?
? !
1 photo
Carsales.com.au

Carsales.com.au (page 2 of 10)

4.5 from 10,854 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Ease of Use
    2.2 (32)
  • Product Quality
    1.3 (44)
  • Return Claim MadeYes (4) · No (52)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Linda

LindaMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

No follow up on disreputable dealer

published

We tried to buy a car through carsales with Valley Cars at Kurri Kurri. They scammed us out of a $1000 deposit which we are having to go through Fair Trading to get Back. On investigation the dealer was operating on Carsales with an expired licence. Carsales have ignored all emails and say they have no customer service for buyers. Disgraceful. Beware Carsales is not looking after you the buyer.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeYes
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Linda, Sorry to hear about your difficulties. We've sent you a private message so we can look into this for you. Thanks -Alex

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johhnno

JohhnnoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst website

published

Terrible website hard to switch from one search to another you have to clear it completely clear, not nimble hard to search by dealer so many issues can't believe it is so bad

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Johhnno, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear you were not happy with the website. I'll direct message you for some details (if you don't mind), so I can pass on info to the right people to see what we can do. Thanks -Alex

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ricci

RicciSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Spam texts after car enquiry

published

I simply sent an email enquiry about a car for sale...and now receiving spam sms. That's the last time I use carsales to search for a car. This was only on one car

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Ricci, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear about the spam sms. I'll send you a private message so I can get some details and see what's happened here. Thanks, Alex.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Find out how Carsales.com.au compares to other Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vip

VipGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Thieving company

published
Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
2 comments
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Vip, We're sorry you had a poor experience on this occasion, it's not what we're striving for. I'll send you a private message, please reply if you have a moment. Thanks -Alex

Vip
Vip

I have provided the details that you wanted. Whereas I am not after a refund ( you charged for a service not delivered) , I hope this helps other users to beware of this dodgy large company- the bigger the better doesn’t apply here!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
magoo

magoo

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Absolute ripoff, wast of money

published

Absolute ripoff, wast of money, got next to no enquiries from carsales, all inquiries and the sale came of the car came from gumtree/face book market place which were both free.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Magoo, sorry to hear you didn't have success selling your car with us this time. If you do decide to sell with us again, our customer service team are here to help on 13 72 53. Congrats on the sale -Alex

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Raj

RajPerth, WA

  • 28 reviews
  • 15 likes

Just a waste of Time

published

I advertised the car on car sales for 2 weeks with no queries. I then paid to have it as a premier ad again with no queries. The dealer used cars come first. Lastly I advertised on Gumtree and Marketplace. Sold the car within 48 hrs. I am under the impression that they only want us to advertise to make up the numbers

Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
2 comments
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Raj
Raj

As a private seller I got zero queries from your site. If private sellers are important and this is the service they can get. Then your website is just a waste of time

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sirous

sirousSydney, NSW

  • Verified

Selling a car on this site has become a joke

published

I have to say the greed and the ad management by carsales also ripping the car dealers by charging the car dealers by over $50 per lead has made it very hard to manage and there worst part is he instant offer crap they are trying to destroy the automotive market also they are linked to redbookand the do false reports on cars

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave

DaveSouth Australia

As a dealer you guys are a ripoff

published

For what you charge dealers per lead is just unacceptable car over $9000 is charged at the same rate as a $90000 car at $60 per lead, half your leads are fake, where people don’t answer your calls emails SMS’s you can’t get a credit unless you fight tooth and nail, your customer service is nonexistent maybe your 165 million dollar profit ( after tax ) has gone to your head.

Reading other post on here you say that there is different packages for dealers that’s not correct you have 2 that I know of, I am going to be investing more in gumtree and autotrader, you list for new car dealers their name and address to help them sell cars where is your help for the little man we can’t have our name in any photo comments etc is this fair trading ??

Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hey Dave, we'd like to take your feedback on board and try to find a solution for you. I'll send you a private message to get a few more details from you so we can look into your account and get in touch. -Kate

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob P

Rob P

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dont waste your money

published

Very difficult to place ad.
My ad went on WITHOUT a description of my car which i spent ages writing in.
I paid for the premium ad at $145 and my ad was near the bottom.
I only sold my car by sheer luck.

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Find out how Carsales.com.au compares to other Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel

Mel

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Waste of money!!

published

Wouldn't waste your money! Try gumtree or facebook market place Which is FREE. I wanted to change my photos on carsales and it wouldn't let me. There was no help they are just greedy!

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Mel. Sorry to hear you've had issues updating your photos. Our customer service team are available to help you! You can contact them on 13 72 53. They will be available on Saturday, 9-5.30pm. Good luck with the sale.
- Deb

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeremy

JeremyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Many fake vehicles for sale

published

We have been looking for a vehicle.. every 1 we like they don't answer there phone and don't return calls, don't return sms's or emails.. if the vehicles are not for sale get these sellers to take them of

Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon

SimonCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Over Priced because they have the market

published

Most expensive site to sell your vehicle. Dealerships also have to pay per lead it was about $66 per lead when I worked at a dealership that is why you have to put a lead through to see the dealership name. Other sites are cheaper and just as good I wouldn't use again and cant wait for the other sites to gain traction.

