??!
1 photo
Coles Low Rate MasterCard

Coles Low Rate MasterCard (page 2 of 28)

1.6 from 542 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Low $58 Annual Fee

  • Low 12.99% p.a. Interest Rate on purchases

Cons

  • flybuy Points can only be earned at Coles Supermarkets at a rate of 0.5 flybuy points per $1

  • 2.5% International Transaction Fee

Details

With a low annual fee of $58 and an interest rate of only 12.99%, this Coles credit card is a popular everyday card for people looking to earn flybuys points on a Coles shop, which can also be transferred to Velocity Frequent Flyer points.

What makes this a rewards card?

  • If you're a member of the Coles flybuys loyalty program, you will earn 1 point for every $2 you spend at Coles Supermarkets (make sure your Coles Mastercard is linked to your flybuys membership).
  • Have a Velocity Frequent Flyer account? Transfer flybuys points in multiples of 2,000 flybuys points for 870 Velocity points, up to a maximum of 138,000 flybuys points (60,030 Velocity Frequent Flyer points) each calendar year.

Any current offers or perks?

  • Enjoy 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months (reverts to cash advance rate) plus no balance transfer fee when you apply for a Coles Low Rate Mastercard by 31 Janurary 2021.
  • Collect flybuys points when doing your everyday grocery run and get $10 off your Coles supermarket shop instantly at the checkout when you redeem 2,000 flybuys points.

What to watch out for?

  • If you frequently buy online from overseas retailers or are looking to go travelling, be wary of the 2.5% international transaction fee.
  • Each time you make a payment to your account at Australia Post outlets by cash, cheque or EFTPOS, you'll have to pay a $2.25 over-the-counter transaction fee.
  • Earning points for your flybuys account is only possible when you shop at Coles supermarkets

What are my other options if I want a Coles Mastercard, but this one isn't for me?

CategoryLow Rate Credit Cards, Balance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercard
Minimum Credit Limit A$2,000
Maximum Credit Limit A$60,000
Minimum Income A$25,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee A$10 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards Programflybuys
Points Earn Rate 0.5 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • Earn 1 point per $2 spent at Coles Supermarkets
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate12.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3%
Late Payment FeeA$30
Annual FeeA$58 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 2.5%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$5
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate19.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 6 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateFeb 2012

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    3.1 (57)
  • Customer Service
    2.5 (63)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.2 (59)
  • Rewards
    3.3 (39)
  • Online Experience
    2.8 (57)
  • Application Process
    3.5 (54)
Previous
Next
Ang C.

Ang C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not great

published

Doesn't have much member benefit. I could use coles flybuys card with the benefit available on the card without paying annual membership fee. Customer service is not great, and there is no app to track your current spending. Not excited about the user experience at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter C.

Peter C.Sydney, NSW

Reasonable card

published

This card has a great rate which was the my reason I got it. The downside to the card is the customer support isn't as good as some of the competitors.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Bhuwan

BhuwanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Well bonus points make it worth having these card.

published

I have a very good experience with these card getting extra flybuys points makes having these card more valuable. I highly recommend everyone apply this coles mastercard. Thank you everyone

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris B.

Chris B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very happy with my Card

published

I have had this credit card for almost 3years, and the great interest rates and the fact that i get 55days interest free on purchases is so worth it. No Annual fee, and suits the purpose.
Sure you don't get any frequent flyer points, but i am okay with that. Never had any issues, and would highly recommend this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateDecember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Special Promotions

published

It's not bad. Always have some special promotions going for you. Easy to use & handy.
Also you can get points while you shop anywhere on coles. But card fee is similar to other banks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jim

JimPerth, WA

Low Rate

published

Low rate while using it overseas. Was able to get points and benefits if you shop at coles.

they will always have special promotion if you use this card. You get giftcards or points too.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Its good 14 months interest free

published

The Card fees are similar to other banks
Its not easy to transfer money to the credit card
Rewards was ok and quite easy to accumulate points.
I didnt like the customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
lisa

lisaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews

Great fees and overall good amount needed

published

Great card used all over Australia and good fees handy when u need extra cash and not as xpen dive as a mother cred or cars would le be ok

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jignesh

JigneshGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Low rate high benefits card for average family

published

It is low rate and you get points and special offers to shop at coles and participated stores.
can also make monthly payment at coles supermarket, it will update balance instantly.
if you are looking for th balance transfer offers then probably this is the best one as time to time they have promotional rate and you get a giftcard or points too.

Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JoelM

JoelMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good low cost effective tool!

published

I find this card to be low cost if pay before interest builds up. The account software is very user friendly and quick at transferring money to and from this account

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

brian

brianPerth, WA

Great card with no annual fee

published

I have had this card for more than 10 months and used it many times. Extra flybuys points per month is nice and this card is accepted everywhere. Have no issues with it so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Cheraag S.

Cheraag S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Standard No Annual Fee Card

published

Never had issues with the card. The good part is that you can get flybuys points on purchases.

The app however needs a lot of work to be user friendly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Kim

KimSouth East Queensland, QLD

I’m very happy with my coles MasterCard

published

I love that my MasterCard is linked to my flybuys account, so I am getting flybuys points all the time just by using my card, it’s also easy to pay repayments into.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

DaveP

DaveP

  • 5 reviews

Good low rate Credit Card

published

Easy to use. Just recently able to use ApplePay. Flybuy point awarded for every purchase and if you use at Coles you get extra points. Low interest rate and Annual Fee

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Frank

FrankSydney, NSW

Reliable and easy to use.

published

Got the cards last year when I got my current job. It's easy to use and I haven't encounter any problem.There are lots of promos from time to time. I'm using it for almost all my purchase now to get more points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Coles Low Rate MasterCard compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vaibhav

VaibhavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good credit card with rewards

published

1. Good and easy to use credit card.
2..Best part if you earn flybuys points which gets converted for discount eventually.
3. No hidden costs.
4. No need to carry flybuys card separate because it's printed on credit card it self

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Reviewer

Reviewer

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No fee and earn flybuys point

published

This credit card has no annual fee and can be linked to flybuys to earn flybuys point. Double benefit within a single card. Really recommend this credit card to everyone

Incentivised ReviewNo
DDshopper

DDshopperGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

No fees card

published

If you are looking for a no annual fee credit card, this is a good option to consider. No fuss, widely accepted. I’ve had this card since Coles first started offering these.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2005
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
James

James

  • 6 reviews

Needs improvements

published

Took on the credit card as they were offering a good flybuys bonus points. Few months in and this has been proven to be a mistake. There were several instances of unauthorized transactions where my dispute took ages to be resolved. I would suggest to stay away from this product. The only attractive quality is the low annual fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Ben P

Ben PSouth East Queensland, QLD

Simple Easy to Use Credit Card

published

This is just an easy card without all the unnecessary frills of other cards and you don't get charged any fee if you keep on top of your payments. Don't use FlyBuys so don't have it linked, but for a basic no fuss card this has been a perfect fit for me.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Page 2 of 28
See all Coles Low Rate MasterCard reviews

Questions & Answers

ebonnieforster

ebonnieforsterasked

How do I make payments on my card balance without setting up a direct debit for the due date?

No answers
June S.

June S.asked

How to cancel this card please

No answers
ian t.

ian t.asked

how do i cancel my direct debit authorities

1 answer

My account has either been locked and or closed. How do I get my statements and eNotices off them now? I need proof of closure and final statement to finalize a mortgage loan. So frustrated. I really don't want the hell of calling these people, it always is the worst experience.

Get an answer from our members and Coles representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.