2 photos
Cel-Fi

Cel-Fi

4.1 from 140 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electronics in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Cel-Fi

Reviews

Previous
Next
Peeved
PeevedEidsvold
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Celfi go.

published

Celfi go.Works great depending what you need great for phone service,but if its just datta you want decent mimmo antenna and a mobile wifi router, will give you way more service,at a cheaper price,if its phone and datta I would go ,the celfi go ..if you are in a regional area best locked to 3g and do not, simply just use a cheap antenna or the rubish little1 you get with it .get atleast a 6dbi rfi or somthing that covers all bands ,on the network..if you are not sure how these work, and the capabilities , get them professionally installed. Yes you can do it yourself but an understanding on what it does ,and how it actually works, or get it fitted properly..

Purchased for $1,099.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sam. L
Sam. LFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless

published

Save your money, simply does not boost signal. Cel-fi and Telstra support non existent. Been sending emails and phoning for over ten months now. They promise the world and nothing is followed up.

Purchased at Telstra Stores.

Incentivised Review No
Jay
JayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great product if you know how to use it…

published

This product when used needs a good understanding. If you just plug in antennae’s and turn on you will never get your money’s worth.
Make sure you use quality antennae’s the right coax and understand the antennae fed back issues…I recommend using the Bluetooth app and read the instructions well. Reset your phone’s network locking, by just going into airplane mode and back again. I really like my cel fi go. A great product.

Purchased in April 2021 at Ebay for $845.00.

Incentivised Review No
Cel fi
Cel fiIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor quality that just lasts over the 12 months warranty and cannot be repaired.

published

Should not be on the market as it is of poor quality. Cel-fi has lasted 13 months and has broke down and they said it cannot be repaired. A total waist of the $1500 odd dolars I spent for it.
And they said they would not replace it. Unfortunately there back-up service for this item is a throwaway item just after the 12 months warranty.

Purchased in February 2019 for $1,500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Quinny
QuinnyVictoria
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Not what I expected!

published

Heard I lot about the Cel-Fi Go, and turned out to be disappointed. I had issues from the beginning. I bought the unit from my local Telstra shop in Warrnambool, no backup support once I walked out the door. I had it professionally fitted, but unit failed to deliver!
Turns out, because I have an iPhone X it needs to be dumbed down to 3G to work effectively. Leaves you bewildered to think why they have an ‘auto’ setting in the unit? Leaving me to switch from a 4G setting to a 3G setting on my phone when getting in and out of the car. In this day and age, it seems unthinkable to experience backward software, that can’t determine the most appropriate signal.

Purchased in November 2020 for $950.00.

Incentivised Review No

Works great but NOT when you need it

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Powertec for $1,100.00.

Incentivised Review No
pissed off
pissed off
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't waste your money

published

You need to connect your phone to the unit before going into remote areas....If the phone battery dies or gets turned off and on again when your in a patchy area the phone WILL NOT receive ANY Signal from the Cel-Fi Device so you can not reconnect ......effectively making it USELESS.

Very tricky Marketing for what is essentially a WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!

Purchased for $1,000.00.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Next
James
JamesVictoria
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not worth the money to improve the networks poor coverage. Over priced, poor design, poor service.

published

I bought a 4g and 3G model and have used over 7 years. 3G model fan burned out and never preformed as advertised even with external antenna. 4G model drops out with network, with base unit, and does not support 700mhz? People in rural need 700mhz but nooooo only 1800, 2100, 2600, crazy ripoff

Purchased in May 2012 for $2,980.00.

Incentivised Review No

Think before you buy

published

Work good in western Queensland when they work
Have 5 at our work and the lot have stoped working
Longest working just under 2 years shortest 3 months
Hard to get them fixed or replaced

Purchased in January 2018 for $1,100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not purchase Cel-Fi

published

Cel-Fi (Telstra) does not work in all areas especially on the Sunshine Coast. I troubleshooted with Powertec who provide this product in Australia for over 8 hours, all a complete waste of my time. Therefore, do not waste your money or time with this product. Now I have to go through the agonizing process of getting a refund all whilst having no improvement with signal.

