??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

1.0

10 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (8)
  • Transparency
    1.0 (7)
  • Customer Service
    1.1 (8)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 3+ months (5)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (10)
Previous
Next
Nathan D.

Nathan D.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Misconduct within Insurance Australia Limited / CGU Insurance

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Nathan D.
Nathan D.
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

3 months and still waiting

published

CGU we all know what those letters truly stand for C+++s give ulcers. I had the unfortunate scenarion to have a second car stolen in 5 months as well as a contents claim for the same night Incident, and here it is 3 months later and I am still left with being no closer to having this matter resolved . While I have been luck enough to have a great friend who lent me money to buy an old bomb until I get paid ouyt its noytgood enough CGU get your act together and stop complaining that I paid so much for the car yet insured it for the agreed value that you were offering on your website. If I dont get itt resolved soon I will instruct my lawyer to sue you in court for the full amount plus their fees and court costs

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

I am sorry to hear that you have had such bad claim experience Geoffrey, Please PM use your claim details so I can pass it on to the claims team to follow up what is happening. ~Beni

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Courtney

CourtneySouth East Queensland, QLD

If I could give zero stars I would

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how CGU Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Graham C.

Graham C.Canberra 2600, ACT

Shocking experience avoid at all costs

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 3 Series
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible lied to me many times. Complaints handed poorly.

published

Went through our bank for car insurance with CGU. This was a mistake. CGU are dishonest, slow, inefficient and apathetic. We are currently working through a claim. CGU for the most part won't communicate with us, referring us to the repairer. The repairer refers us back to CGU. Our car is likely to be written off, but no one will communicate when an assessment will be completed. Avoid CGU, we are in the process of pulling all our policies from them. Couldn't imagine the people who lost houses in fires with CGU are dealing with.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
L.Le

L.LeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Took 1 YEAR for 1 claims, and still on going troubles with court order!!! Worse insurance company ever!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
L.Le
L.Le
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst Insurer due to claims process, painful nothing but hassles.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Focus LZ (Hatchback)
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Warren

WarrenMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

CGU got my policy wrong after a month, yeah right.

published

Hit from behind 1 month ago agreed a figure after 3 weeks CGU got policy wrong and I have to deal with 3rd party insurer Asked to get pictures of car but it has moved from Dandenong to Pickles Dodgy.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VZ
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Warren, not the way we want you feeling during a claim. If you would like us to chase it up - please message us by going to https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/ and let us know you're from Product Review. ~Natalie

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nothappyjan

nothappyjanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never again with this insurer

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how CGU Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kumar

kumarSouth East Queensland, QLD

one of the worst cgu insurance case manager totally no knowledge

published

hot line doesn't work. I have been hung up on several times. I have been waiting in line for more than 45 min.
Your team doesn't resolve anything. Doesn't call back when they say they would. Dragging out to pay for my claim and I can't get my car repaired
Absolutely ridiculous and useless company. one accident aske pay do claim to spertate what a joke.. give me a date to fix car next may 8th 2019... they said not sure what will happen . no contact nothing further information

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all CGU Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Waz

Wazasked

Car Insurance

Looking at all the reviews in product review - and if these are typical of how this company operates - I don't really understand how CGU remains in business!
I already have a car insured with CGU, but haven't as yet needed to make a claim....one might say thank God for that, because going by the reviews my chances for a satisfactory outcome - should I be involved in an accident - appear rather limited.

I was looking to insure a second vehicle, hence the hunt for an appropriate insurer, but I'm left wondering if I should cut loose CGU altogether and try for another company with much better outcomes.....

What assurances can CGU give me that I won't simply be wasting my time flogging a dead horse should I continue with CGU? You are the cheapest insurance I have found so far, but as an insurance company - is that ALL you are? Thanks Warren Harvey

2 answers
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Waz, thanks for leaving us a question here. Unfortunately people often come to ProductReview after a claim that they aren't completely satisfied, but very rarely do after thousands of great claims outcomes that we have each year.

We are very proud of our customer service and claims experience and I personally don't hesitate to suggest it to my friends and family.

I am happy to hear that you haven't yet had to make a claim, but I am sure that you will be very satisfied with our help if you ever do need to.

Merry Christmas! -Nathan

Waz
Waz

Thanks for the quick response Nathan. I do so hope you are right, because we have elected to continue with CGU insurance for our second car. However it does bring to mind that quite some years ago, the roof on our house needed replacing after a hail storm. Indeed, after reporting the incident we did get the job done courtesy of CGU insurance - twelve months later! CGU had forgotten us! So one might say - watch this space!

terry o

terry oasked

Car Insurance

Can you apply for an over 50 discount on landlords building and contents cover?

2 answers
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Terry, as soon as you enter your details it will automatically apply at new business or at your next renewal after you turn 50 :) ~Natalie

Waz
Waz

Hi Terry - I'd love to know how it went.

DON18

DON18asked

Car Insurance

Hi there,
I understand that you're dealing with tens and thousands of claims due to unprecedented events recently. But I believe, there's no excuse when it comes to not resolving the problem on time. You guys have no patience when it comes to grabbing money from us. I pay over $2k for my AMG. I'm a disappointed customer just like thousands of others. I thought I was in the better hands due to the hefty premium I was paying. Now, I was wondering how long does it take to process a writeoff and replace my car with a new one with the current backlog? I need a genuine answer because I found a car to replace (same make, model & spec) and I'm happy to put a deposit until you sort out the payment for it. Please advise me correctly so I can work things out my way or else this won't get solved for months.

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Don, I unfortunately won't be able to answer that because every single claim is different. If you would like to me to escalate your claim and have someone call you about your write off vehicle can you please message us on Facebook http://bit.ly/2pbDydv and let us know you're from product review. ~Natalie

See all CGU Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and CGU representatives

CGU Car Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 CGU Car Insurance
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and TravelHome and Contents and TravelHome and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and TheftThird Party Property Damage
UnderwriterInsurance AustraliaInsurance AustraliaInsurance Australia
Legal Liability Cover 300000003000000030000000
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverReduced Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional, up to $100 per day for up to 21 days until:

  • your car is repaired or
  • until your claim is settled if your car is a total loss

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded, up to $500 if you vehicle is damaged in an incident more than 100km from homeIncluded, up to $500 if you vehicle is damaged in an incident more than 100km from homeNot Included
Towing Costs IncludedIncludedNot Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded, up to $800Included up to $800Not Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $100 per day up to 21 days until:

  • your car is repaired or
  • until your claim is settled if your car is a total loss

Included up to $100 per day up to 21 days until:

  • your car is repaired or
  • until your claim is settled if your car is a total loss

Not Included

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Included up to $1,000Not Included
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot ApplicableNot Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsBaby Seat Replacement IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Included, if the vehicle is a total loss as a result of a covered incident. Your vehicle may be replaced:

  • if its a car less than three years old and has not travelled more than 50km

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not IncludedIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedIncludedOptional
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedIncludedNot Included
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 3 CGU Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.