1 photo
Carlisle Homes
4.7 from 5,588 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Carlisle Homes

Reviews

  • Build Stage
  • Customer Service
    2.0 (110)
  • Site Admin
    2.0 (79)
  • Timeliness
    2.5 (83)
  • Structural Integrity
    2.0 (65)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    1.8 (65)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    2.3 (66)
  • Flooring
    2.2 (65)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (97)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Vincent A.
Vincent A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Misled at contract!

published

Carlisle disregarded an email I sent to there resolutions department. The build took place in 2013, but its only now we've realised that about $3000 of works which didn't occur had been billed to us.
Carlisle charged me for running my own HDMI and Speaker cabling, and charging for carpet which was already part of the bonus at the time.
The resolutions department didn't address my concerns, and no resolution was reached. I have since escalated.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2013
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Vincent A.
Vincent A.

Thanks, looking forward to a response.

Sarah
SarahMelbourne
  • Verified

Post construction horror.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
  • Verified

Overall pleased

published

The design of the home is perfect for me. I found the communication at the selling and colour stage much more customer friendly than the build stage and felt there was no personal touch at the end stage of the build.
The end quality was good though it was disappointing to have handover occur before the water was connected to the home. The outside brick work and fire seals were also disappointing.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2021
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Home Builders

Find out how Carlisle Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harkamal S.
Harkamal S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Wish I Had Looked Into More Options And Went Elsewhere

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2020
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Get quotes

Get quotes from Home Builders servicing your area

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Get quotes
William
WilliamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Zero help after handover

published

Carlisle were very friendly during the sales process and construction phase.

Afterwards, the warranty team has been of no help with remedying a leaking pipe or providing a basic warranty document for the ducted heating system they installed.

In fact, they actively lied and said I did not maintain my sink and I was to blame for the leak!

The reviews here are positive because Carlisle rewards people who give them.

I would not recommend anyone build with Carlisle for this reason.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2018
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
William
William

Again blaming the customer classic Carlisle style

William
William

Also our home is under 3 years old

Related Articles

Previous

Tips for Choosing a Home Builder

Ready to build your dream home? For the best outcome, a lot of planning prior to building is recommended, so here are some tips to help you with choosing a home builder.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.14 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-home-builder

Making ProductReview.com.au's home builder reviews work for you

A quick guide to getting the most out of ProductReview.com.au when researching home builders. If you're feeling overwhelmed by information, we're here to help you cut through the noise and easily pinpoint the most useful reviews for your situation.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Feb 2020
making-productreviewcomau-work-for-you

The best home builders in 2020

ProductReview.com.au has an extremely active community reviewing home builders all over Australia. We've harnessed their collectively knowledge to deliver a comprehensive list of the best builders in NSW, VIC, QLD, WA, SA, ACT, TAS, and an overall #1 winner for the whole country.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Nov 2019
the-best-home-builders-in-2020
Next
  • Verified

Carlisle Home - Bad and Poor experience

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePre-Construction
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
KDP
KDP
KDP
KDP
mark
mark
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

All is good Except the refrigerated ducted heating and cooling that has been installed and this is a major issue!

published
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Kimberley
KimberleyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Worst customer service

published

During our contract signing appointments with our Sales consultant we were promised a $600 referral credit for the person who referred us to build with Carlisle. We were told the the consultant had forgotten to include the credit in our contract and when we posted a negative review on product review were asked to take it down so that we can work out the issues with Carlisle. We were told that it is being investigated through the right channels. About a month later now and we just got told that it’s not gonna happen.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Kimberley
Kimberley

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Stacey B.
Stacey B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Poor workmanship, frustrating post-handover response times

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Home Builders

Find out how Carlisle Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mhb S.
Mhb S.Southwest, VIC
  • Verified

Would NEVER recommend to anyone

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2020
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Get quotes

Get quotes from Home Builders servicing your area

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Get quotes
nikkirobs
nikkirobsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Do Not Settle Without Defect List Completed

published

We had problem after problem our entire build with the General Manager personally attending our property on 2 occasions to go through the pages and pages of defects. We eventually settled still with a page of defects and agreement of payouts for certain items that wouldn't be fixed. Four years on and the defects have still not been completed nor have we received the payouts already agreed upon but our case is all of a sudden closed!