Purchased in April 2020 at powertec.

Incentivised Review No
Shaun S.
Shaun S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well on 3g. Not much difference on 4g.

published

I have a car unit that I also unplug and use in a Sorrento beach house
In Sorrento it boosts the 3g signal from 0-1 bar to 3 bars it goes from not being able to make a call to acceptable browsing.
However on 4g anywhere it says it's boosting strength often between 7-9 however makes no difference to the phone still on 1 bar. Can't brows or make reliable phone calls in Sorrento when set to boost 4g.

Purchased in December 2019 at eBay for $900.00.

Incentivised Review No
T Brown
T BrownMid North Coast, NSW

Average, useful when it works.

published

Installed Telstra celfi and external aerial probably 1 or 2 years ago. Experienced drop outs straight away after installation. Complained to the distributor within the first week and was told nothing was wrong. Had probably 10 drops outs today alone. Works sometimes. Better than nothing but very frustrating.

Purchased at Fetter comunication for $1,500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Electronics

Find out how Cel-Fi compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Man cave
Man cavePerth, WA

Internal shed usage

published

I live in a high populated suburb in Perth where the Optus tower signal is very week, many complaints have been made about the tower but the neighbors and i have a very weak signal. 1 bar in the house and 1 to 3 bars outside. I built a 6x6 shed man cave and the tin totally blocked the remaining signal. So i ordered a cel fi unit, i explained my situation to the rep and they sent a box set which was the wrong setup for my situation, so i returned it and got the base model setup. I could not get this to work after several emails i gave up for a awhile. I had a HTC phone which had charging issue and i got a samsung 10 and tried it again and away it went. I know have 4 bars inside my shed. A dam great invention, i totally recommend it.

Purchased in August 2018 for $1,350.00.

Incentivised Review No
SJK
SJKSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

I have two units in a house in Brisbane. Both have ceased to work. I have no mobile phone service without them. Replacement cost over $1,000 each. I would have believed that these units would have a longer life.

Incentivised Review No

Expensive and Limited

published

Just checked with Cell-fi NZ and each unit is locked to one network provider so no good for visitors etc who are on a different network. Very expensive ( around NZ$1,300) with this limitation. Much cheaper to go with 2 degrees who have Wi-Fi calling at no extra cost.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Rob
Robasked

I have a celfi telstra stationary unit connected to a omni directional on roof. 1 or 2 bars on phone at aerial. Out put is a white box. We have it set on 3g. It boosts the signal great for a few weeks then red light flashes says no input signal. I reset it and check software upto date but does not work. I leave it on and in a week it is working again. Why? Can i fix this? Thanks in advance Rob

No answers
SteveD
SteveDasked

Hi I’m looking at purchasing a cel-fi go unit and wan to use it in my Ute and when I am stopped transfer it to the caravan, I will have two aerials one on Ute and one on caravan, and just transfer main unit. Is this possible?

1 answer
Paul S.
Paul S.

Hi Steve I have the same issue and decided to permanently mount cel-fi unit in ute glove box and feed its output to a two way splitter, one output of the splitter goes to the ute's internal antenna while the other goes to the van's internal antenna via a quality low loss cable. All connectors, fittings and cables are available and it's a simple matter of connecting the 'extension' cable to the van's (antenna) input socket once you park your van.
This setup works for me, hope it helps.. Cheers, Paul

Bill And-Kerrie H.
Bill And-Kerrie H.asked

Hi. How can I tell how many devices are connected (if any) to the CEL-Fi. Is there a place in WAVE I can look for this!

1 answer
Ron J.
Ron J.

I have never checked how many devices are connected. Possibly there is somewhere in the WAVE app where it states the number of devices connected. We are not at our holiday house so I can't check for you. Going down next week,bI will have a look.

See all Cel-Fi questions

Get an answer from our members and Cel-Fi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.