??!
1 photo
Coles Low Rate MasterCard

Coles Low Rate MasterCard (page 2 of 3)

1.6 from 542 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Low $58 Annual Fee

  • Low 12.99% p.a. Interest Rate on purchases

Cons

  • flybuy Points can only be earned at Coles Supermarkets at a rate of 0.5 flybuy points per $1

  • 2.5% International Transaction Fee

Details

With a low annual fee of $58 and an interest rate of only 12.99%, this Coles credit card is a popular everyday card for people looking to earn flybuys points on a Coles shop, which can also be transferred to Velocity Frequent Flyer points.

What makes this a rewards card?

  • If you're a member of the Coles flybuys loyalty program, you will earn 1 point for every $2 you spend at Coles Supermarkets (make sure your Coles Mastercard is linked to your flybuys membership).
  • Have a Velocity Frequent Flyer account? Transfer flybuys points in multiples of 2,000 flybuys points for 870 Velocity points, up to a maximum of 138,000 flybuys points (60,030 Velocity Frequent Flyer points) each calendar year.

Any current offers or perks?

  • Enjoy 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months (reverts to cash advance rate) plus no balance transfer fee when you apply for a Coles Low Rate Mastercard by 31 Janurary 2021.
  • Collect flybuys points when doing your everyday grocery run and get $10 off your Coles supermarket shop instantly at the checkout when you redeem 2,000 flybuys points.

What to watch out for?

  • If you frequently buy online from overseas retailers or are looking to go travelling, be wary of the 2.5% international transaction fee.
  • Each time you make a payment to your account at Australia Post outlets by cash, cheque or EFTPOS, you'll have to pay a $2.25 over-the-counter transaction fee.
  • Earning points for your flybuys account is only possible when you shop at Coles supermarkets

What are my other options if I want a Coles Mastercard, but this one isn't for me?

CategoryLow Rate Credit Cards, Balance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercard
Minimum Credit Limit A$2,000
Maximum Credit Limit A$60,000
Minimum Income A$25,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee A$10 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards Programflybuys
Points Earn Rate 0.5 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • Earn 1 point per $2 spent at Coles Supermarkets
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate12.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3%
Late Payment FeeA$30
Annual FeeA$58 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 2.5%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$5
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate19.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 6 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateFeb 2012

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    3.7 (36)
  • Customer Service
    3.1 (39)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.7 (39)
  • Rewards
    3.7 (30)
  • Online Experience
    3.4 (36)
  • Application Process
    3.8 (40)
Previous
Next
Frank

FrankSydney, NSW

Reliable and easy to use.

published

Got the cards last year when I got my current job. It's easy to use and I haven't encounter any problem.There are lots of promos from time to time. I'm using it for almost all my purchase now to get more points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vaibhav

VaibhavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good credit card with rewards

published

1. Good and easy to use credit card.
2..Best part if you earn flybuys points which gets converted for discount eventually.
3. No hidden costs.
4. No need to carry flybuys card separate because it's printed on credit card it self

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
James

James

  • 6 reviews

Needs improvements

published

Took on the credit card as they were offering a good flybuys bonus points. Few months in and this has been proven to be a mistake. There were several instances of unauthorized transactions where my dispute took ages to be resolved. I would suggest to stay away from this product. The only attractive quality is the low annual fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ben P

Ben PSouth East Queensland, QLD

Simple Easy to Use Credit Card

published

This is just an easy card without all the unnecessary frills of other cards and you don't get charged any fee if you keep on top of your payments. Don't use FlyBuys so don't have it linked, but for a basic no fuss card this has been a perfect fit for me.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
R Surendran R.

R Surendran R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Much needed credit card

published

This is the best credit card. They is no charge for everytime we send the money to be debited as some charges around $1. Then the app works fantastic and everything can be done with a single touch.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cats are cute

Cats are cuteMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

No annual fee! Love it

published

Nice simple card with no fees if paid off each month. Site is user friendly and easy to navigate. Connected to my Fly Buys card and points accumulate very quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
C. Blair

C. BlairHunter Region, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

No compliants here

published

Have had a Coles Low Rate Fee Free MasterCard for at least a couple of years now. I use it for all purchases, pay it off every month so I don’t pay interest. Have linked it to my Flybuys account so I accumulate points with every purchase. There are no negatives for me. I haven’t had to contact the company with any queries so can’t rate the company on their actions when queried on something.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
LIONEL D.

