4 photos
Chromecast Audio

Chromecast Audio

MPN: KHCHRCABLKAU
3.3 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Google? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.3
14 reviews
Previous
Clear all
Next
Vossy
VossyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews

Good WHEN it decides to work... ultimately very annoying.

published

Sounds good when working but so regularly have re set it up as it just dissapears from device selection. This can be a painful experience....and has just occurred for the last time. I just ripped it out of my stereo in a rage and smashed it on the bathroom floor! I will now go and have a smoke and put a cd on!

Purchased in January 2019 for $50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DavidN
DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 108 reviews
  • 111 likes

End of Chromecast Audio is bad news for audiophiles

published

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $59.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dreadfully unreliable!!! Avoid!

published

I have two and they’re both completely useless because they’re forever dropping the audio, skipping, asking weird sounds... useless crap. Shame because normal chromecast is awesome. I’ve had to go back to a wired connection to avoid going crazy. more words because i have to have 50 to submit my review - wth is that all about?

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KERR
KERR
  • 4 reviews

Beware of the marketing...

published

The device itself is fine, it's what Google doesn't tell you that annoys me. I bought one assuming I could stream basically any audio to it. Unfortunately, it's very limited.
- You can only use specific apps on your phone (eg spotify, google play music). You can't officially cast your own MP3s! There's an app for Android called LocalCast that can do it but it's really flaky and it drops out
- You can't cast from a PC. I wanted to cast my itunes library but no dice. There's a Windows tool that can help but I haven't had much luck with it

A few mates told me they returned theirs once they found out how limited it was... I still use mine daily, just not as I hoped.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Networked Media Players

Find out how Chromecast Audio compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael
MichaelAshgrove
  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Another miss from a company pretending to know something about home automation

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Climbingweasel
ClimbingweaselGeelong
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mostly works well

published

This device works well most of the time. It turns a regular speaker into a Sonos styled music speaker.i mostly use it to stream Spotify which is where problems occur. We often have music dropping out sporadically when we have to many devices over the network. It is hard to solve the problem.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
T C
T CSydney
  • 6 reviews

Nothing super special but does the job.

published

If you have a home audio device or setup that has a 3.5 mm audio jack and you want to use Google cast to send music to it from a device using Google cast then this is the right device for you. Spotify and multi room audio so works with this.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
skiwii
skiwii
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great size but wifi only, no bluetooth, and only works with some apps

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Theo Quaak
Theo Quaakasked

I want to connect my older CD divice to my Bose Home speaker 500. The advice from the store where I bought the Bose 500 was that ik can connect it by using the Chromecast Audio. However after I connect it, it is not working. Any help?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNetworked Media Players
Price (RRP)$59
ConnectivityWi-Fi
Depth51.8mm
Height51.8mm
Width13.49mm
Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 811571016587 and 811571016792
  • MPN: KHCHRCABLKAU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.