?
? !
1 photo
CGU Home and Contents Insurance

CGU Home and Contents Insurance

1.9 from 119 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.7

24 reviews
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (23)
  • Transparency
    2.6 (21)
  • Customer Service
    2.6 (22)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (4)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (4)
    • 1-2 months (3)
    • 3+ months (6)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (24) · No
Previous
Next
John O

John OPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Failure to match roof sheeting colour

published

A claim was made to HBF who front CGU for the replacement of hail damaged poly carbonate roof sheets. CGU’s building contractor MidCity replaced the sheets but the replacement sheets are a different colour. Neither CGU, MidCity nor HBF will accept responsibility to fix the issue. Very poor customer service from all three of these companies.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ange N.

Ange N.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Sexist and Patronising

published

Have been with this company for many years and have given them good reviews in the past. My latest claim with them has left me angry and frustrated. I was asked if I wouldn't prefer to have my husband deal with it and, in very slow clear words, if I understood what he was saying. Can't wait to finally finish with this claim - 8 months later! So I can move on to a company that doesn't think women should know their place!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wheels

WheelsSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Tree collapse

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified customer

Update from shonky CGU signed 2 contracts for work to start and they keep pulling out

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
8 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Terry P.
Terry P.
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Terry, did the team get in touch with you? ~Kaz

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
anonymouse

anonymouseTownsville

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Never again CGU

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi there, thanks for your review of your home claim during the time of the massive flood event in Townsville nearly 2 years ago. We are pleased to see you received your settlement for the claim. ~Kaz

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

MattSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointed so far

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lou

louNorth Queensland, QLD

Very efficient company

published

I can't speak highly enough about cgu claims. I have made a few claims over the years, with cyclone damaged contents, accidental breakage, and lost items and I have found this company very prompt and efficient.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hey there Lou, thanks for the kind words! We are incredibly proud of our claims processes and customer service, so it's always nice to hear from people that have experienced this. :)
Have a great day! -Nathan

lou
lou

Cheers thankyou. :-)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nikki Cullen

Nikki CullenAU

  • 5 reviews

CGU insurance - 10/10

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
clint.reynolds.549

clint.reynolds.549Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best Insurance company ever

published

We filed a claim for Hail damage on our house, Assessor was out within 7 days, Our claim was approved within 10 days of that and our roof was replaced within 30days from our Claim being approved. Thank CGU

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
clint.reynolds.549
clint.reynolds.549

This is going to sound fake but We also had our caravan insured with CGU, we had 2 claims in 18 months and again, outstanding! We had one claim approved in 3hrs of the quote going in. Thank you CGU.

CGU
Care TeamCGU

That's great Clint! It's exactly the kind of service we aim to provide :) ~Natalie

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

My bike was stolen but CGU came to the rescue

published

A few months ago I had my road bike stolen and was absolutely devastated. I called the claims hotline after hours and encountered a very helpful person who submitted my claim. It didn't take long for the claim to be processed and sent through to Insurance Bikes Australia, who worked with me to secure a replacement bike. The process was seamless and the claim managers were extremely professional and helpful. Thank you to CGU and Insurance Bikes Australia!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

That's great to hear Happy Customer. Sucks to hear about your bike being stolen but I am glad it had a happy ending. ~ Jono

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam

Sam

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

SCAM!!! All the other scam feedbacks are 100% true. You have been warned

published

After they refused couple of claims in the past, this time they tried to refuse a claim for a accidental breakage of glass which was clearly included under our policy, after hours of argument, the operator spoke to her manager and said yes we can cover it and gave us a $700 excess, which we decided not to go ahead with and had a new glass installed $250 the next day. They give you bogus excess so you don't bother going through them when you need them. You have been warned!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SKJ

SKJGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible Customer Service.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
caz

caz

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome service. Would give more than 5 stars

published

When our roof was torn off in a storm, CGU was brilliant. They organized excellent accommodation, replaced all our contents and rebuilt our house. They could not have been more understanding and helpful. We've been with them for many years and I'm never changing insurers. I've recommended them to everyone I know. They also helped my sister with her landlord's insurance and were fantastic when she made a claim for water damage.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Caz, thanks for the 5 star review! We are glad to hear you had a great claims experience and so did your sister. We hope to provide everyone the same level of service and our claims team work extremely hard. ~Natalie

