which I ONLY use filtered water in loves it!! the scale build up is minimal.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Ronnie

RonnieVERMONT

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Black discharge from filter

published

Even it says it is harmless. I still feel disgusted by the black tiny charcoal from the filter. And it says normal on their website. If I knew this , I won't purchase.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
aax

aaxaustralia

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

works well

published

works well; I appreciate the `flip' up and down easy to fill lid design even though the lid is quite flimsy in nature.

Difficult to put the lid back on (after cleaning) and get the pourer cap to go up and down freely; I broke mine (due to anger) and had to super glue it back together.

ps: cheaper filters (especially in bulk: 3 for $22.43; 12 for $82.47 etc) can be purchased via ebay; although you have to wait for them usually from england/ireland: usually free postage.

kendo1003

kendo1003Melbourne

Average, doesn't filter well

published

It is an average product, it doesn't actually filter much of the water especially if you have heavy contaminated water. Get a proper filter if you are serious about your drinking water.

Serveware Products

Find out how Brita Marella Cool / Marella XL compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad design

published

1) Bad design - half of the water is missing the target! In the bottle to pour impossible when pouring into a cup - a puddle on the table and on the floor!
2) Uncomfortable mechanical timer wheels - stuck after the first use because of tartar.

acarthur

acarthur

  • 22 reviews
  • 20 likes

Good design, Easy to Use, Water tastes Great

published

I bought a replacement Brita Marella water jug after my last 5 year old Brita jug's digital timer stopped working and around the same time the lid on the spout snapped off. I think the capacity is a little smaller than my previous model, but apart from that it works a treat.
The only downside is the cost of the water filters - much cheaper to buy them in bulk rather than 1 at a time.

Brewer

Brewer

  • 22 reviews
  • 19 likes

Stupid digital timer thing

published
mh

mhGC

Easy to use - but a small capacity

published

The jug itself is great quality - my reader at the top which tells you when to change the cartridge also does not work. Also does not hold a large quanitity and has to be filled up often. Otherwise we have had our for years and very happy with it.
easy to use
reader at the top

JZ66

JZ66VIC, 3055

  • 89 reviews
  • 55 likes

Good quality - home filtered water

published

Definitely a better taste in my water and by using this water to fill my plastic hot water jug the insides of the jug have not stained. The monitor on the top of the jug which indicates when a new filter is required doesn't seem to be working but I don't worry so much about it, I have an idea of when the filter needs changing myself.
Easy to use - better with a bigger jug, found with a smaller jug I had to constantly keep filling it
The filters are quite pricey. I try to buy them when I see a special on at the supermarket or Myers.

Slazmo

SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 242 reviews
  • 238 likes

Britta water for the last 8 years...

published
Serveware Products

Find out how Brita Marella Cool / Marella XL compares to other Serveware Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ursula25

Ursula25SYDNEY

Delcious tasting water!

published

I am unable to drink the local water. It is 'heavy' and smells of many chemicals. I purchased a Brita Marella Cool / Marella approximately 2 years ago and have had fresh drinking water on tap since. This also gives me piece of mind about what I am putting into my body. Recommended for small families or upsize to the larger model for bigger families. The larger model that lies flat fits in the fridge well. The filters also tend to last a long time which saves on cost.
Efficient, fresh, reassuring.
Filters can be a little costly but the quality overrides this expensive.

lukesmum

lukesmumRockhampton, Qld.

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Product!

published

Originally bought it to filter the water for our toddler. We chose the Brita brand over the others because we had been told this brand was the one to go with.

There was a distinct difference in taste between the town water and the filtered town water. Even after the town water had improved we still use the Brita to filter all our drinking water.
Reputable brand. Does exactly what it is suppose to do!
Unfortunately the filter cartridges are expensive to buy. Ended up being cheaper to buy a new jug with 3 extra cartridges.

jwheat65

jwheat65Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK

published

This is a well made filter that works well and is easy to use. The filter cartridges are too expensive in my opinion and it's a bit too big for fridge use.
Filters are easy to change. Well made quailty product. Digital count down timer for changing the filter.
A bit too big. Doesn't fit in the fridge well and is a bit too heavy when full. I wish i'd bought a smaller one. I've ended up leaving it on the bench and not in the fridge because it takes up so much space. The lid has popped off when pouring a couple of times. The lid could be better designed. The filters are expensive and I now reset the timer and change the filter every 16 weeks.

leah_32

leah_32

  • 49 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

I had my Brita for 3 years and it doesn't show any signs of it's age. Normal hard plastic containers become cloudy and start to stress crack but not Brita. I've had a few filters and this is by far the best. The carbon filters take out most the impurities and hard metals in the water. Great filter!
Stylish design and easy to use. Has a digital timer to let you know when to change the filter. The water comes out tasting great. Cool colours to suit anyone. Changing the filters is easy.
The filters are a bit expensive.

mimi11

mimi11Australia

  • 34 reviews

Excellent

published

i moved house not long ago and the water in this house was disgusting because its an old house but now i don't really have to worry about it because the filter makes the water taste like water should it gets rid of all the stuff you don't want in water and i got at a good price
i love this it comes in great colours and it makes water taste so much better and it removes all the chemicals and stuff that you dont want in water and its also got a electronic bit on the lid so you know when to change it
you have to change the cartridges every few months and it dosent fit in the fridge properly

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Veronika S.

Veronika S.asked

Marella XL

I like the water jug and filtered water but the lid and the contents fall out easily if you tip the jug to empty all the water. I've been holding the lid down with my hand so it doesn't happen too often but this can't be right. I see from other posts it's probably a design flaw of this jug. Did anyone get an answer from the company about whether other jugs they make have the same flaw?

No answers
DEN

DENasked

Marella Cool

How do you take out the meter from the lid?

2 answers
acarthur
acarthur

You can't.

Sasha
Sasha

On the model I have, there is a slot next to the top of the meter; comes out easily with the use of a small flat screwdriver or similar.

right

rightasked

Marella XL

why is dirty water coming through my filter housing?

1 answer
JZ66
JZ66

Probably because your filter is due for a change? Suggest you write to Brita if you have any further questions as I'm not the expert. I just use my jug and it's fine.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.