??!
1 photo
Bupa Health Insurance

Bupa Health Insurance (page 2 of 31)

1.4 from 607 reviews

See the Best Health Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
38
4 star
13
3 star
5
2 star
51
1 star
500

Lazy and greedy

published

- bumped the cost without asking for my approval.
- ignored my enquiries.
- quite hard to navigate the support section on the website, almost like a statement of not giving an eff about customer, aside from taking their money.

That's it I'm leaving you.

Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo

Emm89

Emm89Central Queensland, QLD

More frustrated then ever

published

Iv been with Bupa for 15 years, 5 years ago I separated from my husband and started my police with my children they made us wait another 12 months for cover we upgraded last August and had to wait another 12 months for cover but they did not tell me this when we upgraded and my daughter has to have surgery on her and they won't cover her because the date is booked 10 days before the 12mounth waiting period is up I advise go any were else Bupa has great customer service but that's it they just lie to u and sugar coat everything

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Extension
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ambulance cover

published

Bupa were great in processing my ambulance bill took them only 3 days to process thankyou Bupa very happy with your service and staff when I went to your office to hand forms in only thing is you should be able to claim ambulance online cheapest ambulance insurer I found

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageAmbulance Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Was told it was covered but changed story at the time of claim

published

The BUPA claims dept told me that an expense was covered. Then at the time of claim, they changed their story. The do record phone conversations and have a process to retrieve and verify these conversations but they did not want to do this as it was for a small amount. So it was easier to reject without a reason. Will take my business elsewhere.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Lynette B

Lynette BSouth East Queensland, QLD

Incorrect information

published

Prior to my daughters surgery we saw Bupa to ensure she was covered by her Premium cover of over 5 years and to ascertain our rebate- she was covered and we could expect to receive approximately $1300 rebate for major surgery- today we took her claim into Bupa and received $337 as rebate- one quarter of the original quoted rebate - very disappointing and extremely poor customer service

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Gemma

GemmaSydney, NSW

12 year customer. 2 days before wisdom teeth surgery, they said I wasn't covered.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

sanish p.

sanish p.Sydney, NSW

worst insurance

published

over priced and almost impossible to make a claim. Don't use bupa. Tricky and lots of hidden surprises. They just wanna rip you off. It's a scam. Say no to bupa.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers

Fritz

FritzHobart, TAS

Misleading, careless, not worth it

published

A bunch of misleading,careless people using every single opportunity to rip you off...I had more than 5 individual issues in relation to their cover out of which NONE was resolved in satisfactory manner. Out of all health insurances this is the worst by far

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Jim Bo

Jim BoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not there for you when you need them, even after 20 years.

published

Gap scheme is tricky use of wording to trick you into choosing Bupa, it's a scam. From the list of surgeons Bupa state as Gap scheme members none actually participate

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
BUPA IS THE WORST

BUPA IS THE WORSTSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst Health Insurer

published

BUPA no longer cover Dialysis. member since 2013 not entitled to rebate. Statement arrived 65days covered instead of 9 months. BUPA added levy and took 6 months payments to cover.

Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo

Sulabh S.

Sulabh S.Sydney, NSW

A true company that rips off

published

Bupa was a such a rip off. I took a couple cover for me and my wife and paid $300 premium which included birth services. I was advised that me(husband) was also charged for births services. When i spoke to rep i clearly advised we need a private room for birth hence we took the birth services and yet i had no idea they were charging birth services for both of us. So ripped me off $600 a year. Switch to a different insurance company where i had to pay $50 less per month.

So couples be aware. Dont let this greedy company rip you off.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers

christine

christineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Please please find out exactly what your cover does and doesn't include!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers

Fabio C.

Fabio C.Sydney, NSW

Charging more times than they should

published

Watch out folks they're constantly charging my rates inconsistently.....charging me more times a month than they should I have to call to get it corrected they give me a lame excuse...Am going to leave them

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Family
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Joahna Kevin P.

Joahna Kevin P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

They will steal your money! WORST customer service!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Jodie

JodieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Increasing premiums, decreased cover

published

Worst possible health fund, keep putting the price up, I stupidly thought that my cover remained consistent, nope, now I have a problem and I’m not covered. Their response - bad luck, this doesn’t happen very often but you didn’t read the info. Nothing we can do.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers
Danelle

DanelleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst company ever!

published

They approved a surgery and 1 month later changed their mind and said appendicitis is pre existing! I have had cover since 2012 for this through other funds! Stay away they are a nightmare to deal with

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

kam s.

kam s.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Dodgy, scammers and unsatisfactory customer service

published

I lodged a claim for my dad and just because bupa's doc(if they got one ) thinks it's pre existing it got rejected regardless what my gp and specialist said. WARNING to everyone stay away from them and do not waste your money..trust me when you need them the most they will be miles away. Thinking of going to court against them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Rude customer service after debiting customers accounts twice. No apology, no refund as promised.

published

I too have had my bank account incorrectly debited twice and I am still waiting 8 days later to receive my refund. I received an email saying the refund would be processed yesterday, the refund is still not in my bank. I just rang Bupa, spoke to a rude Jessie (male), who laughed at me, told me it was my bank's fault and then hung up on me. I will be changing funds as I have had numerous problems with Bupa and this is another unacceptable problem. I would NOT recommend anyone to Bupa.

Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo

Robbo

RobboMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Thieves

published

This week BUPA took 2 months payments from my account supposedly in error.
Called them and they said SORRY.It will be refunded within 3 working days.
We will refund 1 month back within 3 working days.
I find it a little suspect when Bupa has access to my account to direct debit my account for my monthly fee.
They took 2 months,(AGREEMENT IS MONTH ON MONTH) one on Monday and one on Tuesday.
And guess what,no return of the Tuesday deduction and today is Friday,

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Austin H.

Austin H.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Don't even waste your money on this COMPANY

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Page 2 of 31

Questions & Answers

Todd H

Todd Hasked

Been a customer for over 32 years and last 25 years as family cover for my wife and 2 children. Received a letter to say my oldest when she turns 25 will have to move onto her own cover. We done that and she pays 6 months at a time, has to go into hospital to have a test. Was told she is not covered and will have to wait for 12 months due to a pre-existing illness?? How can this been when under my cover she has had the test for the last 10 years. She is not a new member and should be able to have all information carried over to her cover.

No answers

Robyn C.

Robyn C.asked

I required eye assessment by an ophthalmologist. Last visit I required a scan "Item MT12, OCT-non rebatable from Medicare". Could you please advise if this is covered by Bupa Extra membership.
With thanks ... Robyn

No answers

Param k

Param kasked

How many Indian rupees of couple insurance in Australia in 3 year insurance

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bupa representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Contact Number 13 41 35
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat Yes
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Home and Contents, Landlord, Pet and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.