??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance
1.5 from 123 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.8 (17)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (13)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (17)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (3)
    • 1-2 weeks (2)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (4)
    • 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (6) · No (9)
Previous
Next
Long

LongWantirna

Commonwealth car insurance is rubbish

published

Big mistake on my life to buy car insurance with commonwealth.
Totally rubbish, need to avoid when choosing car insurance. I have witnesses to say not my fault but they don’t use it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
Fred P.

Fred P.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ripped Off!

published

Finding out that with my claim 700282766 that Comminsure are deducting unused premiums and unused rego & CTP from my quoted settlement! What a rip off that they don't tell you when you sign up. Its bad enough that I have to accept THEIR "Agreed value" as OUR ""Agreed value".

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz C-Class C43 AMG 4MATIC A205 Cabriolet
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2010
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Never Ever get a car insurance policy from Comminsure!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda B.

Amanda B.Sydney, NSW

Wow, you really don't see us as people

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Ishkaa

IshkaaAU

  • 47 reviews
  • 43 likes

What is the point?????

published

Had my car hit by another in Townsville Hospital car park and security have advised they have full video footage with plate number. Rang Commbank and they have said I have to pay full excess as I do not have other owners details. I explained that there is actual video footage and they did not budge. What is the point of insurance with them?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Allowed me to be scammed

published

I was involved in a minor fender bender with a car which resulted in paint being scuffed off of their already damaged bumper. They tried to claim for $3000 and commbank insurance agreed it was fair even after I provided proof that their vehicle was already heavily damaged and I was forced to pay the excess. None of this was communicated to me and I had to pay the excess over 2 years later after I thought the claim had been resolved.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Jade

JadeNorth Queensland, QLD

Minus 5 stars - Don't use COMMINSURE! Listen to this.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai ix35 LM.I Elite
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

They won't tell you what you're entitled to. But they will gladly take your money.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
BrendanH

BrendanHCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

4 months and my car still hasn’t been repaired.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean C.

Dean C.Central West, NSW

Do not insure with these thieves. Minus 5 stars

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Lerina

LerinaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Exceptional service

published

I cannot rate this Comminsure car insurance highly enough !
To Brad - who went way and above his call of duty to resolve my issue, THANK YOU !! And to Debora, Brads manager, it's been an absolute pleasure talking to you too.
Outstanding customer service and professionalism!
I'm extremely grateful !!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSuzuki Alto MF
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sepi

SepiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

So our car has been destroyed by hail damage. We lodged a claim. Cominsure’s repair process is just an absolute joke.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

I wish there was a No Star option

published

Vague information is provided in PDS about learner driver in aged restriction policy option. Nothing is mentioned about when the policy holder is supervising a learner. There is a common perception that if the full licence policyholders are supervising a learner, still the full license person is liable for car insurance. It is not clearly explained in pds and miss lead the costumers

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Michael00

Michael00Adelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mistake To Move To Comminsurance

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Sruj V.

Sruj V.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lack of diligence and failure to provide appropriate information when requested

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

UNHAPPY

published

Decided not to renew insurance because they increased it by a ridiculous amount (no claims ever on my car). Rang up and asked not to renew as of 21st Sep (when the policy expired), said they would send a letter confirming the cancellation. Received letter yesterday stating they cancelled my insurance on the 1st of Sep! I have been driving around with no insurance for 3 weeks thanks to these idiots.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
explorer2203

explorer2203AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Incompetent

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Most useless insurance company i have EVER dealt with!!!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Incompetent and horrible communicators.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
donny

donnyFar North Queensland, QLD

Comprehensive is a Joke

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

philip b.

philip b.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

how to cancel policy

No answers
Paul

Paulasked

Car Insurance

if my work van catches on fire, for example if some of my cargo spontaneously combusts am I covered.
I have full comp.

No answers
Kristina N.

Kristina N.asked

Car Insurance

Does CBA comprehensive car insurance cover for damage done to your car whilst parked when you do not know who caused the damage?

1 answer
unhappy
unhappy

Hi Kristina,
Not 100% sure as I was never in that situation, but it should be covered. best bet is to call them up and get them to answer these questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and TravelHome and Contents and TravelHome and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and TheftThird Party Property Damage
UnderwriterCommonwealth BankCommonwealth BankCommonwealth Bank
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess IncludedNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included up to $75 per day for up to 14 days

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot Included
Towing Costs IncludedIncludedNot Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $800 in total per claimNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $75 per day up to a maximum of $1,050

Not Included

Not Included

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $2,000Not IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 2 years from original registration

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedIncludedNot Included
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedIncludedNot Included
Compare all 3 Commonwealth Bank Car Insurance

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.