??!
1 photo
Coles Low Rate MasterCard

Coles Low Rate MasterCard

1.6 from 542 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Low $58 Annual Fee

  • Low 12.99% p.a. Interest Rate on purchases

Cons

  • flybuy Points can only be earned at Coles Supermarkets at a rate of 0.5 flybuy points per $1

  • 2.5% International Transaction Fee

Details

With a low annual fee of $58 and an interest rate of only 12.99%, this Coles credit card is a popular everyday card for people looking to earn flybuys points on a Coles shop, which can also be transferred to Velocity Frequent Flyer points.

What makes this a rewards card?

  • If you're a member of the Coles flybuys loyalty program, you will earn 1 point for every $2 you spend at Coles Supermarkets (make sure your Coles Mastercard is linked to your flybuys membership).
  • Have a Velocity Frequent Flyer account? Transfer flybuys points in multiples of 2,000 flybuys points for 870 Velocity points, up to a maximum of 138,000 flybuys points (60,030 Velocity Frequent Flyer points) each calendar year.

Any current offers or perks?

  • Enjoy 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months (reverts to cash advance rate) plus no balance transfer fee when you apply for a Coles Low Rate Mastercard by 31 Janurary 2021.
  • Collect flybuys points when doing your everyday grocery run and get $10 off your Coles supermarket shop instantly at the checkout when you redeem 2,000 flybuys points.

What to watch out for?

  • If you frequently buy online from overseas retailers or are looking to go travelling, be wary of the 2.5% international transaction fee.
  • Each time you make a payment to your account at Australia Post outlets by cash, cheque or EFTPOS, you'll have to pay a $2.25 over-the-counter transaction fee.
  • Earning points for your flybuys account is only possible when you shop at Coles supermarkets

What are my other options if I want a Coles Mastercard, but this one isn't for me?

CategoryLow Rate Credit Cards, Balance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercard
Minimum Credit Limit A$2,000
Maximum Credit Limit A$60,000
Minimum Income A$25,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee A$10 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards Programflybuys
Points Earn Rate 0.5 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • Earn 1 point per $2 spent at Coles Supermarkets
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate12.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3%
Late Payment FeeA$30
Annual FeeA$58 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 2.5%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$5
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate19.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 6 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateFeb 2012

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    3.5 (42)
  • Customer Service
    3.0 (45)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.6 (45)
  • Rewards
    3.6 (31)
  • Online Experience
    3.3 (42)
  • Application Process
    3.8 (44)
Previous
Next
Greg F.

Greg F.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unreliable

published

Account gets locked out for no reason and the card itself will be rejected for absolutely no reason, which is inconvenient when you're paying for dinner or standing at the counter trying to pay for your shopping, and you have to start fiddling around for another card to pay with. When I called Coles, they couldn't explain why the card was rejected, so I'll just wait for it to happen again and again. If you can't rely on it and have to carry a second card anyway, whats the point having this one?!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
gottalove

gottaloveSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 7 likes

Loved this card until...

published

I have had a Coles Mastercard for many years however since it has been taken over by Citibank I have been far from happy.
In fact I had been avoiding Citibank due to poor experiences previously.
Their website is horrible, their service is horrible.
As I write this I am about to close my account with them. There are no advantages having a Coles Mastercard just grief.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Topper M.

Topper M.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best part is saying goodbye

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen

Helensydney

  • 4 reviews

perfect

published

I have been using coles credit cars for years now. perfect for our family, I have chosen the no annual fee card with paying the full amount owing every month. also, get a reward point for using the card, every dollar spent you got 0.5 points. meaning monthly you spent 3000 dollars, you will get 1500 points, over a year you got more than 100 dollars for just using the card. love this card. recommend to everyone

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
3lions

3lionsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Account sent to hardship for 36 dollars overdrawn

published

I've had this card when it was originally distributed by Myer. I've never owed any money, I always pay the closing balance every month. Over Xmas I purchased things that had to be returned & took time to receive a credit. So purchase were still made, never declined. I receive a letter saying my account is in hardship for $36 overdrawn.
Staggered. Why wasn't a purchase declined if I'd gone over my $1000 limit. I am stunned, I've since paid over $500 plus the credits to come of $400. You'd think that purchases might be declined if it was close to going over.
Anyway over 30 years a customer, never in debt, never owed money & account in hardship for $36. Unbelievable

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
Ronnie

RonnieIllawarra, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Let Down

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
Ashley M.

