1 photo
Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.8 from 176 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Coles Insurance

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.6 (46)
  • Customer Service
    2.5 (47)
  • Timeliness
    2.9 (27)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.9 (18)
  • Transparency
    2.6 (36)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (8)
    • 1-2 weeks (6)
    • 2-4 weeks (6)
    • 1-2 months (10)
    • 3+ months (12)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (50) · No
Previous
Next
Antino
AntinoSydney, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

5 weeks on and still no car from repairer

published

car had needed a new front bumper ,excusses galore now 4 weeks still not started and Coles do nothing but get accesors to call me and lie about it, no support from coles just words and going round in circles ,you can`t get onto the repairers no one calls ,so stressed out ,we caught them out with 3 of their lies and still it goes on ,been with coles for 8 years and this is what me ,my family and our friends who are mortified get ,,so Mr nicolas hawkins CEO of coles ins short of going onto A currant Affair in Sydney and doing a report on the repairer and the lac of support from coles what would you do ,just read the one star ratings on all platforms about coles ,i`ve learn`t my lesson

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Ranger Raptor
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Antino
Antino
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

We're sorry for any inconvenience and frustration caused, Antino.

Clark Lee
Clark LeeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Stay away from this company.

published

Car was stolen. 6 weeks later I get my payout. The only reason I got it was threatening to take them to the insurance ombudsman. Worst insurance company EVER. Will never use them again and will tell everyone I know that they are awful.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mark A
Mark ASydney
  • 6 reviews

Got to give Coles the thumbs up.

published

We has a not at fault accident. From the word go, customer service was excellent - the call centre was very helpful, the loss assessor was fair and the person who did the settlement (Dianne) was great. The online claim management system was good for tracking the claim. Would insure with Coles again based on this experience.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Mark, thanks for your feedback and we're sorry for the delay in our reply. We're delighted to hear your thoughts about your experience when making a claim and we'll ensure to share your comments with our teams so they're made aware. Thanks again!

Car Insurance

Find out how Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheryl. T
Sheryl. TGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 6 likes

Have been most courteous and prompt insurance i have dealt with.

published

I have unfortunately had to make a claim after an at fault accident. I struggled a little with the online claim process so called and was helped by a wonderful lady. I went to the preferred repairer which happens to be the one i had to take my vehicle to when i was with RACV and had a claim where i wasnt at fault. Lovely repairer. I had further questions and called online, spoke to jamie and he made me feel very comfortable and assisted me instantly.
You see how good they are when you need them, couldnt be happier.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
MJO64
MJO64Murray Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Been with them for years claimed once

published

This driver ran into the back of me at traffic lights, it was so easy to make a claim over the phone. It took around about 10 minutes and my car was booked in for repair the following week. Could not be happier with Coles insurance and the operator was very pleasant to deal with

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Forester
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted to hear your feedback and we'll ensure to share your comments with our teams for their awareness and to recognise their wider teams for their efforts. Thanks again!

Related Articles

Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next

Awesome!! Insurance

published

Awesome!! Insurance ...Ididn't sign up with coles insurance before because of some bad revews I saw online....biggest mistake Ive ever made ..This is the Best car insurance so far !! Quick response when I had an accident. I fill the form online they response within 24 hrs all sorted after that..Amazing and very cheap compare to other insurances.I also get more points because I also shop at coles...thanks heaps Coles

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Elantra AD Elite
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Viliami, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear of your experience and we'll ensure to share your review with our teams so they're made aware and to recognise the team for their efforts. Thanks again. :)

hako
hakoDarling Downs, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cannot fault.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Territory SY
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Hako, thanks for getting in touch. We're delighted to hear your feedback about your experience and we'll ensure to share your feedback with our teams so they're made aware and to recognise the team for their hard work and efforts. Thanks again!

