??!
1 photo
Citibank Citi Rewards Platinum

Citibank Citi Rewards Platinum

2.9 from 68 reviews

See the Best Balance Transfer Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Multiple Promotional Offers to choose from (see Details) if you apply by 31 January 2020

  • Points Earn Rate: 1 Citi Point per $1 spent

  • Linked Diners Club Card has No International Transaction Fees and 2 Citi Points per $1 spent earn rate

  • 0% on Balance Transfers for either 12, 15 or 26 months

  • Reduced $0 or $49 Annual Fee in your first year

Cons

  • $149 or $199 Annual Fee after your first year

  • 3.4% International Transaction Fee

  • 1% or 1.5% Balance Transfer Fee may apply depending on which sign-up offer you choose

Details

CategoryBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Contact Number 1300 300 470
Card TypeVisa
BenefitsReduced First Year Annual Fee and Sign-Up Bonus Points Offer
Minimum Credit Limit $6,000
Maximum Credit Limit $100,000
Minimum Income $35,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee $90 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards ProgramCiti Rewards
Points Earn Rate 1 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 1 Citi point per $1 on International Spend for eligible transactions

  • 1 Citi point per $1 on Domestic spend for eligible transcations capped at $10,000 per statement period

  • 2 Citi points per $1 on linked Diners Club card for eligible transactions

Contactless PaymentsApple Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate21.49% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3.5%
Late Payment Fee$30
Annual Fee$149 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3.4%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal Fee$0
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate21.74% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Sign-Up Bonus Receive up to 120,000 bonus points (80,000 points when you spend $3,000 in the first 90 days from approval and an additional 40,000 points on your first anniversary)
Introductory Offers

Choose from one of the following sign-up offers:

  • Collect 70,000 flybuys Bonus Points when you apply for a Citi Rewards Platinum credit card and spend $3,000 on it in the first 90 days from approval.

  • Earn 80,000 Bonus Points when you spend $3,000 within the first 90 days from approval and an additional 40,000 bonus Points on your first anniversary.

  • 0% p.a. for 26 months on balance transfers (1.5% balance transfer fee applies)

Reduced First Year Annual Fee $49.00
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 15 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 1%
Release dateAug 2006

Visit official website

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
13
3 star
8
2 star
5
1 star
25

Excellent service

published

Need an additional card for my partner recieved it in 2 days!! Could get more than 1 additional card! !! Good customer service!!
Highly recommended and great perks in with points!!


Matty

MattyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good if you get approved. Annoying sign-up process.

published

Once finally approved (Citibank has issues on their approval process), it was easy to activate, and easy to earn points.
Recommend you call them to confirm it is being approved, as their automatic system of updates is not very accurate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Shorty

ShortyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Excellent card with generous sign up bonus.

published

I found the application process for this credit card to be pain free. It was very a simple to apply for and was approved very quickly.

I applied for this card as at the time they were giving 100k points for a $3k spend in the first 3 months. Once I achieved this I received my points within about 2 weeks. I used these for gift card vouchers and received around $450 at the time.

The annual fee was only $49, so all up I was $401 up for just using the card on my everyday spends.

As I bank with Citibank I noticed that my credit card payments where settled quickly.

Overall, great card with good points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
Betty

BettySydney, NSW

Everyday card to use

published

I joined when they had promo spend $5k get 100k points, one of quirks with the card you get 2x lounge access each year with priority pass. The card is pretty sleak too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Hugo

HugoSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Not perfect, still has overseas transaction fee

published

Got invited from promotion 10,000 points for $49 annual fee, no brainer.
Application all done online within 10 minutes, I was surprised approval was instantly showing onscreen. Card was delivered within a week.
Strangely the card was declined at Costco repeatedly. The other shortcomings is overseas transaction fees when the Citi debit card can do without.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Keli

KeliAU

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

So far so good

published

The application process was relatively easy except for the fact the application did not mention "Qantas" in the title and therefore there was some confusion as to whether I actually received the Qantas card or just the usual Signature Rewards card. However, after a very long time on the phone, a very helpful customer service representative managed to confirm that I had the correct card. One month in, so far, so good, although I have not met the minimum spend yet, nor have I received points so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sara

SaraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great credit card

published

Great card for getting Qantas points, just by spending 5K in 3 months, I can get 100K bonus Qanats points which is a great offer with no annual fee on first year. Visa card is accepted everywhere. Their customer service is great and fast. They have alao online chat which is very helpful too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Manjinder B.

