??!
1 photo
Chromagen 200L Gas Boosted

Chromagen 200L Gas Boosted

1.2 from 34 reviews

Reviews

1.2

34 reviews
5
(0)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(30)
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.0 (2)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.5 (2)
  • Heating Speed
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Dylan T

Dylan TGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Worst choice

published

Just like many others our unit was installed from our builder and 1.5 years in and the frost valve breaks and we get quoted in excess of $350 to replace it. For a system that costs thousands of dollars you would expect the parts to last atleast 2 years minimum. Wish it was never part of the build but unfortunately we didn't have a choice in it.

The unit also has also released a high pitch chirping noise occasionally since the day the house was built and the repair man said that was from the faulty valve so it turns out it was defective from the start.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Nell

NellMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Atrocious service

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Jenni

JenniGippsland, VIC

Hot water rarely reports nothing shows up still no water.

published

Unit is not working little or no hot water have had the unit seen to at least 5 times report each time..still no hot water.have been left without hot water

Purchased in August 2018.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 200L Gas Boosted compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ericc

EriccMildura

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Terrible product. Stay away

published
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Poor renter

Poor renterMelbourne

No hot water then hot water

published

One minute it’s great then not & im in rental property. Plus my dog chewed the lead for gas booster so I called chromagen got new lead paid for electrician to install. $240 later yeah hot water for like 10 min then go e again. Told real estate what happened they sent their builder guy out, he said he fixed it as the wires in lead were wired wrong so he adjusted other wires and it worked. Plumber leaves and no hot water again. So I get a call from plumbers boss he said it will cost me $1350 to get this fixed. New booster but better brand - oh but hang on I only rent.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Ian M

Ian MHighton

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Leaking water tank

published

Our builder supplied a Chromagen 200 lt gas powered solar hot water system. The water tank lasted 2 and a half years but I will give Chromagen a five star rating for their service as they had it replaced within a week under warranty. Happy with their service. Thank you.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

No Support, Faulty Panel

published

Hello,
We have the Chromagen Eternity G20 with the solar panels. Last night i could hear water running on the roof so i had to turn of the water from the main as it was a lot of water. When looking at it today we could see that the water is coming from the solar panels. Would have been easier to just get a call back.
Called Chromagen three time.
Lodged a request online nearly 10 days ago,
haven't heard any thing.
Very poor in customer care.

Date PurchasedMar 2010
David slatter

David slatterMelbourne

Intermittent fault

published
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Joe

Joe

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Continued Problems and no support

published

Had heater for approximately 1.5years with continued problems with beeping, fluctuations in water temperature to shower and gas back up always coming on. Chromagen will not reply to my emails and when I spoke with them they said they won't come out to fix unless I pay expensive call out and parts charges as it is out of its one year warranty. I don't think this is acceptable as the heater cost a lot of money and I would expect it to work for many years. I will now need to make a formal complaint to consumer affairs to get it sorted and suggest anyone else in the same situation does the same.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 200L Gas Boosted compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ariesfem

AriesfemDalmeny

Absolute Crap !!! Warning - Stay away from this product !!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Matt

MattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Intermittent hot water

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Pat.M

Pat.MSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

costs a lot in the long run.

published

Just purchased a property with a Chromagen solar system & it is rusting out. I mean to say, who in there right mind would put a carbon steel framework on a panel that is close to the ocean. Actually, who in their right mind would use carbon steel on such a product anywhere. Soo stupid I just can't believe it, definitely better to use a different supplier of this type of equipment & I'd strongly suggest something that doesn't rust. Lets face it, we are living in the 21st century after all & are people still really that stupid. I can't give anything less than 1 star unfortunately.

Pat.

Date PurchasedNov 2008
Grumpycat

GrumpycatCampbells Creek VIC 3451

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beeping Hotwater System Ready to Blow Up???

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Crappy System and Worst Service

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
frank

frank

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

System failed twice, i am technically savvy and just want info, called twice and eventually had to p

published

Forget chromagen, solahart more expensive but so much cheaper in the long term. I've had nothing but trouble with chromogen and the only time you know that you have a problem is when you turn the hot water service switch off in your electrical box otherwise if you leave the hot water service on you will always have hot water but you will be paying for it. Conclusion is turn off your hot water system at the power box and see if chromagen delivers you hot water I have been disappointed twice so far wish I had never bought chromogen

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 200L Gas Boosted compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kush

KushGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Hot Water

published

As others have mentioned, I am facing the same issue. The water comes as lukewarm and not hot. It takes 2-3 minutes atleast even to get the lukewarm water. Most of the water is wasted rather than used. Its even difficult to find where the temperature setting of the heater is located and the company is not very helpful in providing any assistance.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Chromagen
David S.Chromagen
Mick Winner

Mick WinnerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wouldnt recommend to anyone

published

Purchased in August 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
2 comments
Chromagen
David S.Chromagen
Mick Winner
Mick Winner

Worst services ever!

published

Their product broken down within 12 month! I called them, they send someone to fix it! They were not honest with their actions. No communications whatsoever! Worst experience I ever had with any services organisation!
I don't have the exact change, and the guy on the job said it was fine because he has no cash to give me change, and then later on, the company called me and accused me for short paying money, I asked them if it was okay to leave and they said it was fine, again company said they can't finish job because no one was there! Worse product and services I have experienced! Do not use them!

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Chromagen
David S.Chromagen

IT DOSEN'T WORK IT'S RUBBISH....

published
Date PurchasedDec 2010

Faulty!!!!

published

My system was installed only 4 months ago and to my wonderful surprise it now has problems with incessant beeping, i've been told this is due to a faulty wiring issue on the panels.
Of course i'm expected to be home during the week (work full time) or they will charge me to come after hours.
NOT HAPPY that a brand new system on a brand new home already has problems, yet i have to be inconvienced to have it fixed. Chromagen should be arranging an after hours service to fix this, why should i put out and lose a day off work?? - CUSTOMER SERVICE NON EXISTANT!

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Phil

Philasked

I have a Eternity G20 and solar panel hot water system. At the moment with just the hot tap on we are getting hot water for about 2 minutes then it goes cold and hot, cold and hot.
spend most of the time in the shower adjusting the temperature.
any idea what the problem is?

5 answers
Ericc
Ericc

We had the same problem with the same system. Called the installer who took the water saver restrictor out of the shower heads. That solved it for us

Phil
Phil

Thanks for your help.
We have a shower in the main bathroom and the ensuite and both are effected.
Neither have water saver restrictor's unfortunately.

Nick585
Nick585

Hi Phil I have the same problem.did you end up finding a fix?

RuthC

RuthCasked

Why is the Chromogen frost valve continuously leaking slowly connected to solar panel?

No answers
RuthC

RuthCasked

Hi, our Chromogen Eternity G20 solar boost stopped heating the water.
What could be the problem? could it be the thermostate?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.