??!

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

1.5

116 reviews
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(97)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (11)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (7)
  • Customer Service
    2.0 (11)
Previous
Next
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 22 reviews
  • 15 likes

They won't tell you what you're entitled to. But they will gladly take your money.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
BrendanH

BrendanHCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

4 months and my car still hasn’t been repaired.

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Dean C.

Dean C.Central West, NSW

Do not insure with these thieves. Minus 5 stars

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lerina

LerinaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Exceptional service

published

I cannot rate this Comminsure car insurance highly enough !
To Brad - who went way and above his call of duty to resolve my issue, THANK YOU !! And to Debora, Brads manager, it's been an absolute pleasure talking to you too.
Outstanding customer service and professionalism!
I'm extremely grateful !!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSuzuki Alto MF
See all answers
Sepi

SepiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

So our car has been destroyed by hail damage. We lodged a claim. Cominsure’s repair process is just an absolute joke.

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

I wish there was a No Star option

published

Vague information is provided in PDS about learner driver in aged restriction policy option. Nothing is mentioned about when the policy holder is supervising a learner. There is a common perception that if the full licence policyholders are supervising a learner, still the full license person is liable for car insurance. It is not clearly explained in pds and miss lead the costumers

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Michael00

Michael00Adelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mistake To Move To Comminsurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Sruj V.

Sruj V.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lack of diligence and failure to provide appropriate information when requested

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

UNHAPPY

published

Decided not to renew insurance because they increased it by a ridiculous amount (no claims ever on my car). Rang up and asked not to renew as of 21st Sep (when the policy expired), said they would send a letter confirming the cancellation. Received letter yesterday stating they cancelled my insurance on the 1st of Sep! I have been driving around with no insurance for 3 weeks thanks to these idiots.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
explorer2203

explorer2203AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Incompetent

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Most useless insurance company i have EVER dealt with!!!

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Incompetent and horrible communicators.

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
donny

donnyFar North Queensland, QLD

Comprehensive is a Joke

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Definitely not worth the price you pay for it

published

Car was broken into leaving front passenger window smashed, dinted door and stolen items.

-no option was given to tow the car to the mechanics even though the car was unroadworthy. Had to ask for it and had to justify why I was unable to drive it myself. Reason provided was that they don’t usually send out tow trucks for broken windows.
-did not even ask if a hire car was required. Had to ask for it
-beware of the ‘imposed excess’ charges when you claim. It’s in the PDS but not clearly visible or explained in detail. Very misleading to a consumer and in my opinion is definitely an unjust cost.

Comminsure is definitely not value for money and I would take my business elsewhere.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Model2017 Mercedes Benz amg a45
See all answers
Lillian

LillianGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible experience. Don’t go with them

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stan

StanSouth East Queensland, QLD

100 percent happy with Comminsure car insurance.

published

Had a nose to tail car accident, called Comminsure the following day and made a claim. Repairer emailed quote to Comminsure, and within 4 days had the approval to go ahead with repairs. Very happy with the whole transaction. I am staggered to read all the negative reviews.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
See all answers

NO NOT USE!!!

published

4 months. Had an accident. They're only open 8 to 4 Monday to Friday. Your tow cover i valid after you get a tow pay and they reimburse "reasonable" expenses. Car should have been a write off they called it a repairable right off. Six month later car is still not running well.they refuse to have it sent back to mechanic.

Insurance claim madeYes
Joanne

JoanneCranbourne

Cannot fault comminsure

published

I am not insured with comminsure but was involved in an accident with someone who is. As it was the other partys fault i cannot stress that the service we have received as a non customer was fantastic. From the day of accident 4 weeks ago until now we received a loan car, great customet service, and a payout of my car as a total loss and didnt get ripped off in any way. The payout ammount was within the range we were seeking.

Insurance claim madeYes

Terrible beware do not use

published

We have made a claim on our home as or house went on fire 11 weeks later still nothing done still no money for our belongings we are living in a rental with nothing no communication always making excuses for why no work is done and trying to prove about what we had ie furniture clothes etc they want receipts how do we have receipts when our house went ok on fire.DO NOT use comminsure terrible company a nightmare.

Insurance claim madeYes

hopeless customer service

published

4 weeks with no response on our claim .... and 1hour + waiting on the phone to their claims department - with out being answered . Clearly the Banking Royal Commission should extend its enquiry into the off shoot businesses run by the Banks.

Insurance claim madeNo
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

philip b.

philip b.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

how to cancel policy

No answers
Paul

Paulasked

Car Insurance

if my work van catches on fire, for example if some of my cargo spontaneously combusts am I covered.
I have full comp.

No answers
Kristina N.

Kristina N.asked

Car Insurance

Does CBA comprehensive car insurance cover for damage done to your car whilst parked when you do not know who caused the damage?

1 answer
unhappy
unhappy

Hi Kristina,
Not 100% sure as I was never in that situation, but it should be covered. best bet is to call them up and get them to answer these questions

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.