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Not happy Jan

Not happy JanSydney, NSW

Rubbish website

published

While selling a recent model Euro SUV 30% of the listings in my state for the same vehicle were incorrectly categorised. These were lower spec models listed as the higher spec. Carsales just lets the vehicles sit their in the wrong category even after being notified of the incorrect listings.

Additionally the messaging system is rubbish. I have not been notified of messages and sellers and buyers I've contacted directly (SMS and phone) have told me the same.

Rubbish product dressed up as premium.

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oscar R.

Oscar R.Perth, WA

Carsales exploiting car dealers in australia

published
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Oscar R.
Oscar R.
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mohammed N.

Mohammed N.Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Carsales is not good for low cost vehicles. Please do not waste your money

published

I have similar experience in two occasions of selling cars through this website. Both of my vehicles were of low cost but it didnt get sold both times through this website. I waste my money and time. Carsales should return half of the amount of the ad if the Car is not sold. This is not fair

Product Quality
Customer Service
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Find out how Carsales.com.au compares to other Online Vehicle Sales Sites

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rashid S.

Rashid S.Sydney, NSW

The Worst service, they are going down sooner than later

published
Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
2 comments
Rashid S.
Rashid S.

Soon enough someone is gonna come up with a better marketing for real sellers and real buyers

Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jane

JaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 33 reviews
  • 34 likes

This site is a front for collecting personal data for marketing purposes. Won't answer queries

published
Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
steven

stevenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 9 likes

Suburb listing

published

I do not understand what is so hard about listing the suburb, it is waste of everybodys time if you cannot list the suburb. Had a look at a car at a dealer the other day and the price listed on car sales was different to what was presented at the dealership. Very disappointed in using car sales.

Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
2 comments
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
steven
steven
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Arthur J

Arthur JGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

CarSales Hidden Charges

published

Sent some enquiries to dealers selling the type of car I wanted as I wanted to trade in my current one.
Was shocked to learn that each dealer I contacted was charged $45 for my enquiry.
Because CarSales doesnt list the exact suburb where the car is or tell you who the dealer is some of my enquiries were a waste of my time and their money.
CarSales enquiries to private sellers are free plus the private ads list the sellers name and location.
Im not a fan of car dealers but this sounds like a rip off to me.
I did end up with a car from a dealer - that I found on Gumtree...

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lisa

LisaDarling Downs, QLD

Rip off fees & no help with selling

published

Firstly I put my photos up & Carsales put blurring over the whole front of my car (not just the plate) then they did nothing to help me sell it. They add great price tags on other cars in the same category as mine, that are more expensive than mine, with more kms than mine yet I dont get a tag on my add which is actually the best value in its category & $1000-$4000 cheaper than the competition. I cant see the value for my $68 I spent on this add.

Ease of Use
Product Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 10
See all Carsales.com.au reviews

Questions & Answers

Kylie M.

Kylie M.asked

Might be a dumb question but how do you mark your car as sold on your ad? I only have an option to pause the ad

3 answers
Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hey Kylie, not a silly question at all! We're actually looking to improve this function. Just under the 'pause ad' button you'll see 'remove ad', hit that then follow the prompts to remove your ad. If you have any trouble, give us a bell on 13 72 53 (13 SALE). -Alex

Kylie M.
Kylie M.

sorry I meant 'on hold'

Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hey Kylie, To put your ad on hold click 'pause ad'. See the link below for more details.
https://help.carsales.com.au/hc/en-gb/articles/204487359-How-do-I-temporarily-remove-or-pause-my-ad-
Let us know if there is anything else we can help with. -Alex

Jacqueline Salmeron

Jacqueline Salmeronasked

If a car is put on hold how can you contact the seller if the option of sending them a message isn’t available?

2 answers
Evangeline Deza
Evangeline Deza

In my case I called/rang the seller and thankfully She answered it and there's a phone/mobile nos. that She provided anyway .

Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Jacqueline, if a seller has put their ad on hold you wont be able to contact them unless you their number or messaged them before the ad was put on hold. If you have the ad saved and they remove the hold you'll get a notification. -Alex

milica p.

milica p.asked

How do a message a seller that has place a car on hold ?

2 answers
Evangeline Deza
Evangeline Deza

Well as for me , you either ask him/her to message you back if that person did not fulfill/buy that car ! Its up to the seller anyway !

Carsales.com.au
carsales c.Carsales.com.au

Hi Milica and Evangeline, if a seller has put their ad on hold, it could be for a variety of reasons. You will only be able to contact them if you've previously messaged them (before the ad was put on hold) or obtained their phone number when the ad was live. If you're interested in the car, we'd suggest keeping the ad saved as you'll get an alert if it's taken off hold and advertised again. It's possible the car has been sold and the seller has stopped the ad for the moment while they ensure the sale if final. -Alex

See all Carsales.com.au questions

Get an answer from our members and Carsales.com.au representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.