LIONEL D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No extra rewards not a good card

published

I did not use the card overseas. Only used it domestically not a great card ver basic amd no rewards program just flybuys barcode was on the back. Don't recomend tgis card for people that would like rewards and extrs benifits.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Rakesh Anjlai

Rakesh AnjlaiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Good Free Card

published

Its a good card as long as you keeping on time. Only issue i found they don't send you any reminder about late payments. i guess that the catch where most of them make money

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eugene M.

Eugene M.South East Queensland, QLD

Not perfect, but....satisfied

published

Coles customer, 6+ years.
Positive:
1. no annual fee
2. Rewards, I have got free wonderful bakers oven.
3. Helpful responsive online staff. Have got my money back, fraud seller from China got nothing.
Negative:
1. Software... so poor

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateSeptember 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
karen55

karen55Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 35 reviews
  • 24 likes
  • Verified customer

Great Card....Love It!

published

This is a great little card. No annual fees, low interest rate. I don’t pay any interest as I pay my card off every month. Can attach it to your flybuys account and receive 1 point for every $2 spent anywhere. No ongoing fees, can speak to someone 24/7 if you have a problem. Often have promotions running with flybuys which new customers can receive $100 in renumeration. BPay is usually paid by next day if done before 6pm day before, even on weekends. You are notified of all payments, and large transactions which great. Have not used it overseas.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Terrible customer service and false advertising

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Michelle

MichelleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Apalling customer service attitudes

published

Advised change of address.
3 months later ordered new card.
Sent to old address.
Cancelled and reissued. They advised will send via express post. Advised 1 to 4 days delivery.
4 days later rang and asked for a tracking number to check with Australia Post. Advised they don't have this info.
Spoke with Account Manager who advised will track it and ring me the next day.
No phone call received.
Spoke to another Account Manager called Enzo said there's nothing further they can do.
Got the impression that he couldn't give a rats and wouldn't try to help. I was very insulted by the tone of voice and lack of care and understanding about my situation.
Has anyone else had issues with them?

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
Molly

MollySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Balance Transfer

published

Cheating customer sayings balance transfer. A transaction called “interest charge on retails” it is the interest on our balance transfers. This is the answer I got from the staff while I was questioning about it. So I ended up paying my balance transfer amount early. So customers please don’t go with coles credit card if you are looking for balance transfer.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Linda

Linda

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Pile on the flybuys points!

published

Love this card. The extra flybuys points per month make a huge difference when it comes to savings on my weekly Coles shop. Plus they can be converted to Velocity points. With the recent downgrading of AMEX rewards I find myself using this card almost exclusively. And no international transaction fees is an excellent feature.

Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
amandasm

amandasmGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Good card

published

I used this card to complete a few purchases I didn't have the money for. No annual fee was great. Had no issues with it. Also was able to link to flybuys

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
ravi y.

ravi y.

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good Card with no annual Fee

published

pretty good credit card with no annual fee and can be used everywhere, one of the great features of this card is no transaction fee on overseas purchases. easy to earn flybuys points everywhere you shop.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Compuwizard s.

Compuwizard s.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good credit card with no annual fee

published

I used coles low rate mastercard so many times overseas. I used in UK, Russia, US and India. There was no issue to cash withdrawl or use in restaurants or anywhere.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Helper

HelperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

Better

published

I applied this card and got 4000 approved the main draw back with card so far I seen is of you dont pay your monthly repayments you will lose your credit rating or will fall down they will record every missed payment on credit file which will make it hard for credit score to survive on good level
Team members have no annual fee
Best thing is connected to flybuys and will add points with every purchase
To my knowledge no hidden fees like go mastercard it's full of fees

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

sexysmash

sexysmashMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great card and excellent customer service

published

I have had my card for 9 months and have found on two occasions when I needed to call them, the call centre was helpful and honest. The wait time was a little longer than I expected but nonetheless this is a great card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
Page 2 of 3
See all Coles Low Rate MasterCard reviews

Questions & Answers

ebonnieforster

ebonnieforsterasked

How do I make payments on my card balance without setting up a direct debit for the due date?

No answers
June S.

June S.asked

How to cancel this card please

No answers
ian t.

ian t.asked

how do i cancel my direct debit authorities

1 answer

My account has either been locked and or closed. How do I get my statements and eNotices off them now? I need proof of closure and final statement to finalize a mortgage loan. So frustrated. I really don't want the hell of calling these people, it always is the worst experience.

Get an answer from our members and Coles representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.