??!
4 photos
Cloud Nine Original Iron

Cloud Nine Original Iron

3.6 from 273 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

9 reviews
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (9)
  • Hair Length Medium · Long (9) · Short
  • Hair Style Wavy (6) · Curly (2) · Straight (1)
  • Straightening Time 18.125 minutes (8)
  • Hair Care
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next
  • Verified purchase

Must Have! LOVE IT

published

Ghd had faulty chords and the plates wear out fast, I been ghd user since it come out then they sold the company and the quality of ghd wasn't the same. After using the cloud nine I'll never turn back. I have real curly hair which takes a long time to straighten my hair, I found with the cloud none it didn't take very long, use to take an hour now only takes 20mins and my hair doesn't looked dryer out and damaged after use of cloud nine would definitely recommend if you have afro or curly hair.

Purchased in July 2020 at Adore Beauty for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes
tattie11

tattie11Perth

  • 19 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not as good as the OG Ghd

published

My old ghd carked it after about 12 years so I needed to get a new one and was tossing up between new ghd, silver bullet and cloud 9. I did some research and was advised that ghd is now owned by a new company and not as good quality as the old. Was told silverbullet is good but cloud9 is the best and is owned by the original GHD owners. Also the cloud9 was the most expensive out of the 3 i was tossing up between Unfortunately I am not really impressed with it, doesn't seem as hot even on the hottest setting and feels kind of like cheap quality. I do wish I got the silver bullet instead . Also the cloud9 warranty is only 12 months in comparison to the silver bullet 2 years and ghd up to 3 years depending on which model

Purchased in June 2020 for A$259.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 10 minutes
mirna

mirnaSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfection!

published

Absolutely in love with this straightener! It heats up quickly and makes straightening my hair so easy. I find that my hair is softer when I use this straightener as opposed to some of the other ones that I own.

It's also really easy to curl your hair with. The plates are really high quality and gentle on your hair. Had this for a few years now and it's still as good as when I got it. Great value and it is definitely worth the price. Everyone that I've recommended this to loves it as much as I do.

Purchased in January 2017 at eBay for A$142.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 45 minutes
Hair Straighteners

Find out how Cloud Nine Original Iron compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marnee

MarneeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolute Dream

published

10/10 would recommend. I'm useless at curling my hair with a straightener, but the cloud 9 is a dream with the tilting plates. Easy temp setting. Good size. I've had it for nearly a year and love it more everytime I use it. Will never go back.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for A$330.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
Monica6753

Monica6753Pilbara, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

It's great

published

I love how high or low I can set the heat, and it straighten very well better than my ghd, and it's faster too, I always use heat protectant spray on my hair before I use it, and it heats up fast

Purchased at eBay for A$334.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
Jasmine

JasmineMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Purchase 8 years still using!

published

My mum purchased these for me for my 21st birthday as a present, i am now 29 and i am still using these same hair straighteners, i was previously using ghd's but i find there so faulty at the chord that connects to the straighter i gave up on this brand, i am so glad i did the switch. will always recommend this brand to anyone who is looking for a long term reliable straighter that does the same as a ghd !

Purchased in November 2012 for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
Sophie

SophiePerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

The perfect straightener

published

Love this device! Use it for any hairstyle and I know I can get my hair looking amazing within minutes. I love the feature of choosing the heat so you won’t heat damage hair unnecessarily

Purchased in September 2017 at Oz Hair & Beauty for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
Joe

JoeCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best. Straightener. Ever.

published

The speed of this straightener is amazing. Not only does it heat up super quickly, but straightener hair takes two seconds. I am a hairdresser and I would use our Cloud Nine Iron 10 times a day at least, and I would not ever choose anything else!

Purchased in March 2016 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alicia.M.

Alicia.M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

6 weeks old - BURNT OUT

published

6 weeks old and $330 waste of money. It made a crackling noise and heated down the straightener and burnt my hand. Turned it off waited to cool and turned it back on, seconds later it crackles and a fair amount of smoke comes out of it. Old Ghd still problem free after approx 7yrs, thought I was upgrading- how wrong I was.
UPDATE* Hair care Australia happily swapped it over for a new one and were lovely to deal with. I'm still unsure if this was the best purchase...

Purchased in January 2019 at Dose the hair company for A$330.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 25 minutes
Hair Straighteners

Find out how Cloud Nine Original Iron compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Cloud Nine Original Iron reviews

Questions & Answers

Shonz

Shonzasked

No response from Cloud 9 Customer service, except receipt of my enquiry, as below:
Subject: Not getting a good result
Hello! I purchased your wide iron through ry.com.au, after glowing recommendations from two hair dressers and reading reviews online. I have wavy red hair that is quite thick, which I condition well and use a heat protector, I normally blow dry my hair straight with a round pig bristle brush (and Parlux dryer) and then smooth/lightly straighten with a hair straighter for a soft/glossy finish, sometimes when I want a completely straight look I take more time to do so. I have been using a Vidal Sasoon straightener with ceramic plates on 180 degrees for a long time. I was excited to receive your straightener but I am having trouble achieving the result I want/had previously with my old straightner and need advice. I have not changed anything with my product routine but I am finding the new wide iron is making my hair appear stiff and dull rather than smoothed/straightened on 150 degrees, any higher a setting I find my hair smells a little 'toasty' - that slightly too hot smell. The iron heats up very quickly and glides through my hair beautifully and I love that it is so light to handle. I am wondering if there is something wrong with the iron or if I am doing something incorrect or if I should have perhaps bought the normal width iron for my hair? My first ever iron was a wide model and I had no problems with results. I have gone back to my old straightening iron until I can figure out what the problem is. I look forward to your response

No answers
Gemma

Gemmaasked

Where can I get my cloud 9 hair straightener fixed? An alarm is going off and I think I saw sparks going off inside it

No answers
Nina L.

Nina L.asked

Whats the average lifespan of the C9m My ghd lasted me 8 years. looking for a replacement

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.