??!
1 photo
Bupa Pet Insurance

Bupa Pet Insurance (page 2 of 6)

Ultimate, Basic, Standard
3.9 from 108 reviews

Reviews

(65)
(12)
(4)
(4)
(23)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks (16) · 2-4 weeks (8) · <1 week (5) · 1-2 months (2) · 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (26) · No (3)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (3%) · No (97%)
  • Transparency
    3.5 (20)
  • Customer Service
    3.8 (33)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (30)

Angry customer

Angry customerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

WORST PET INSURANCE - BEWARE

published

I have recently changed from Bupa Health Insurance and Pet Insurance to other providers due to my recent dealings with Bupa Pet Insurance Company. They are bullies, trying to get away with reimbursing me for our puppy Hulk. Due to some technicalities they are not insuring my puppy. I hope the royal commission takes on companies like Bupa as they are the biggest scammers alive. I warn everyone, do not go with Bupa just because they are cheap. They are cheap for a reason.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers

Corneil

Corneil

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Value

published

Excellent value with affordable premiums. The claims department was very reliable, quick with processing of all claims and extremely professional however still kind and understanding and compassionate when needed in dealing with them over the telephone.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
John F

John FSydney, NSW

The outcome was every bit as promised

published

The payments made each month paled into insigificence when the claim was processed; after being with the company for about 2 years I would say the time was well spent

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Anne

AnneSouth East Queensland, QLD

First time user. Impressed

published

I have had BUPA/MBF insurance for decades so I decided to try BUPA pet insurance for my latest dog. ( Have used many different pet insurance products over those same decades).
Had to claim recently for emergency pet ICU for 3 days with a claim close to $6000. I received the 80% refund very promptly. Glad to say the dog has now recovered. Thanks BUPA.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Tony Rogers

Tony RogersDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Simple and effective insurance.

published

This is our third year with Bupa Pet Insurance. If you follow their rules and instructions, they are very easy to deal with and payments of claims are prompt. We had a vet account over $9000.00 and there were no delays processing our claims.
Thank you Bupa!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Kelly

KellyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Excellent srrvice. Statement delivery and online account could be better!

published

Policy is very good value, especially accident cover when my dog was bitten by a snake I got back 85% of the $3300 vet bill. Great cover for only around $20/month. It would be good though if you could view everything you've submitted against the claim online and have the statement emailed or uploaded to the online account when it's ready, rather then having it posted out.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Dean.C

Dean.CSouth East Queensland, QLD

Beware of excess

published

We made our first claim last month and was aware a $200 excess would be deducted. 3 weeks on we made a further claim for a repeat scan after treatment for same condition. Our claim incurred a further $200 excess because it went into a new renewal year. Claim was processed quickly but we believe getting charged 2 excesses for the one condition was unfair.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Ernst

ErnstPerth, WA

Excellent insurance

published

Outstanding product, very efficient and prompt process of claims. Well done. Keep the good work going. We could not afford not to have this insurance product.
Congratulations to all the staff which are friendly and helpful

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Long delays with claim processing

published

Blamed delays on being too busy. Clinical history that was emailed wasn't attached to the file, and was left up to me to chase it up. Having said that, claim was eventually paid. Check PDS carefully for exclusions (big ticket items especially).

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers
jetgirl59

jetgirl59Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Let’s face it, the cover isn’t cheap, but it’s way better than paying thousands in vet fees & getting zero back.

published

Whilst the policy isn’t cheap, once I got things up & running to make claims I’ve been very happy with the speed of the refunds on claims & the amount of refund, so far. And I love that my vet can put the claim through.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Susie  Butchart

Susie ButchartSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

So easy to deal with

published

We unfortunately had our 10 month old golden retriever get a paralysis tick and need treatment. It was super easy to claim and also quick to process the claim. This is our first ever claim and they made it so easy.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets4 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

So fortunate to have Bupa

published

Have been with Bupa for about a year my dog required both elbows to have surgery- a stressful time but Bupa paid 80% - very relieved when the claim came through- 5k vet bill is not great to receive- no hassles with the claims

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Michelle

MichelleDarwin, NT

Very happy with BUPA!

published

I obtained insurance for my Doberman Mack in about September 2018. In January 2019, he was attacked by a pitbull and required surgery to fix a puncture in his neck. The vet bill and other expenses were approximately $1,800. After making the claim, I received 80% back very quickly. The promptness was greatly appreciated as I was on holidays at the time of the attack and returned home to a big vet bill and a sore puppy.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Pav Magar

Pav MagarSydney Surrounds, NSW

Staff were great but disappointed in the overall outcome.

published

Staff were incredibly easy to communicate with and very sympathetic towards my situation unfortunately there was nothing they could have done. I'm left to deal with the full cost for something that could have been avoided had bupa used my preferred method of contact.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Stress free claims

published

I have been with Bupa pet insurance for 3 years at the end off 2017 my Mollie required surgery twice. We had no stress and Bupa were fantastic, we also have our own health insurance with Bupa and have never been disappointed.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Fantastic and fast

published

I’ve had health insurance with Bupa for 3 years and pet insurance for 8 months and they have been fantastic. Our puppy contracted an aggressive stomach virus that had him in and out of the vet for 3 months. ( 3 overnight stays!) Thankfully we have Bupa pet insurance and received 80% back and in a timely fashion

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Shirley

ShirleyGold Coast

Great Pet Insurance

published

I have been with Bupa Pet Insurance for about 4 years now and have never made a claim. I was a bit apprehensive when I made the claim but was pleasantly surprised. Everything was paid out in full (80%) and not one question was asked. My vet filled in the claim form online straight to Bupa and it was so quick and easy. Well done Bupa, I will be recommending many of my friends to your company.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Naomi

NaomiBrisbane

  • Verified customer

Everything we were looking for.

published

Have 2 mini dachshunds from 9wks age. Wanted a cover which would support IVDD if needed at any stage. Bupa covers this plus we already had personal health cover which has been good. We have had to make a claim 3 months after our policy started as one of our boys needed MRI & spinal tap. Bupa looked after us very quickly with no fuss and the lady I spoke with was very understanding and had empathy which is what I needed to hear during this time. Thanks for being there Bupa

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Excellent service - great product

published

Have been with Bupa for about 5 years - excellent company to deal with. Prompt payment of claim and clear guidelines.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Fantastic Efficient and Supportive Cover

published
Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Bupa Financial Services
David H.Bupa Financial Services

Page 2 of 6

See all Bupa Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Penny

Pennyasked

As a lifelong Bupa member I was wondering if I get a discount for dog insurance? Also is a lifetime policy available?

No answers

Bob H.

Bob H.asked

can pet insurance be bundled with our health cover and what is the cost?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bupa Financial Services representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.