??!
1 photo
Bupa Pet Insurance

Bupa Pet Insurance (page 2 of 6)

Standard, Ultimate, Basic
3.7 from 118 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.6 (39)
  • Transparency
    3.3 (29)
  • Customer Service
    3.5 (42)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (8), 1-2 weeks (20), 2-4 weeks (9), 1-2 months (3) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (32) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Deb

DebCentral West, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No time waiting

published

I made a claim for my Great Dane online. I attached my receipts from the vet and vet notes for his condition. Was very simple to do. Within a matter of days I had the money that I was entitled to reimbursed to my bank account. The last claim I made through a specialist in Sydney a year or so ago was exactly the same. I am very happy with Bupa and I think their yearly rates are very good also.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Pet insurance

published

I have had a few health issues with my fur baby recently and had to pay a large amount for her care. Bupa pet insurance was very quick in regards to paying me back 80 percent of the total amount back into my account. Making a claim is so easy to do online yourself through the Bupa web site. I highly recommended Bupa for your pet insurance.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Beaglier Owner

Beaglier OwnerSydney, NSW

Glad we had insurance for this year

published

We had quite a few issues the past year with our Beaglier. First a Ruptured ear drum, then removing a lump and lots of follow up appointments at our local vet as well as at Sydney Uni Vet Hospital. Our dog was well looked after each time but it was an expensive year for her. It worked out well for us this year, and having the insurance left us ahead $500 (as opposed to if we didn't have the insurance this past year).
Lots of paperwork to lodge, but once it's all done BUPA paid us very quickly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louie

Louie

  • 2 reviews

Cruciate ligament

published

Pleased with the service but the process was a bit daunting. The policy said he was covered but this didn't happen easily. A lot of paper work done by my vet. Why is claiming for pets not as easy as claiming for oneself?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Nicole

NicoleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good policy that is expensive and paperwork heavy

published

Each claim requires paperwork completed by the vet. Should be easier for us and vet. Would like more paid back to us. I've been with them for 4 years and premium has increased. Phone support is offshore anr the staff werent familiar with basic pet anatomy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Disappointing. The claim covered less than 75% of the surgery. My pet recovered before they paid out the claim.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Jude

JudeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best Pet Insurances

published

This insurance is good value for our valuable pets but most of all it’s a sensible policy. Responsible pet owners are listened to and assisted so that their pets can be given the best care because animal care is so expensive. Communication is great, claims are quick and reasonable. After horrific experiences with other companies in the past I will always use BUPA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Jules

JulesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Cannot emphasise the value of pet insurance enough

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tania

TaniaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Happy with Service

published

I am very surprised at the service provided by Bupa Pet Insurance. My claims were easy to put through online and processed without any delays. I would highly recommend this insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great insurance

published

Great value for money, this is the first pet I've ever insured. Bagheera has had more health concerns than any other I've ever had so I'm greatfull I started the insurance as a kitten.The response times are very good and if you have any enquires they are more than happy to assist. I have no complaints what's so ever & would be more than happy to recommend Bupa.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Angry customer

Angry customerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

WORST PET INSURANCE - BEWARE

published

I have recently changed from Bupa Health Insurance and Pet Insurance to other providers due to my recent dealings with Bupa Pet Insurance Company. They are bullies, trying to get away with reimbursing me for our puppy Hulk. Due to some technicalities they are not insuring my puppy. I hope the royal commission takes on companies like Bupa as they are the biggest scammers alive. I warn everyone, do not go with Bupa just because they are cheap. They are cheap for a reason.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers
Corneil

Corneil

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Value

published

Excellent value with affordable premiums. The claims department was very reliable, quick with processing of all claims and extremely professional however still kind and understanding and compassionate when needed in dealing with them over the telephone.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
John F

John FSydney, NSW

The outcome was every bit as promised

published

The payments made each month paled into insigificence when the claim was processed; after being with the company for about 2 years I would say the time was well spent

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Anne

AnneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

First time user. Impressed

published

I have had BUPA/MBF insurance for decades so I decided to try BUPA pet insurance for my latest dog. ( Have used many different pet insurance products over those same decades).
Had to claim recently for emergency pet ICU for 3 days with a claim close to $6000. I received the 80% refund very promptly. Glad to say the dog has now recovered. Thanks BUPA.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tony Rogers

Tony RogersDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Simple and effective insurance.

published

This is our third year with Bupa Pet Insurance. If you follow their rules and instructions, they are very easy to deal with and payments of claims are prompt. We had a vet account over $9000.00 and there were no delays processing our claims.
Thank you Bupa!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how Bupa Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kelly

KellyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Excellent srrvice. Statement delivery and online account could be better!

published

Policy is very good value, especially accident cover when my dog was bitten by a snake I got back 85% of the $3300 vet bill. Great cover for only around $20/month. It would be good though if you could view everything you've submitted against the claim online and have the statement emailed or uploaded to the online account when it's ready, rather then having it posted out.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Dean.C

Dean.CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Beware of excess

published

We made our first claim last month and was aware a $200 excess would be deducted. 3 weeks on we made a further claim for a repeat scan after treatment for same condition. Our claim incurred a further $200 excess because it went into a new renewal year. Claim was processed quickly but we believe getting charged 2 excesses for the one condition was unfair.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Ernst

ErnstPerth, WA

Excellent insurance

published

Outstanding product, very efficient and prompt process of claims. Well done. Keep the good work going. We could not afford not to have this insurance product.
Congratulations to all the staff which are friendly and helpful

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Long delays with claim processing

published

Blamed delays on being too busy. Clinical history that was emailed wasn't attached to the file, and was left up to me to chase it up. Having said that, claim was eventually paid. Check PDS carefully for exclusions (big ticket items especially).

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers
jetgirl59

jetgirl59Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Let’s face it, the cover isn’t cheap, but it’s way better than paying thousands in vet fees & getting zero back.

published

Whilst the policy isn’t cheap, once I got things up & running to make claims I’ve been very happy with the speed of the refunds on claims & the amount of refund, so far. And I love that my vet can put the claim through.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 2 of 6
See all Bupa Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Oanh L.

Oanh L.asked

Bupa Pet Insurance

My dog suddenly limping this morning. VET recommend x-ray and blood test to find out what ia going on. Are these cover by Bupa? I got a premium package

2 answers
kerry
kerry

It should show on your policy if uts covered. Dont forget that you still have to pay a certain premium like first 300 bucks is not covered. And if its not the same issue each time they make it first 300 for every issue is not covered, bit just ine off excess

Bupa
Viv Y.Bupa

Hey Oanh,

I hope your furry friend is doing alright! I’d recommend having a chat with our Pet Insurance team to find out more about how your cover works. You can reach them directly on 134 135 (option 1, then option 6), and they’ll lend a hand.

Hope this helps,
Viv

Penny

Pennyasked

Bupa Pet Insurance

As a lifelong Bupa member I was wondering if I get a discount for dog insurance? Also is a lifetime policy available?

No answers
Bob H.

Bob H.asked

Bupa Pet Insurance

can pet insurance be bundled with our health cover and what is the cost?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bupa representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Bupa Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and TravelCar, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and TravelCar, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord and Travel
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$6,000$12,000$20,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%Up to 80%Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included$1,000$1,500
Emergency Boarding Fees$500$1,000$1,500
Lifetime Cover Not IncludedOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Cooling Off PeriodNone21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$300
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsNot Included$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness Not Included30 Days30 Days
Compare all 3 Bupa Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.