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Meagan

MeaganSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awful service. Do not use this company. Worst ever

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Meagan
Meagan
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Thanks Meagan, I have emailed your details through to a claims specialist asking for assistance. Have a great weekend ~Renae

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Not happy jan

Not happy jan

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible service

published

Had to make claim for water damage.
You bump me off to a building company who are also crap.. premium premiums and get a budget fix!
Anyway living in mould,you ripped up a small area of carpet , you want to cut out a small area of damaged gyprock wall, without looking if frame is still structurally sound .
How the hell are you going to be see why the water metre is off the charts on same wall but in kitchen if you don't take down one side.
After all these years i think it's time to find a new insurer for home and cars.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents and Home Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Not happy jan
Not happy jan
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Sorry to hear that Not happy jan, we hope that your building work is rectified asap ~Renae

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how CGU Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris H.

Chris H.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

SUPER FAST SERVICE

published

I reversed into my garage door during a storm and power cut(turns out the door does not retract fully when not powered by the motor)and 3 days after i sent CGU the quote to replace the money has been issued,this is my first dealings with a claim and very happy with the service,i have 3 houses and 3 vehicles insured with them

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Chris, it's great to hear about your positive experience. I do hope we are able to meet this level of service at every interaction. ~Natalie

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brenden

BrendenCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst process ever

published

Their policy has not been good value. My tv was damaged beyond repair. I was told I had to take a tv from a preferred supplier both of which are over priced. They told me it was new for old replacement yet couldn't provide the model number of the tv they were offering me. They keep telling me to refer to the PDU which is average at best and refused to settle with funds transferred to my account even though They have done this for me on a previous occasion.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Brenden
Brenden

Pretty average when you guys don't state the process from the start. I work out of town as well and was forced between going for 2 providers for my tv which both i am not easily able to access. This fell on deaf ears as well.

CGU
Care TeamCGU

Sorry for the inconvenience Brenden. We will pass on this feedback to claims for you. ~ Lizzy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stella Q

Stella QGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Claims process is offshored - disgusting service

published

Twice I have had to UNFORTUNATELY deal with CGU when processing a claim which unfortunately wasnt my fault. First had to go through ombudsman as it took 10 weeks to solve for. Stressful and disgusting process. Second time - was hit by a car and what is a distressing process is taken by an offshored person who has no empathy or understands what your saying. Wrong information provided and just left with no follow up unless you call multiple times. Check where you are being serviced! I am cancelling all my policies with CGU

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Perfect

published

The best insurance very cooperative. 5 star rating. Highly recommending this insurance. The best insurance i have ever experienced. Thanks for this service. Bye bye bye cv hg hh hh

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim DateFebruary 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Karan, thank you your the positive feedback. ~ Jono

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Charmin

CharminSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

CGU INSURANCE IS THE BEST INSURANCE COMPANY I HAVE EVERY DEALT WITH

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Charmin, it always makes us happy to hear about great claim experiences especially in our hobby farm department! Glad to hear your tractor is back up and running. :) Thank you for your positive feedback. ~Natalie

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all CGU Home and Contents Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

SKJ

SKJasked

How do you get a claims manager to do their job and respond to multiple emails and calls on an active claim where excess has already been paid?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi SKJ, I have responded to your review. ~Natalie

Etimoni V.

Etimoni V.asked

Hello I dry to send are receipt to ur claim email but I give it to me can't send I don't know that the right email. claim@cgu.com.au Any help?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Etimoni, you have made just a slight typing mistake. The correct email address is claims@cgu.com.au. ~ Jono

Rosie

Rosieasked

Do you insure relocatable homes?

1 answer
CGU
Care TeamCGU

Hi Rosie. We cover homes that are permanently fixed to the site with water and sewage connections. There are other insurers that have specific cover for things like on-site caravans. But not us. I hope this helps. ~ Jono

See all CGU Home and Contents Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and CGU representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Home and Contents, Landlord, Motorcycle and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.