??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Platinum Awards

Commonwealth Bank Platinum Awards

3.0 from 34 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • 100,000 Bonus Awards Points if you apply by 29 Feb 2020 and spend $4,000 within 90 days from activation

  • Earn 1 Awards point for every $1 spent

  • International Travel Insurance included

Cons

  • $249 Annual Fee

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • Points are capped at 150,000 points per year

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
6
3 star
11
2 star
3
1 star
8

Catttt

CattttSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not bad for a no free credit card

published

We have had this card for approximately 6 years and use it for our everyday spending in order to gain points. In 6 years of moderate spending we have approximately $2500 worth of rewards we could redeem at flight centre. There are also many other options for redemption such as cash. There is no annual fee for us as we have the wealth package for our home loan with the bank. I would have thought we would have more money in our rewards, given how long we have used the card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

zak

zakGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great companion for day to day expense

published

mostly acceptable everywhere I have been to. Last year I went to dubai for 10 days holidays. Every place I visited in dubai accepted this card and all shops in dubai mall and easy to transfer balance from my account.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Overseas/Travel
See all answers
D Kay

D KayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Price can outway the benefits

published

I've had this card for years now. Recently had a look at the pricing on gold vs platinum and decided to downgrade. Called up and they said no problem, we'll send out a gold card, but then no reply. I was then charged the yearly fee for platinum again and never received the gold card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
kamikami

kamikamiHunter Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

It's ok as an everyday card

published

I got this card as part of my commbank offset home loan, which costs me $495 a year. It cumulates points and I get around $250 Coles voucher from the cumulated points every year. It also offers travel insurance for free which is a plus, but the price protection is not as good as the 28 degree card..

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateSeptember 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lovepreet K.

Lovepreet K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Very less award points.

published

I haven't used this overseas yet, but i used to purchase product from international sites. Its easy to transfer funds. Rewards are not easy to get on every purchase and Points are hard to collect sometime.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Janna P

Janna PPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good card except for accruing Qantas points and travel insurance

published
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping

Milo

Milo

  • 3 reviews

Good card provided you spend enough

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Kapitoshka

KapitoshkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Was great, but progressively getting worse

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2003
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Ann M Martin

Ann M MartinSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Reliable & easy to use internationally

published

I use this card most days, it is reliable and accepted every where I have been in both Australia and overseas.
I appreciate that the service is some what intuitive by sending sms's to draw my attention to unusual spends & includes international activity. The card has many security benefits that you can self manage on line and provides good reporting functions. It is my only credit card and at this point I am very happy, with no intention to take another.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mike R.

Mike R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

not even close to being a good credit card, avoid this.

published

Got this for free as part of the wealth package (no annual fee, normally $249).

They make you pay $30 annually to transfer the commbank reward points into Qantas frequent flyer. The actual ratio spend is $2.5 for 1 QFF which is so terrible. I feel for people that actually pay $249 per annum for this rip off card. I’ll be changing over to a credit card that has a $1 to 1 QFF/velocity point ratio

Extended warranty and free international insurance is something they advertise but a lot of other cc do the same with a lower annual fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Richard

RichardSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Easy to use with great benefits

published

I’ve been using my Platinum Debit Card for some time now and it’s great to have the added benefits of extended warranty on compatible products, however it was a shame that they got rid of the included insurance without being notified

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Anthony

AnthonySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good card- no problems

published

- provides insurance if i am travelling overseas, saving costs
- easy to monitor my balance and transactions through CBA app
- nothing special about rewards, this is lacking
- good interest rate offered

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

jason

jasonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great card

published

It's a great card when it came with Amex. However, now that Amex is revoked, there's actually not much perks left for me. I've paid the annual fee this year, so will continue to rack up point and change when it's near expiry.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card Start DateNovember 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Ming

MingBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Its Great ~ until they removed Amex.

published

I paid $395 per year for this credit card as part of my home loan package. It was great when they had the Amex especially i shop on international website and it was great to have the fee waived. I went to commonwealth and asked if they have something to replace it and all they said is NO. It was little disappointing as i do not think i got my money worth by Paying this high fee annually.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJune 2016
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Binni

BinniRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Used instead of cash regularly, safe

published

No fee if balance paid each month, easy to use, comes with rewards. Website easy to use for online banking. Have had this card for many years and have never had a problem. No cost for second card user. Free travel insurance with this card if you have no medical conditions. I have taken advantage of this offer many times.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2001
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
Peter M

Peter MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

A very convenient everyday card.

published

I process most of our family spending through this card and have had a great experience. Once my wife's card was stolen and the bank rang before we knew it was missing because of irregular use. All transactions on the card while it was stolen were re-credited immediately so we had no loss. When we travelled overseas we took a travel card with us from CBA and had no trouble transferring money between the two cards using the online app. The rewards were easily used to pay some of the cost of the trip and the travel agent did all that and we paid the balance on the card. Gained more reward points!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Sabrina

SabrinaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

An everyday card

published

Got this card as part of my home loan package. Hence, pay no annual fees. My go-to-card when merchants don't accept Amex. Not a bad card, but nothing fantastic either. The rewards redemption that I ever used/ found useful was for Coles gift card and Myers. The complimentary travel insurance means I no longer have to spend extra on travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Kay

KayBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

My go to card

published

I pay it out in full every month, so no interest charge. Yearly fees waved with mortgage option. Rewards easy to accumulate and easy to claim.
Didn’t ask for platinum card, just arrived in the mail, but still at previous card options.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


homealone

homealoneCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 17 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified customer

Daily essential, but oversea use could cost you a bit more

published

Good daily card for domestic use, got annual fee waived if you also have home loan products. Interest rate is pretty standard, can't complain. Oversea use could be a problem as bank fee is there and the exchange rate is not using the rate on the shopping day, which is very bad! Complimentary travel insurance is good, save you a bit when you are traveling oversea. Reward points are okay, 1 dollar 1 point.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


pedro

pedroSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

No Longer A Value Proposition

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateDecember 2000
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ann-Marie

Ann-Marieasked

Does my commonwealth platinum credit card give me travel insurance cover even if i did not purchase my flight using the card

No answers

DANNIIBEE

DANNIIBEEasked

Hi there, just wondering if you had a small list of what places will accept Amex with no additional charges? I just got mine today. Thank you! DB

1 answer
Distress 2014
Distress 2014

Hi DB,

I don't really use the Amex as its too limiting but have been told that Wooly and Coles accept AMex with no fees.

Not part of your query, but I notice that some petrol stations are starting to charge a fee for Credit Card transactions and it seem to be an increasing trend. I guess, we just have to vigilant before swiping.

Sorry can't be much help

Lisa


Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.