??!
1 photo
Coleman Event 14 with Sunwall

Coleman Event 14 with Sunwall

2.8 from 37 reviews

Reviews

2.8

37 reviews
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(10)
1
(12)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (6)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next

Chinese junk

published

Had up for 4 weeks during lockdown for fitness training outside starting to perish and rip brand new was brought as a present for me so cant get guarantee. Very disappointed for coleman brand. Do not buy shouldn't be allowed on the market its thievery

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Absolute rubbish

published

Used for 1 week on holiday put away and stored in cupboard,put up again12 months later ripped with out any effort ,you can poke you finger through it.
Absolute rip off

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Mark H.

Mark H.Launceston, TAS

Fantastic product lasted 7 years

published

We found this a great product. Used for approx 7 Years at the beach. Only just ripped now. We put guy ropes on all corners for extra wind stability. Great product and about to buy a new one. Prob go the delux

Purchased in January 2012 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Outdoor Furniture Products

Find out how Coleman Event 14 with Sunwall compares to other Outdoor Furniture Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MelsBels

MelsBels

  • 2 reviews

Easy to put up but doesn't last!

published

We have had 3 of these now as they are normally priced well over summer but every one has last 2 at best 3 camping trips and that's it. They seem like they should hold up to a decent breeze but they don't. Ours is used for max 2 weeks per year for our annual camping trip and they just blow to bits. The seems start to rip in the second year and by the end of the third they go straight in the bin. They are super easy to put up (and take down when the wind gets up) but just aren't designed for NZ sun and conditions.

Purchased for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Good design but the fly is weak.

published

Relatively easy to assemble. Work well when up. However we have owned two of them and both flys have gone brittle and torn after very little use. Poor quality. Won't buy a third!

Purchased in November 2017 at Anaconda for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
John K.

John K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Coleman Deluxe Event 14

published

After a week of camping,some of the poles were to hard to seperate.Once I did,the chain and elastic separated from one side of pole.Pegs were way to weak and bent.Coleman doesn’t offer warranty on the poles.I contacted tent world and the lady said that was first time she’d heard of the poles being like that.I find that hard to believe.I won’t be buying that product again.I used it twice.

Purchased in December 2018 at Tentworld Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Christine

ChristineNelson

Easy ripping

published

Ripped 3rd day up. It has 3 different patches on it now. Can't handle a little bit of a breeze. Tears at the velcro then down the seam. The poles are good just the velcro and cheap cover. Have to take it down as soon as a breeze comes up or it will RIP somewhere else. Sad state of affairs Expected more for the price. Was purchased for a shelter for the kids tent and table in back yard. Not buy again.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
pepdebollox

pepdebolloxGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish

published

I bought on of these last year and it ripped after a few uses , took it back to anaconda who gave me another one. Put the second one up this year several times and again it has ripped. Absolute rubbish

Date PurchasedDec 2017
p1gst1

p1gst1

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Total piece of...

published

On its first use it collapsed from a wind gust. Broken poles pierced the fabric and its now useless. Returned to Anaconda who had Coleman assess and it apparently poles are not a warranty item...

$150 down the drain.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Outdoor Furniture Products

Find out how Coleman Event 14 with Sunwall compares to other Outdoor Furniture Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don’t buy it

published

Poles jammed together and one broke on first use.
Tarp cover barely stretches over poles so is too tight.
Tent pegs bent on first use as they are so thin.
Instructions are virtually non existent.
Takes several adults to put up

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Entruchio

EntruchioAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Poor quality.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
FuzzyWookie

FuzzyWookieTownsville

  • 4 reviews

Excellent shade

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Whareupoko

Whareupoko

  • 2 reviews

Good shelter

published

Top item that was used on 43 occasions (days) and the material has finally given out (last week). The frame is in excellent condition and if available we will seek out a replacement cover although I am aware that the cost of a new dome now is a lot less than the original cost.

Date PurchasedJan 2006

Good bad and costly

published

I have purchased 2 of these shelters in the last 2 years and placed them over the pool so the family can swim throughout the day. The only problem is that they have only lasted 2/3 months as they have torn near the velcro tie downs on each occasion. The product idea is great but the quality of the shade is very poor. $200 for 2/3months - not very good. Improve the quality Coleman and I will try it again.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Very disappointed

published

Only just got around to putting this up. Left over pool for one week in no winds and whole canopy disintegrating and torn. Expected better from a Coleman product. Understand it's for occasional use but seven days in total in eleven month period is occasional.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Outdoor Furniture Products

Find out how Coleman Event 14 with Sunwall compares to other Outdoor Furniture Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wonderful Product recommend to anyone

published

We have had our event 14 for at least seven years and love it. It is common sense not to have the skin on in very windy weather. Thanks Coleman

Date PurchasedApr 2010
Steve

SteveNewcastle

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great!

published

I bought one of these a few years ago and have used it many times since. Its great and a very good shape for a shelter - we've had ours up in a number of storms and its stood up well (I do peg mine down pretty well). I find its easy to set up too (as long as you follow the instruction and use the measure thingy that comes in the bag). I'm not a fan of the side panels, but friends who we camp with regularly use them on 3 sides and they like them.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Youssef

Youssef

  • 6 reviews

Good Shelter. Make sure you don't use original ropes.

published

I have been using the Event 14 for all around living in my holiday land. I ended up buying another one. Now I have two. Unfortunately the ropes that hold the gazebo down do not handle sun conditions very well. All of them bro in the list wind we had and the gazebo got completely damaged. I tested the ropes, sure enough they are all disintegrated in my hand. I hope I will be able to get canopy replacement cheap. :-(

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Macca

MaccaIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Worst product ive ever wasted my money on.

published

Thought being Coleman it would be a quality product.WRONG! Used for a total of about 4 weeks and it literally fell apart. Cheap ,cheap chinese junk. Last Coleman product I will ever buy.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

We liked it so much we bought two for our Car Club

published

We have now purchased 3 Coleman Event 14 Deluxe, first time setting up took around 30 mins following their instructions, after that I can now do it on my own in around 10 to 15 minutes, and dismantle it just as quick, love how compact it is when packed away, and when set up so much more shade that other square type gazebos and yes we still have two of these too, we liked it so much we convinced our local car club to buy a couple of them, last event we have 40 people under the two, was terrific, many great comments from the members, even cooler than the other square type Gazebos too. For the $269.00 we paid they are cheap enough, after a couple of years of use if ours finally breaks, we would buy another.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
61Caddie
61Caddie
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Donna

Donnaasked

Can anyone tell me where I get an event 14 insert so that I can join two gazebos together? Thanks Donna

1 answer

Hi did you get answer on this?

rrobyn

rrobynasked

I have an event 14 and I love it. Not had any problems until last weekend camping under trees and I think a sharp twig or branch from above pierced the canopy. Not happy Jan, I can tell you. Does anyone know if you can patch them and if so what is the best thing to use.? Or how much does a replacement canopy cost? Cheers Robyn

1 answer
Ej
Ej

Nor Coleman or BCF would confirm a replacement cost you can purchase a sail amount of Sail Tape from either yacht supplies or wind surfing kite surfing repair businesses But Robyn it sounds to me your cover is on its way out so don't spend to much and you are up against the same problem as all of us , the replacement cover is exactly the same , you would think Coleman would cop it on the chin and admit they era and supply proper uv protected covers but no they continue to deceive the public

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.