3 photos
Colgate Total

Colgate Total

2.9 from 105 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Toothpastes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Colgate

Pros

  • Can provide 12 hour protection

Cons

  • New formula is not popular

Reviews

  • Sensitivity Improvement Yes (0) · No (33)
  • Whitening Improvement Yes (0) · No (33)
  • Taste
    1.2 (35)
Previous
Next

Price is become insane

published

What has happened to the price of Colgate total mouthwash. I have used this product for years but at the insane prices of over 12 bucks a bottle I will switch to crest

Purchased in June 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate
William K.
William K.

A 33.8 once bottle of the total mouthwash is 20.00 at Walmart . I have never paid even close to that in the past it’s forced me to have to use crest which is a third less cost and that’s their premium product

Barbara K.
Barbara K.Sydney, NSW

Why did they do this?

published

I am so disappointed in the new formula for the Colgate Total, it is just awful. Why did they do this to a product that left your teeth and mouth feeling really clean. Like so many others, I have tried to get past the awful aftertaste. Please, please go back to the original recipe for the Colgate Total so my teeth can actually feel like they are clean!!!

Purchased in March 2021.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate

Other Toothpastes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Not good, they should go back to the old formula

published

Sucks that it's not even an option anymore. I don't feel like my teeth are as clean afterwards (I go through the brush cycle 2x, one right after the other). I also miss the refreshing mint. The new formula is a gross flavor too.

Purchased in April 2020 at walgreens for $3.45.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate

Hi Ash, we appreciate your support and feedback which we'll forward to our team. Please contact our Consumer Information Service on 1800 802 307 if you'd like help finding a toothpaste that meets your preference needs.

Terrible taste

published

Just bought this toothpaste and brushed my teeth with it, I couldn't have been more dissapointed in my life. It tastes like brushing your teeth with pure soap...disgusting, never again

Purchased in June 2021.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Used to like colgate

published

I've tried getting over the taste but it feels like I'm brushing with perfume. It's beyond bad. I hate wastage but I cannot bring myself to finish the tube. I dont mind the baking soda and the texture of the toothpaste is great. But the taste I can't get past.

Purchased in March 2021.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate

VERY BAD!!!!! DONT BUY!!!!

published

this was AWEFUL!! made my teeth fall out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they also test on puppies and kittens and burn their skin off!!!!!!! if u buy this i will scalp you!!! gross!! stinky!!

Purchased in April 2021 at Woolworths for $20.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate
intestinalworm
intestinalwormGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Overseas Made - Avoid! (Buy Cedel or Grants instead)

published

Just so disappointed a large, greedy multinational cannot make one tube of toothpaste in Australia! Toothpaste is fine but I prefer Cedel or Grants any day of the week - supporting Australian made and Australian owned!

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

Taste has changed

published

I use to seek out Colgate Total every time for years. I have discovered it leaves a sour taste for hours after brushing. I can still taste it during my sleep... It is not the same.

Purchased at Coles.

Incentivised Review No

Other Toothpastes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
PLR
PLRCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dry mouth, trouble breathing

published

Ive used this product for over 15 years but have recently had terrible side effects due to the new formula change. Immediately after brushing my mouth drys out completely and my throat begins to tighten so that it’s very difficult to swallow and breath. I had to go to Emergency last night. Seriously warn against using this product.

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

New formula is terrible

published

New formula taste terrible
No more minty taste
Mouth feels terrible after use
Mouth very dry after use

If you like the taste of peroxide or toilet bowl cleaner you'll love the 'new formula" Colgate.

I will nolonger be buying Colgate.

Purchased in March 2020 at Costco.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
ingsy
ingsySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

new formula is terrible!!!

published

I've been using this toothpaste for most of my life & the new formula version is terrible! it tastes like terrible dentist teeth cleaning mixture, it also leaves a weird taste in your mouth for hours & it also dries my mouth out! I have 4 new tubes of this, I bought on special, will be giving those away & I'll be trying other brands now...no more wonderful minty after taste, now pure yuk! also tried the minty stripe one, almost as bad as this one..so another no.

Purchased in February 2020 at Coles.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No

Other Toothpastes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kerry T.
Kerry T.Southwest, VIC

Tastes like sand soap

published

I have used the silver tube for years, it was a gel. After many attempts of finding it anywhere and getting home with another white tube I'm over it. Tried using the white tube one for a week, it's like cleaning your teeth with minty sand soap. The taste is beyond terrible, it says in your mouth for ages, but it's not good

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths for $6.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Toothpastes

Find out how Colgate Total compares to other Toothpastes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible taste

published

Terrible taste and smaller tubes. they cut approx. 2 oz. off tube. I have used Colgate total for years and I will buy Crest next time. The new Colgate Total is terrible. Do not buy.

Purchased in January 2020 for $6.99.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Tracey Pearce
Tracey PearcePerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

soap for teeth

published

Colgate might be better suited as a body wash, the taste is like soap that stays in your mouth without any fresh taste. This product is gross and I have gone to a more expensive brand for my family, never buying colgate again.

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No

Agony

published

I am in agony the last two days with a huge sore on my tongue and 4 mouth ulcers with more appearing. I can’t eat I can’t talk and it’s all down to using Colgate toothpaste. My sister was using the same one and also had sores all Over her tongue. Absolutely awful

Purchased in December 2019 for $4.00.

Taste
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

The F.
The F.asked

What happened to the Colgate Total Care toothpaste? It would come in a small tube that was meant to be used after brushing with regular toothpaste and it says to avoid food and drink for at least 3hrs to make it work on the teeth. It did a very thorough job of cleaning the teeth and removed stains effectively, actually. Beats me why you take off the market something that works better than anything else!

1 answer
Colgate
Colgate-PalmoliveColgate

Hi The F. We think you may be referring to our Colgate Total Professional Weekly Clean toothpaste. We agree; this was a brilliant toothpaste! While Total Weekly Clean is no longer made, we recommend you try our Colgate Total Advanced Clean toothpaste as a daily use alternative

Ken Ward
Ken Wardasked

What fluorine derivative ised in this product?

2 answers

According to the box in my cupboard, it's 0.22% w/w Sodium Fluoride. Also contains Triclosan. Hope this helped.

brian
brian

If you want a proper fluoride treatment see your dentist / if you can afford it I suggest it it tastes like banana / if you can't afford it you could use the federal government dentist by phoning their 1300 number

Get an answer from our members and Colgate representatives

Details

Colgate Total promises a thorough clean and protection from bacteria for 12 hours, provided you’ve been using the toothpaste for 4 continuous weeks.

This toothpaste is also designed to protect against the formation of cavities, plaque, tartar build-up and damage to enamel.

It should be noted that reviews submitted over the last 2 years frequently cite problems with a new formula used in Colgate Total. Reports commonly included complaints of a burning sensation, dry mouth, as well as an unpleasant aftertaste and watery consistency.

A number of these reviews were written by people who had happily used Colgate for several years prior to the formula change.

CategoryToothpastes
Release dateSept 2007
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.