Nadine
NadineSouth East Queensland, QLD

It all went surprisingly well?!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Kluger 2WD Petrol GX
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mark Reese
Mark Reese
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

The Bad Reviews are piling up!

published

After a stressful encounter with a person who had broken into my car and was trying to get it started it while I was waiting for the police, I was feeling much better after lodging a claim and spoke to a helpful consultant on the phone who assured me as it wasn't my fault and the offender was in custody so I wouldn't be liable to pay the excess amount. The next day I received a phone call and a person 'advised' me to try and retrieve the money from the offender through small claims court. Now my car is kept hostage at the repairers unless I pay the excess. I have emailed requesting answers without response. Appalling situation which now will need to reported to ASIC

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Car Insurance

Find out how Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Can’t wait to never have to deal with this company again.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Home hunting
Home huntingAdelaide
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

My personal experience

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda CR-V RD1
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate your kind feedback detailing your experiences when making your recent claims. We'll ensure your comments are shared with our Car Insurance Team so they're made aware. Thanks again!

Michael F.
Michael F.Sydney, NSW

Quick efficient service

published

Changing my card for premium payment and easy to gain deferring payment of premium. Their repair service and claim procedure was quick and efficient accompanied with advice support! They recognize your loyalty!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda Tribute
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2015
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and we'll be sure to pass this along to our Car Insurance Team so they're made aware. Thanks again!

Celeste
CelesteCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nothing but good service

published

When I signed up with coles insurance, I was unaware of their bad reputation. I still don't understand why they have such a bad reputation. I have had two claims through coles within the last year and a bit, one was a parking accident (entirely my fault, ran into a pole) and the other was a huge hail storm that came through. Both experiences were incredibly easy, and coles were nothing but helpful the whole time. I am certainly looking at using them again for my new car. :)

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Barina TM (Hatchback) CD
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Celeste, thanks for getting in touch. We're so glad to hear you're a fan! We'll be sure to pass your feedback along to the relevant teams so they're aware :)

Hamid B.
Hamid B.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Claim time is working hours only

published

My first and last experience with coles. From the With bit of headaches but finally they wrapped it up and got it finalized. Except the claim time which is only on working days. It means if you have an accident on Friday night you need to wait till Monday morning and find a towing company to take your car and then they compensate

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelAudi A5 8T
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance
Hamid B.
Hamid B.

Well I just need a clear reply and resolution. Ive returned my replacement car and haven't received a reply from coles yet.

Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Thanks for getting for responding, Hamid. We'd recommend reaching out to our Claims Team on 1300 265 374 as they'd be best placed to check your policy and follow this up for you.

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Carmen
CarmenSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great

published

They have been great with two accidents we had. We were not at fault , they went to lengths to help us from the time we called them to the time we got home. Best customer service when you call them .

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelRenault Captur J87
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Carmen, thanks for your feedback. We're happy to hear you're a fan of our services and customer service received. We'll ensure to share your comments on to our Insurance and Claims Teams so they're made aware.

Car Insurance

Find out how Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Coles Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter debrincat
Peter debrincatasked
Comprehensive Car Insurance

I need to no if I paid my car insurance last year

1 answer
Coles Insurance
Coles I.Coles Insurance

Hi Peter, thanks for taking the time to get in touch and we're sorry for the delay in our response. Regretfully, we don't have access to our customers accounts via this platform and we recommend giving us a call on 1300 265 374, and our Customer Support Team will be happy to assist you further.

Corn Holio
Corn Holioasked
Comprehensive Car Insurance

Why do you have the worst reviews of any insurer?

2 answers
Grant A.
Grant A.

Because you pay your premium and when you need to claim and expect to be covered, Coles Insurance actively finds a way to avoid paying and walks away from you in your time of need.

Corn Holio
Corn Holio

But let’s hear it from Coles. Funny how all the positive reviews are from people who have never claimed. I fail to understand the logic of providing a review on an insurer unless you’ve made a claim.

See all Coles Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and Coles Insurance representatives

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 Coles Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and Landlord
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterInsurance Australia Limited
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Included
Choice of RepairerNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included up to $50 per day for up to 14 days

Emergency Transport & AccommodationUp to $100 per day or $500 in total
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to $50 per day for up to 14 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $50 per day for up to 14 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 2 years from original registration

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Included up to $3,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 3 Coles Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.