3 photos
Colgate Total

Colgate Total (page 2 of 2)

2.9 from 105 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Toothpastes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Colgate

Pros

Can provide 12 hour protection

Cons

New formula is not popular

Reviews

1.1
34 reviews
  • Sensitivity Improvement Yes · No (34)
  • Whitening Improvement Yes · No (34)
  • Taste
    1.2 (33)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Colgate Total is now terrible

published

I have used Colgate for about 40 years now and Colgate Total for about 20 years. After purchasing this New and Improved formula, I noticed a terrible taste in my mouth. It foams up and seems like it is watered down. My teeth feel like they are not clean at all no matter how long I brush. The reason why people use a certain brand and a certain type of toothpaste is because they like it. Why did they have to change it? I'm switching brands now.

Purchased in June 2019 for $2.99.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Awful change

published

I have used Colgate forever. After purchasing this New and Improved formula, I noticed a terrible taste in my mouth. Also my tongue feels burned and I have blisters in my mouth. It has taken me weeks to figure out it is the toothpaste. I stated reading other people’s issues and realized that is what I felt like. It is awful! I have wasted money on three different tubes thinking it was just the flavor in one. My mouth feels like it is on fire. I will never buy this again. The new formula is also staining to the teeth. I pray my taste gets back to normal. This metal taste is awful!

Purchased in March 2019 for $4.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ange88
Ange88South East Queensland, QLD

New formula is revolting and causes severe irritation inside mouth after 1st use!!!!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles for $3.50.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam
SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not a fan of the new formula

published

I have been using Colgate Original for the past 15 years - it has been great, the best toothpaste ever. However the new formula is very bad! Can I still buy the previous paste anywhere?

Purchased in May 2019 at Woolworths.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No stars at all if I could

published

I seemed to have developed a cough when brushing teeth. Food and drink taste is distorted to point I thought a bottle of water was off until I realised it's the 'new' colgate total

Purchased in April 2019.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kcei
KceiHunter Region, NSW

Colgate Total

published

I have always use Colgate but the new and improved formula is terrible! I thought it may have been the type of toothpaste, bought a different tube of Colgate and still leaves a horrible lingering taste in my mouth.
Will be buying another brand of toothpaste from now on.

Purchased in March 2019.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JAB
JABMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Why change something that was great!

published

Using the new Colgate mint stripe toothpaste last night for the first time, after being warned by my adult children that it was disgusting, has left a most horrible taste in my mouth like not cleaning teeth after eating sugar! The horrible taste still remains this morning. The soapy taste when cleaning was also unpleasant.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Graeme
GraemeSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ghastly new product

published

I have no idea what they think they're doing, but the new improved 'original' doesn't taste right and leaves my teeth feeling as if they've been coated in something. I actually hate this toothpaste now. Colgate was my favourite, and it seems as if they have 'improved' every single one of their products. Going to have to change brands.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths for $3.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Obiwan
ObiwanFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Horrible soapy taste

published

I have used Colgate Total for many years but the last 2 tubes I purchased were unusable. Both Pro Clean Breath and Advanced Fresh taste like soap and I can't use them. I couldn't even find a batch number on the tube and wonder where they are produced and what went wrong.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths for $7.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.