??!
1 photo
Citibank Citi Rewards Signature

Citibank Citi Rewards Signature

2.7 from 24 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Up to 120,000 Bonus Rewards Points on offer

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for 15 months

  • Earn up to 2 Citi Rewards Points per $1 spent

  • Linked Diners Club Card includes uncapped earn rate of 2 Points per $1 and No International Transaction Fees

  • Complimentary International Travel Insurance and Two Airport Lounge Passes each year

Cons

  • High $199 Annual Fee in the first year & $395 for each subsequent year

  • 1% Balance Transfer Fee

  • 3.4% International Transaction Fee

  • Minimum Credit Limit of $15,000

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
10

Kerin

KerinPerth, WA

Waste of time and effort

published
Card Start DateMay 2019

Lloyd D.

Lloyd D.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Awful Customer Service

published

CC process was a joke. Applied for a signature Qantas card, I was instead approved for a different card with an excuse that the amount I was approved for was slightly less than the limit needed for that card. Somewhere is the fine print you apparently give them permission to do this. Customer service is the worst. When I asked to be put through to the complaints department to lodge feedback, I was given the most rude and argumentative manager ever, he was not interested in listening to my feedback only to argue why the bank was in the right.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers
Jonno

JonnoPerth, WA

  • Verified customer

Adequate card and features but some hidden downsides

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
J C

J CMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

Average value - watch out for international fees

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Adrian D.

Adrian D.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible application process, improvements could be made every step of the way

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Wise Shopper

Wise ShopperPerth, WA

Good credit card and rewards can be better

published

I got this credit card with no annual fee and use it for my all my daily expense except when there's a surcharge applied. I don't use it overseas as there's a high transaction fee. The rewards point is no longer redeemable for fee paid on government and council services which is a shame. I got free priority pass and travel insurance which I claimed before with no issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Carefulshopper

CarefulshopperSouthwest, VIC

Good everyday credit card with only one flaw

published

I have been a long time credit card customer of Citibank and they upgraded me to Citibank Rewards Signature two years ago. They also offered to make it a fee free card due to my loyalty which was nice. I find this very easy to use and have had no problems. They have a 1800 number to contact them and staff are always very friendly on phone. Rewards points are easy to accumulate and redeem for lots of different items. Also get 2 Priority Passes each year and international travel insurance (which I have had to claim on before.) The only issue I find with the card is purchases made online have steep international conversion fees, so I avoid using it whenever possible for this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Feliana

FelianaPerth

  • 6 reviews

Good card and great rewards program

published

I haven't used the card overseas but have tried balance transfer before. It is really easy to set up the balance transfer. With this card, I also got free Priority Pass membership that gives me access to two lounges every year. I use this card mainly to accumulate points to transfer it to Kris Flyer / Velocity. I signed up to this card when they have promotion for a free annual fee for life couple years ago. Best card ever, I will keep using this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
KnowYourRights

KnowYourRightsCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 20 reviews

Good everyday card

published

I use this card daily. It gives quite good rewards with cash back and products. But what I like best is that the Citbank team treat me like a person. I failed to make a payment due to a bank account mix up. They contacted me quickly and then waived the fees as soon as they knew the payment was on its way. The linked Diners Club card has limited acceptance in Australia but is a bonus for overseas use as it gives double reward points at no ongoing cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJanuary 2004
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Simon C

Simon CPerth

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Great rewards program and many other benefits

published

I signed up for Citibank Platinum during a promotion period where there are no annual fees for the life of the card. Platinum then evolved into the Signature card with the added benefit of 2 free Priority Pass lounge visits per year. The card has many benefits such as loyalty points, product warranty, and travel insurance. Customer service is good. I highly recommend it. Only problem is the hefty forex fees it charges.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Alice P

Alice PGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

My main card, holiday travel insurance, QF points, No annual fee after 2 years

published

I have held the Signature rewards cards for over 12 years, I don't pay the $395 annual fee since year 2, if you always paid your card on time this is a great card. If you buy your air tickets on this, you get travel insurance for free, I used it a couple of times while I was in Japan and was sick. very helpful. I also racked up lots of points (used to) until they half the points and its now $2 to 1 QF points, but thanks to this card I got 9 return trip overseas for it. The customer services is 10/10. The card used to be blue and has silver words punched into it and always rubbed off, since becoming the new style and the numbers are printed on the back its so much better

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2001
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Karen louise Hinds

Karen louise HindsMidway Point Tas 7171

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

The only credit card I've ever had

published

I have only ever had one credit card and that's with Citibank. 1 year after joining, their shop front dissappeared from Hobart. I managed to work my way up to platinum. Strangely, it dropped back to a signature/pay wave visa!. Without any reasoning. A rewards card, which has dropped its points allocation. Quickly, to add charges for public holiday transfer pymts.

In all honesty, its easier to stay with them than make the change. They are pretty much the same when it comes too on payments.

The overseas call centre has never been able to explaine why I dropped from platinum to signature??????

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2003
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


happydays!

happydays!Sydney

  • 3 reviews

Hopeless and dont know how to run a ledger of your balance !

published

Prospect11

Prospect11Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Citibank Rewards Travel Card Pre-existing health conditions

published

Used this card to purchase overseas holiday and then made application for pre-existing health condition cover. They do over the phone assessment and then give you answer in 60 seconds. If you have anything mildly serious you will probably be rejected by this process. Other credit card services do more thorough assessment and more likely to offer cover. If you want to use a card for travel insurance and have a pre-existing condition, probably best to stay away from the Citibank cards

  • Verified customer

Quantas Points SCAM

published

The overseas transaction fee killed this card

published

I used this card for many years and i used to like it till the recent changes of charging transaction fee for payment processed overseas even it is in AUD.

For the transaction in other currency, I can understand and i can avoid by using fee free credit card. But a lot of the AU online shopping sites, you won't know that attach a overseas transaction fee till you see a surprised charge in the statement.

Citibank credit card used to be my default credit card for all transaction. But will not be anymore.


Darron33

Darron33Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

New Fee Grab on transactions made in Australian dollars where merchant/institution is overseas

published

ESE

ESEBallina

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Terrible experience. Stay away

published

jovan knezevic

jovan knezevicsydney

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified customer

Citi Prepaid Gift Card

published

Peter

PeterSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Editting my review from 5 stars to 1 after Citibank have overhauled the rewards scheme

published

This used to be one of the few Visa or MasterCards that gives you 1 Qantas point for 1 dollar spent. Now it's capped at 1 point per dollar only to the first $3,000 per statement and then drops sharply to half a point. Jetstar MasterCard or Qantas Credit Union Visa are they better cards now.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jan G.

Jan G.asked

Is there a maximum age limit for Signature Rewards Visa credit card complimentary travel insurance? I am 73 and my husband is 76.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Citibank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.