3 photos
Colgate Total

Colgate Total (page 2 of 2)

2.9 from 105 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Toothpastes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Colgate

Pros

  • Can provide 12 hour protection

Cons

  • New formula is not popular

Reviews

1.2
35 reviews
  • Sensitivity Improvement Yes (0) · No (34)
  • Whitening Improvement Yes · No (35)
  • Taste
    1.2 (34)
Previous
Next
BFR
BFRHunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tongue & mouth raw

published

Colgate Total blue gel, stating anti-bacterial, anti sensitivity properties. Requires user to wash out once. Recommended by dentist. Switched from sensitive product. Within 6 weeks- Tip of tongue, edge & top of mouth irritation, throat sore. Loss of taste, all round redness in mouth & throat. If you find yourself going ""blah"" after using any toothpaste like this... STOP! Ingredient I think is the culprit is triclosan. Google that! Still on shelves and watch out for overseas products sold across all stores including chemists.

Purchased in April 2019 at Chemist for $4.50.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No

Colgate Total is now terrible

published

I have used Colgate for about 40 years now and Colgate Total for about 20 years. After purchasing this New and Improved formula, I noticed a terrible taste in my mouth. It foams up and seems like it is watered down. My teeth feel like they are not clean at all no matter how long I brush. The reason why people use a certain brand and a certain type of toothpaste is because they like it. Why did they have to change it? I'm switching brands now.

Purchased in June 2019 for $2.99.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No

Other Toothpastes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Awful change

published

I have used Colgate forever. After purchasing this New and Improved formula, I noticed a terrible taste in my mouth. Also my tongue feels burned and I have blisters in my mouth. It has taken me weeks to figure out it is the toothpaste. I stated reading other people’s issues and realized that is what I felt like. It is awful! I have wasted money on three different tubes thinking it was just the flavor in one. My mouth feels like it is on fire. I will never buy this again. The new formula is also staining to the teeth. I pray my taste gets back to normal. This metal taste is awful!

Purchased in March 2019 for $4.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Ange88
Ange88South East Queensland, QLD

New formula is revolting and causes severe irritation inside mouth after 1st use!!!!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles for $3.50.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam
SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not a fan of the new formula

published

I have been using Colgate Original for the past 15 years - it has been great, the best toothpaste ever. However the new formula is very bad! Can I still buy the previous paste anywhere?

Purchased in May 2019 at Woolworths.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No

No stars at all if I could

published

I seemed to have developed a cough when brushing teeth. Food and drink taste is distorted to point I thought a bottle of water was off until I realised it's the 'new' colgate total

Purchased in April 2019.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Kcei
KceiHunter Region, NSW

Colgate Total

published

I have always use Colgate but the new and improved formula is terrible! I thought it may have been the type of toothpaste, bought a different tube of Colgate and still leaves a horrible lingering taste in my mouth.
Will be buying another brand of toothpaste from now on.

Purchased in March 2019.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
JAB
JABMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Why change something that was great!

published

Using the new Colgate mint stripe toothpaste last night for the first time, after being warned by my adult children that it was disgusting, has left a most horrible taste in my mouth like not cleaning teeth after eating sugar! The horrible taste still remains this morning. The soapy taste when cleaning was also unpleasant.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No

Other Toothpastes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Graeme
GraemeSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ghastly new product

published

I have no idea what they think they're doing, but the new improved 'original' doesn't taste right and leaves my teeth feeling as if they've been coated in something. I actually hate this toothpaste now. Colgate was my favourite, and it seems as if they have 'improved' every single one of their products. Going to have to change brands.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths for $3.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Obiwan
ObiwanFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Horrible soapy taste

published

I have used Colgate Total for many years but the last 2 tubes I purchased were unusable. Both Pro Clean Breath and Advanced Fresh taste like soap and I can't use them. I couldn't even find a batch number on the tube and wonder where they are produced and what went wrong.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths for $7.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Sensitivity Improvement No
Whitening Improvement No
Page 2 of 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.