??!
2 photos
CLR All Purpose Cleaner

CLR All Purpose Cleaner

1.8 from 70 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.8

70 reviews
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(52)
Previous
Next

Worked like a charm

published

Drained water out of the toilet bowl, applied CLR neat left to soak then used the toilet brush. Cleaned most of the rust build up 1st time, a couple more times on the bad bits.
Worked well.

Purchased in May 2020 at Mitre 10.

Doesn't work like it says.

published

I went out and bought this today for our shower let the clr sit for 15 minutes and it didn't remove like it said. Even after scrubbing with brush. Never will buy again.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$4.84.

Jane B.

Jane B.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Total Crap

published

I followed the instructions on the pack, copied the YouTube video and didn’t do a single thing to my very mild toilet rust. Total waste of time and money. Absolute crap

Purchased in May 2020 at Woolworths for A$13.80.

All Purpose Cleaners

Find out how CLR All Purpose Cleaner compares to other All Purpose Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaun

ShaunSouth East Queensland, QLD

Snake Oil

published

CLR is a Terrible misleading product. Nothing but snake oil.... If you are looking for something to clean water scale build up, Look for any cleaning product with Citric Acid in it. Eg, Bar Keepers Friend. Works well, found it in Woolies or Strike bathroom cleaner.

Purchased in January 2020.

Trish

TrishMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

didnt work

published

I had previously removed about half of the lime and calcium buildup in my toilet bowl with other methods and hard scrubbing. So I thought about CLR. Used it today on the remaining buildup followed the instructions, scrubbed and scrubbed. But I can see NO difference. Very disappointed.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$14.00.

Gedg

GedgSouth East Queensland, QLD

With so many bad reviews, why is this company still in business , all negative reviews are true

published

Tried it just like the TV commercial, but would love to know what products in the commercial they used because it was definitely not the one they advertised it’s a total scam

Purchased in January 2011.

Pippa

PippaPerth, WA

False advertising!!! CLR does not work!!! No stars preferred.

published

CLR doesn't work on anything it states.
False advertising
Waste of time and money.
What rubbish!
I have tried CLR a few times trying to con once myself that it worked as it says on the TV Advert and I have been disgruntled every time!!

K T.

K T.

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Led to believe it was benign, but ...

published

My whole life, I thought CLR was a benign, food-safe product ... well, today I used it to soak my shower-head, and the whole house smells like 'chemical', a very potent, upsetting smell. If I could go back in time, I would instead use an orange-oil based product - something that can strip paint but leave your family safe and your home smelling like oranges ... I think it is a horrible product and very misleading in its advertising ...

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths for A$15.00.

Miller O.

Miller O.North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

sue them for false advertising this is so illegal come on people what are you thinking

published

you liers CLR dosent work the mold stays and the add looks so false dont wast your time bying CLR peace of crap take the add of tv and put add on that says
CLR dosent work the mold dosent go and we are selling you products that dont work thats what i would like to se on tv today

Purchased in July 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for A$1.40.

All Purpose Cleaners

Find out how CLR All Purpose Cleaner compares to other All Purpose Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Claudine

ClaudineFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

I have bore water and there are yellow stains in the hand basin and toilet, the shower glass looks dirty when it isn't, I thought this product was going to do what it claims to do, I used it undiluted, it did absolutely nothing.

Purchased in June 2019 at Woolworths for A$13.40.

anuj

anujNorth Western Region, NSW

CLR - Not Clear on it's Advertising

published

I tried to CLR my urn which has hard water stain in it. It Did Not do anything. Whole lot of CRAP. I had left the stain remover overnight. Not worth it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for A$25.00.

Gordon Bombay

Gordon BombayAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

False marketing, product does nothing

published

CLR claims to remove rust and mould from stainless steel. I tried this on several bathroom and laundry taps and it did absolutely nothing at all - CLR are a bunch of liars and crooks.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$19.00.

Lee

LeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic for cleaning the shower

published

I hate this job but tried CLR for the first time on the shower (have used it for years for other stuff) and it did a great job, the tiles and glass were squeaky clean afterwards.

Purchased in November 2017.

FJil

FJilMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The best all in one cleaning product

published

My bathrooms, kitchen oven,stove top,bbq grill, all rustic gardening tools bathroom steel fittings & sinks .Everything is sparkling new with this CLR. I’m so happy to try this after watching a tv ad.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$18.40.

R. Thomas

R. ThomasSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rubbish

published

It doesn't work anymore its so watered down It's useless won't even clean shower glass it has foul smell witch nearly knocks you out paid good money for rubbish never again

Purchased in February 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

All Purpose Cleaners

Find out how CLR All Purpose Cleaner compares to other All Purpose Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dmitri

DmitriAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does what it says

published

Bought CLR for the first time ever when I moved to an apartment in Parkside SA.
HARD water!! Calcium deposits on sink, shower screen, bathroom floor - rock hard, not cleanable. Added CLR, almost undiluted. Left a few minutes. Deposits wiped away!
For stubborn deposits: Dampen sponge with water first, then use undiluted. Keep wet. Rub a bit. Repeat if necessary.
Note: I only give CLR 3 stars because I used it in my metal electric kettle, and it still smells!
After thorough hot rinsing, several jug-fulls of boiling water, and leaving to air a few days.
It did take some rust off (still had to wipe) but absolutely NOT WORTH IT!
Use it in the bathroom only, and learn to live with the stains and deposits in your appliances!!

More of a pesticide than a cleaning product

published

I used it to once to clean kitchen and tiles, but did not work as the ad said it would. This product has a foul smell too much to take that you would want to go outside for few minutes as it’s too toxic to inhale, far worse than bleach smell. Although when I couldn’t find my bug spray I reached for it and sprayed on the cockroach dead on the spot!

Shower head OFF.

published

. I put .5 litres of CLR in a bowl. I took the calcim-clogged shower head off and placed it in the bowl of CLR for 30 minutes. There was NO change in the calcium build up on the shower head. CLR IS A RIP-OFF.

Jodie

Jodiesydney

Junk

published

Doesn't work. I bought this to clean the hard water stains in my new rental property. Looks exactly the same as it did before I began cleaning. Save your money (and save yourself from a headache....the chemical smell is unpleasant)

Ban it

Ban itBrisbane

Literally does not work and never has

published

I first used this product way back when they advertised it as CLR CLEAR. It didn't work back then and doesn't work now as evidenced by the many terrible reviews here and elsewhere.

I only came here to write this review because I noticed they're advertising it on TV again. Not only does it not work as shown on the advertisements, it actually does very little to nothing at all.

Should be banned.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

George T.

George T.asked

Clean shower screen spray on how much

1 answer
Gedg
Gedg

$12 from bunnings but don’t waste you money

Lisa P.

Lisa P.asked

I have plastic blinds that have hard water stains and a bit of rust on them wondering if it’s safe to use on them

No answers
debbie

debbieasked

is CLR safe to use as an everday floor cleaner(tiles) if I rinsed with fresh water mop after ??

1 answer
Dmitri
Dmitri

Unless you have mineral deposits from hard water on your floor, there would be no good reason to use CLR like that. You might get away with it, or it might leave marks. Other products would work better, and cheaper.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.