Do not settle until your defect list is completed

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2016
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
  • Verified

OK

published

Colour appointment with [Name Removed]
We had good experience with our colour consultant with good communication and very helpful while selection, All the concerns I asked, colour consultant answered after discussing with fellow consultants and cleared our concerns , however we were slightly disappointed with time being spent on the discussion, I felt we could have utilised that time on colour selection , except that overall we had Good and friendly experience with colour consultant.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Omprakash
OmprakashGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • Verified

As a First home buyer can't believe experience will be terrible

published

I thought as a first home buyer, I should go with top builder in Victoria and chose Carlisle. But can't believe experience will be such bad there are number of issues faced during overall build process.
Including delayed communication and build timeline, terrible build quality & material, changes in color selection and material, Hebel is of worst quality looks like cardboard. Damaged nature's strip. Finishing is not up to the mark. Not informed about retaining wall requirement earlier but at the handover and not fixing this issue in fixed price project that's a shame.
My project number is J1016829 and home design EDGEWOOD25MK2
Overall not at all satisfied with Carlisle builder experience and will definitely not recommend to anyone.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2021
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MCH
MCHGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Never recommend for first home buyer, unprofessional, non-transparent, misguide.

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2021
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
MCH
MCH

Other Home Builders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jared A.
Jared A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Goodluck getting warranty work post handover!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Incentivised Review No
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2020
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes
Home Builders

Find out how Carlisle Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Josan
Josanasked

I am building a house with carlisle in Affinity range. Got the brivis ducted heating inclusive in my plan. Will the thermostat controller for heating be changed to network controller like "Nest". If so what should be the procedure pls. Thanks.

2 answers
J.KE
J.KE

They did tell us there was an option to upgrade the controller with wifi kit ( for my memory around $700), which means you could use app to control the heating and cooling remotely.

Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes

Congratulations Josan. and thank you for choosing Carlisle to build your brand new home.

What a great question but a little tough for us to answer here. It all depends on what house you have chosen and promotion you have signed up for.

We would like to advise you further so if you could contact us at customercare@carlislehomes.com.au we can assist you further.

Kind Regards,
Carlisle Management

Deep
Deepasked

I would like to get more details about the current "5% Builder Deposit" promotion. On Carlisle's website and initial quote it doesn't mention the complete promotion details. On the top of it when I asked the sales consultant multiple times I was advised of something completely different every single time.

1. Let's say if the quote total or final contract amount is 250K and I make $2k initial deposit. The 5% of 250k is $12500. Now $12500-$2000(initial deposit)=$10500.
$250K-$10500=$239500 Does it mean that I've to pay $239500 for the house?

2. The amount which is required at base stage, Is it the remaining 5% of 250K or 239500?

I'm waiting for your response.

Thanks!

2 answers
Carlisle Homes
Carlisle M.Carlisle Homes

Hi Dee,

Thank you for your question.

As per our Easy Living contracts, a variation will be raised at contract signing as a credit for the balance of the 5% deposit based off your base house price.

If you could please contact us directly at customercare@carlislehomes.com.au so we can look further into your particular job that would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Carlisle Management

Deep
Deep

Can you answer it here, so others know too?????

Shahed K.
Shahed K.asked

I am considering the Sheraton Deluxe design, one thing i noticed is all WIR are through Ensuite bathroom. Anyone here built this design? Did it cause any inconvenience? Would you recommend to add additional door to the WIR and additional exhaust? Is there any option to change floorplan to be able to access WIRs for the bedrooms directly/ seperate instead of going through the bathroom?

5 answers
Raymond
Raymond

I'm building the Vaucluse and I added sliding doors to the WIR's so it can be added if you want. You just have to pay extra

Shahed K.
Shahed K.

Thank you Raymond. The vaucluse deluxe has separate entry for bathroom and WIR for the ensuits. However Sheraton deluxe has the WIR designed such that it can be only accessible through the bathroom. I am interested to know if that causes any inconvenience e.g. does clothes or belongings become mouldy due to the steam from bathroom after shower or any other problem from the usage of the bathroom and toilet. Has anyone faced problem who built this design and what is recommended? Would there be any option by Carlisle Team to change the floorplan so access to WIR can be separate? Thanks again.

Raymond
Raymond

A lot of their designs have the main bedroom next to ensuite as well but I'm guessing it shouldn't be an issue as long as there is good ventilation in bathroom (and there is exhaust above shower and steam should go straight to ceiling). But for peace of mind though best to ask them that question.

See all Carlisle Homes questions

Get an answer from our members and Carlisle Homes representatives

Details

CategoryHome Builders
Types of Homes AvailableOne-Storey and Two-Storey
Major Defects Warranty25 years
Knockdown & RebuildYes
Build Areas

Melbourne South-East, North, West, and Geelong

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right Home Builder

Receive up to 3 quotes with ProductReview.com.au

Start NowNEW SERVICE