??!
1 photo
Bupa Pet Insurance
3.7 from 118 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

4.3

32 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (29)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (21)
  • Customer Service
    4.1 (31)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (8), 1-2 weeks (16), 2-4 weeks (5), 1-2 months (1) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (32) · No
Previous
Next
Narelle K.

Narelle K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Amazed

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Kristina E.Bupa
kerry

kerryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Pathetic service and cover

published

Was originally denied my claim stating its Pre existing when he hadn't ever been to the vet for the issue. Proved that and got hit with a huge excess meaning I still got jack crap back. May as well go back to the policy people I was with

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Cody A.Bupa

Do not sign up to this scam

published

Seriously, do not sign up with them. My dog got a huge laceration from an accident, had to get some surgery, paid $240 upfront for staples etc. Bupa covered nothing, absolutely nothing. The whole deal with the excess means you can’t get anything back. My insurance was about 20 bucks a month, which is 240 bucks for a year, may as well have saved that money and not gone through the headache of having to make the claim. Seriously Bupa, you guys are awful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Viv Y.Bupa
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

So fast and easy!

published

Just made our first claim and was surprised how quick and easy the process was! Submitted photos of invoices through the online portal and the money was in our account in less than 2 business days. We were reimbursed the exact amount we anticipated after looking through our policy. Having the excess deducted from our refund made the process so easy too. No complaints here, would definitely recommend!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Ryan K.Bupa
Rob D.

Rob D.Perth, WA

Nice and fast claims

published

No issues. Claims done quickly. Phone wait too long nearly 50 mins so done online. That was easy. Great job. Stay fast, convenient, honest and easy to use. We want convenience and you’re it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Kristina E.Bupa
Jack

JackSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great service

published

Insurance, good value for money, staff were pleasant and easy to deal with, when I contacted them . Reimbursement of vet fees were paid promptly. Could not be more satisfied with the product.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Bupa
Kristina E.Bupa

Unexpected

published

We had to claim a large expense for our dog and were happily surprised to receive a larger than expected refund . It has been worth having bupa pet insurance !! Our policy is certainly good value

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Chyrel S.

Chyrel S.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pet insurance claim

published

Had a good experience with phone calls dmd explained online claims well. My claim was completed and refunded within two days. I was so happy with my BUPA Pet Insurance as Id never had a claim before

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Marisha R.

Marisha R.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing - Pet Insurance Customer Service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Takes the pain out of claims

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Rosie

RosieHunter Region, NSW

Fabulous and thank goodness for my insurance

published

Claimed for my Cocker Spaniel surgery and some consultations. After my vet released the notes the payment for the claim as smooth and effortless. I submitted everything online and when I called them the operator was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Deb

DebCentral West, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No time waiting

published

I made a claim for my Great Dane online. I attached my receipts from the vet and vet notes for his condition. Was very simple to do. Within a matter of days I had the money that I was entitled to reimbursed to my bank account. The last claim I made through a specialist in Sydney a year or so ago was exactly the same. I am very happy with Bupa and I think their yearly rates are very good also.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

Pet insurance

published

I have had a few health issues with my fur baby recently and had to pay a large amount for her care. Bupa pet insurance was very quick in regards to paying me back 80 percent of the total amount back into my account. Making a claim is so easy to do online yourself through the Bupa web site. I highly recommended Bupa for your pet insurance.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Beaglier Owner

Beaglier OwnerSydney, NSW

Glad we had insurance for this year

published

We had quite a few issues the past year with our Beaglier. First a Ruptured ear drum, then removing a lump and lots of follow up appointments at our local vet as well as at Sydney Uni Vet Hospital. Our dog was well looked after each time but it was an expensive year for her. It worked out well for us this year, and having the insurance left us ahead $500 (as opposed to if we didn't have the insurance this past year).
Lots of paperwork to lodge, but once it's all done BUPA paid us very quickly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Louie

Louie

  • 3 reviews

Cruciate ligament

published

Pleased with the service but the process was a bit daunting. The policy said he was covered but this didn't happen easily. A lot of paper work done by my vet. Why is claiming for pets not as easy as claiming for oneself?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nicole

NicoleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good policy that is expensive and paperwork heavy

published

Each claim requires paperwork completed by the vet. Should be easier for us and vet. Would like more paid back to us. I've been with them for 4 years and premium has increased. Phone support is offshore anr the staff werent familiar with basic pet anatomy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

Disappointing. The claim covered less than 75% of the surgery. My pet recovered before they paid out the claim.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Jude

JudeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best Pet Insurances

published

This insurance is good value for our valuable pets but most of all it’s a sensible policy. Responsible pet owners are listened to and assisted so that their pets can be given the best care because animal care is so expensive. Communication is great, claims are quick and reasonable. After horrific experiences with other companies in the past I will always use BUPA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Jules

JulesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Cannot emphasise the value of pet insurance enough

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Tania

TaniaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Happy with Service

published

I am very surprised at the service provided by Bupa Pet Insurance. My claims were easy to put through online and processed without any delays. I would highly recommend this insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 1 of 2
See all Bupa Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Oanh L.

Oanh L.asked

Bupa Pet Insurance

My dog suddenly limping this morning. VET recommend x-ray and blood test to find out what ia going on. Are these cover by Bupa? I got a premium package

2 answers
kerry
kerry

It should show on your policy if uts covered. Dont forget that you still have to pay a certain premium like first 300 bucks is not covered. And if its not the same issue each time they make it first 300 for every issue is not covered, bit just ine off excess

Bupa
Viv Y.Bupa

Hey Oanh,

I hope your furry friend is doing alright! I’d recommend having a chat with our Pet Insurance team to find out more about how your cover works. You can reach them directly on 134 135 (option 1, then option 6), and they’ll lend a hand.

Hope this helps,
Viv

Penny

Pennyasked

Bupa Pet Insurance

As a lifelong Bupa member I was wondering if I get a discount for dog insurance? Also is a lifetime policy available?

No answers
Bob H.

Bob H.asked

Bupa Pet Insurance

can pet insurance be bundled with our health cover and what is the cost?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bupa representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Bupa Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and TravelCar, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and TravelCar, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and Travel
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$6,000$12,000$20,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%Up to 80%Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included$1,000$1,500
Emergency Boarding Fees$500$1,000$1,500
Lifetime Cover Not IncludedOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Cooling Off PeriodNone21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$300
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsNot Included$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness Not Included30 Days30 Days
Compare all 3 Bupa Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.