Ashley M.Sydney, NSW

Would be zero if it was possible

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
AmanS007

AmanS007Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not low rate actually

published

Services are good combined with Cole's sign up offer is a big advantage. But interest rate is bit high could have been actually low as the name suggest. Good for daily shopping not ideal for international travel and payments.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
rok

rokSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

bad customer service

published

the card is ok, but i have had bad experiences with the customer service, usually i cant get through, and when i do my queries are not really answered, so thats why i have given it a bad review

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shan

ShanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Amazing

published

Using this card for my grocery shopping as i shop at Coles. Get rewards flybuys points and interest is low. Transfer of balance from old card was very easy to coles one.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Ang C.

Ang C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not great

published

Doesn't have much member benefit. I could use coles flybuys card with the benefit available on the card without paying annual membership fee. Customer service is not great, and there is no app to track your current spending. Not excited about the user experience at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter C.

Peter C.Sydney, NSW

Reasonable card

published

This card has a great rate which was the my reason I got it. The downside to the card is the customer support isn't as good as some of the competitors.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Bhuwan

BhuwanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Well bonus points make it worth having these card.

published

I have a very good experience with these card getting extra flybuys points makes having these card more valuable. I highly recommend everyone apply this coles mastercard. Thank you everyone

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Chris B.

Chris B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very happy with my Card

published

I have had this credit card for almost 3years, and the great interest rates and the fact that i get 55days interest free on purchases is so worth it. No Annual fee, and suits the purpose.
Sure you don't get any frequent flyer points, but i am okay with that. Never had any issues, and would highly recommend this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateDecember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases

Special Promotions

published

It's not bad. Always have some special promotions going for you. Easy to use & handy.
Also you can get points while you shop anywhere on coles. But card fee is similar to other banks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Its good 14 months interest free

published

The Card fees are similar to other banks
Its not easy to transfer money to the credit card
Rewards was ok and quite easy to accumulate points.
I didnt like the customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
lisa

lisaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews

Great fees and overall good amount needed

published

Great card used all over Australia and good fees handy when u need extra cash and not as xpen dive as a mother cred or cars would le be ok

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jignesh

JigneshGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Low rate high benefits card for average family

published

It is low rate and you get points and special offers to shop at coles and participated stores.
can also make monthly payment at coles supermarket, it will update balance instantly.
if you are looking for th balance transfer offers then probably this is the best one as time to time they have promotional rate and you get a giftcard or points too.

Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
JoelM

JoelMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good low cost effective tool!

published

I find this card to be low cost if pay before interest builds up. The account software is very user friendly and quick at transferring money to and from this account

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

brian

brianPerth, WA

Great card with no annual fee

published

I have had this card for more than 10 months and used it many times. Extra flybuys points per month is nice and this card is accepted everywhere. Have no issues with it so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
Page 1 of 3
See all Coles Low Rate MasterCard reviews

Questions & Answers

ebonnieforster

ebonnieforsterasked

How do I make payments on my card balance without setting up a direct debit for the due date?

No answers
June S.

June S.asked

How to cancel this card please

No answers
ian t.

ian t.asked

how do i cancel my direct debit authorities

1 answer

My account has either been locked and or closed. How do I get my statements and eNotices off them now? I need proof of closure and final statement to finalize a mortgage loan. So frustrated. I really don't want the hell of calling these people, it always is the worst experience.

Get an answer from our members and Coles representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.