Manjinder B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

If you want the points, go for this ..

published

This is a great card that allowed me to accrue points without having to pay an annual fee for the first year. It had a low $5K spending criteria for 100,000 points. Its accepted everywhere and can be used internationally. Customer service is great and its easy to accumulate points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Sanjay

SanjayPerth, WA

Gave a good credit limit

published

I have been using my Citibank Citi Rewards Platinum for 8 months, utilised the bonus points to buy a Laptop.

it gave me the best credit limit among all my other cards.
the customer support is very helpful.
I still have it and use it as my primary card.

the App is easy to use

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Stephenaf

StephenafCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great for interest free purchases

published

I applied for this credit card as there was a special offer for 12 months interest free in any purchase made and we had to replace our central heating so this worked out well. The sign up process was a breeze and the staff at the call centre were really helpful. When activating the card you were welcomed to Citi Bank like a VIP. You earn points very quickly with this card too! The citi app is easy to use as well. No complaints with this credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

Reviewer

ReviewerAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great card no issues

published

Very easy to set up the card. Great dealings with Citibank. Simple to transfer the points and initially used to get the bulk point sign up. Love the access to Priority Pass, while not available for some Australian lounges has worked a treat for south east Asia.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

KevinH

KevinHSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Okay, not great.

published

To apply for the card was harder than it should be, I applied and 14 days later still was not processed. after 3 weeks I rang and asked, they said they required further proof of income. I supplied and was approved that afternoon. It was poor that I had to chase them.
Features of the card:
+ Earning points is easy and good bonus points (awarded very promptly)
+ App is easy to use
- No apple pay
- Customer service keeps ringing trying to sell more products, after I asked them not to ring
- When chasing up on phone, I was on hold for 43minutes

But saying that, I earned 80k bonus points during their promo, it was worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Great card with great rewards

published

I have had this card for 13 years and could not be happier with it. We use the insurance when booking - any issues are quickly picked up and the customer service has been very good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2006
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


jmmyjrg

jmmyjrgMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Good sign up bonus with a low annual fee

published

I signed up with this card due to the Citbank Rewards program as the rewards points can be exchanged for a wide range of giftcards, and lots more than with the Qantas FF program. The low annual fee of $49 was reasonable given the bonus rewards for signing up should equal around $400 value.

Signing up was quick and easy and done online. I was called the next day and asked to send in some further documents before I was approved but it was an easy process.

I tried both the iOS and Android apps and they works well, and the website is easy to navigate.

I've only used the card in Australia so far but have had no issues.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
Brisbee

BrisbeeBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Helpful customer service but needs better online portal

published

I have used this card to travel overseas as it covers international insurance which is good. Had to contact the customer centre and they were helpful, although it took longer than expected to resolve the issue. The online portal needs improvement but the reward points are a plus.

Customer Service
Rewards
Dave

Dave

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sign on bonus with low annual fee

published

Pretty happy with this card. The deal at the time had $49 annual fee and 80,000 Citibank rewards ($400) if spent $3000 in 3 months. This net cash bonus is similar to more top of the range cards. . The other positives to consider is the low minimum credit limit on application, the qualifying 3 months spent of only $3,000. Given all this consider it a good cash bonus card though do note higher earn rate or perks as som or some of the available on other cards.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Niall

NiallGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does what it says on the tin

published

I have used this credit card for the past 14 months and I would like to report back some of the pro's and cons that I found.

Pro's
1) - I found it works with Samsung Pay therefore I can pay via my Samsung Smartwatch which I could not do with my Bank of Melbourne Platinum Credit Card
2) Enjoyed a good signup bonus and along with points gained $400 in Coles Credit by using the reward points
3) Good intuitive app for checking the CC account and making cc payments.
4) Statement gets emailed as a PDF ( no need to login) and has a security password on the PDF document

Cons
1) Receiving marketing calls from Citibank trying to sell me personal loans and calls asking if I was to increase my credit card limit.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Amit R.

Amit R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Just OK, there are better options available

published

Easy overseas usage with minimal charges compared to other cards. Rewards could have been better with the Annual fee of $49. Interest rate is high but 0% on first 26 months is a saviour for new customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Terence Chan

Terence ChanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

A decent card

published

A good card for everyday use. Got on the card for the bonus points and free annual free first year promotion. Points earn rate are okay without being great. Found the customer service to be excellent including the online communications around your card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Ravi S B.

Ravi S B.Sydney, NSW

Perfect card for all your needs

published

Easy to use in overseas and can earn more points
Easy to apply for balance transfer
Very much satisfied with rewards options available
So many options to redeem points and it is very easy

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Citibank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.