??!
1 photo
Bürgen Gluten Free Sunflower and Chia Seed

Bürgen Gluten Free Sunflower and Chia Seed

2.3 from 37 reviews

See the Best Breads in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(11)
(0)
(0)
(3)
(23)

Happy Sooty 59

Happy Sooty 59Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Bergen sunflower and Chia seed gluten free bread

published

I just bought a loaf of this and love it. Very moist and tasty. It's great toasted and very filling. I found it at Foodworks at Mansfield, Victoria. A great find.

Purchased in August 2019 for $6.00.


Ali

AliNorth Queensland, QLD

Great GF Bread

published

This gf bread is moist and delicious. Could not find in local grocery store Woolworths for a couple of months ... luckily just this week back again. I know non coeliac that have a preference for this particular type.

Purchased in July 2019.

Phil

PhilSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Old 650g recipe is Back!! 5 stars; Up from 1 for 500g

published

By chance, I found on an IGA shelf what seems to be the old (great) recipe in 650grams this week, July 2019. 650g moist delicious 5 stars in 2018 went to 500g dry tasteless but supposedly healthy 1 star (0 stars not available) around late 2018 (??) but now it seems that the good one (5 stars) is back.

Purchased in July 2019 for $6.99.

1 comment
Phil
Phil
dee.

dee.Far North Queensland, QLD

Where's the Burgen GF Sunflower and Chia???

published

So disappointed I can't buy Burgen GF Sunflower and Chia Seed bread anymore. This was the best GF bread commercially produced. Now all I can get is dry crumbly bread that needs a ton of butter on on it to get it down!

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $7.00.


New recipe does not stack up.

published

I did not mind paying extra for The old recipe. It was chewy and a great texture both toasted and fresh. It is now stale and crumbly is I no longer buy it.

Purchased in March 2019 for $7.00.


ginnej

ginnejadelaide

  • 2 reviews

new recipe is terrible

published

New recipe gluten free bread(s) are too dry (tried both seeded styles).
This bread is very expensive and so I will not buy this brand anymore.
I loved the old recipe and didnt mind paying the high end price; it was the ONLY GF bread I bought.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $7.00.


Wendy

WendyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Why can't I buy this bread anymore?

published

It has been three weeks since I was able to buy this bread. It is no longer available at Woolies and my local Foodworks also stocking it. I give 5 stars to the original recipe.

Purchased in March 2019 for $7.00.


heather

heatherLaunceston, TAS

New gluten free recipe inferior to original

published

New recipe Burgen gluten free bread is definitely not as good. Very dry and inferior to original. We found that the original recipe was the best we had found and we went out of our way to buy it. Now we do not now what to buy.

Purchased in March 2019 for $7.00.

pepper moore

pepper mooreSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

What's happened to Burgen GF bread?

published

Always found Burgen GF breads the best but suddenly changed and not as good. Also not available anymore at my Woolworths or local grocer. What's happened?! Other breads are very inferior.

Purchased in January 2019.

Very disappointed

published

Love the old recipe of the white bread, I started eating bread again after trying other brands and then found Bergen. It’s crumbly, slices are too thick and doesn’t seem fresh.
I haven’t found it on the shelf for a few weeks so I hope you are changing it back to original recipe.

Purchased in February 2019 for $7.00.


New recipe for Gluten Free Burgen bread

published

Very disappointed in the new GF Burgen bread. The old one was the best GF bread on the market in my opinion and was much better for making sandwiches than this new recipe. The original one held together whereas the new one is like many other poor GF breads on the market - they fall apart and crumble when you try to make a sandwich with them. Maybe it was a cost cutting exercise.

Purchased in January 2019 for $7.00.


The quality has dropped through the floor!

published

Being long term gluten-free dependent, for years I have totally rejoiced and enjoyed all Burgen gluten free bread.
The last time I need more, the quality of the bread was like u healthy white flour very quick to go stage and dry and crumbly.. nothing like the firmness and solidity of actually having food to eat. I am so sad that this has now disappeared from my already difficult life.

Purchased in February 2019 for $8.00.


Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bad new recipe and a sneaky weight reduction

published

I have heard a lot of negative reviews of the new recipe and I agree with all of them. The final straw was the sneaky change in packaging with a weight reduction from 650 grams to 500 grams and still at the inflated price of $7. That works out to a more than 20% price hike. They may have gotten away with it had they kept the old recipe, which was the best I’ve ever found, but to gouge the price and reduce the quality to that of a plain wrap gluten free offering is too much.

Purchased in February 2019.

1 comment
Peter
Peter

Just had a thought, did Burgen kill their gluten free range to give a boost to coles/woolworths gluten free range? Interesting to know who bakes the generic range for them.


Nina

NinaSydney, NSW

new GF recipe is very disappointing

published

Hi team at Burgen,
You got the new GF bread recipe totally wrong, the bread falling apart, the taste is not there . I used to enjoy the more dense structure and it was possible to eat without toasting
Can you please bring back your previous recipe
cheers
Nina

Purchased in February 2019.

What have they done? The New is awful!

published

I have been coeliac for more than 25 years and their ‘new’ recipe is as bad as the bread I was eating 25 years ago!

It’s fry, crumbly and falls apart, not even toasting saves it.

I used to love making a sandwich out of the old recipe bread, it was fab and worth the $ compared to other breads, it was moist and held up well. Even my husband who doesn’t need to eat gf would eat it.

But now I refuse to pay $7 for a dry crumbly loaf that disintegrates before you get to use it. Change it back Burgen, this was not a good decision!

Purchased in February 2019 for $7.00.

Don't like the new recipe

published

The new sunflower and chia is too dry and crumbles to pieces before you use it, very disappointing as the old one was very good and lasted a long time in the fridge. Can you please bring the old recipe back.

Purchased in February 2019 for $6.99.


Ingrid

IngridHobart, TAS

New recipe is totally awful

published

Please bring back the original recipe, the new one is too dry, crumble and tasteless. I am not going to buy any Burgen gluten free bread again unless the old recipe comes back.

Purchased in January 2019 at Woolworths for $7.00.


Maggie

MaggieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

AWFUL new recipe.

published

I’m very very disappointed. The old recipe was special in its uniqueness and worth spending $7 on. I have been buying it for many years and bypassing all others. I travelled remote parts of Australia with it frozen in my motorhome. This new one is just like all the others. I won’t be buying it again. I’ll be spending my money elsewhere.

Purchased in February 2019 for $7.00.


New recipe

published

New gluten free bread recipe is a big disappointment. It is dry, too porous, lacking density and fell apart although having a best before date of several days. Please reinstate previous recipe asap.

Purchased in January 2019.


Leo D

Leo DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

New Coke moment?

published

Burgen Sunflower and Chia GF bread - new recipe. It is complete rubbish and costs 25% more to taste like cardboard. Need to sack the market research department because it now costs more to taste like dry crumbly thin rubbish. I used to love this stuff despite the occasional niggle prying its sticky slices apart. No more.. Shame the others are mostly similar texture dry crap also.

Purchased in February 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $7.00.

1 comment
Leo D
Leo D

Just found a great alternative $2.50 cheaper that tastes almost as good as the previous recipe. Select free from gluten seeds and grain bread.. Try it and you will agree.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Isabel B.

Isabel B.asked

Why are Woolworths not selling gluten free burgen sunflower and chia seed bread. Very disappointed that I can’t buy it anymore from my local Woolworths. Was my favourite bread

No answers

Helen T.

Helen T.asked

Why can’t I buy Burgen gluten free sunflower and chia seed bread anywhere now. It was the nicest bread around until a few months ago, when the recipe seemed to change. I have tried several other gf breads now that I can’t get the Burgen bread, and I hate them all!! So I am in a bind.. I can’t have gluten, and now I am just not enjoying my bread at all. The original recipe was moist and delicious and tasted like homemade
Bread. Please bring it back.

No answers

robinla7

robinla7asked

Has Burgen gluten free bread with sunflower and chia seeds been taken off the market in Melbourne?
Or where can I buy it?

1 answer
F. Browne
F. Browne

Hi Robinla7,
I haven’t found any type of Burgen Gluten free bread on the shelves at all unfortunately.


Get an answer from our members and Bürgen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.