??!
2 photos
Big W Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner

Big W Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner

3.0 from 62 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (15)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (11)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (4) · No (10)
Previous
Next

Stay away!

published

I’ve used this vacuum for about 3 months and after turning it on, two minutes later it stopped sucking and the motor started over heating, save your time and money by avoiding this vacuum!

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Danii F.

Danii F.

  • 3 reviews

This sucks... GOOD!

published

For a $55 this is a good vacuum, has changeable suction dial which makes it perfect for everything! It is plastic instead of metal which makes it lighter and easier to use. Works well on hard floors and carpets, can lift up the edge of the rug it's that powerful!

Purchased in April 2020 at BigW for A$55.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
sev01

sev01MELBOURNE

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

I plugged it in! And Just blew up!!!

published

I was excited to use my new vacuum. I plugged it in and blew up! I was in a shock! Shortest ever lasting appliance electrical good. I had K-Mart one and used for a long time...

P.S. I have just read now here. Her lasted one day. She is lucky :-) Wow! I am not the exception then. At least I heard a noise for a moment. It worked for a second :-)

Purchased in April 2020 for A$55.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anonymous

AnonymousKatoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked properly for a day

published

When this vacuum was first bought for the household, I was amazed at the power it had. After a day or two, it was not nearly as strong as when I first bought it. I’ve cleaned out the filter and everything but it won’t go back to normal. It’s been about a month and now it suddenly won’t turn on? Such a waste of money, I’m honestly shocked. $20 vacuum cleaners would be better than this. Ive used this vacuum on both carpet and hard floors. It doesn’t suck up anything, just moves it around the floor.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for A$55.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers

good efficacy but not durable

published

we use it at home weekly, we don't have pets and no children, it was light weight so no problem moving it around, not very noisy,clean floor (ceramics) and rugs really easily and efficiently and never had any issue with clogging. but after three months of use suddenly it just stopped working after 15mins of working and didn't turn on again.

Purchased for A$55.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Bright sight

Bright sightPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

It does what I bought it for

published

It is ok and easy vacuum cleaner to empty it. I use it quite often. It is convenient and it is a great product and vacuum cleaner for a small apartment.

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Sera

Sera

  • 3 reviews

Wasn't what I expected

published

I used this on floorboards, And it struggled.. I then used it on carpet and it just dragged the junk around with me.
The hose is also rather short, Which so am I.. So, i has to literally carry it

Purchased in November 2018 at Big W for A$58.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Emily W.

Emily W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

DO NOT BUY!!!

published

I bought this vacuum and I used it once and I will never use it again, I have hard wood floors as well as carpet and it didn’t suck up any dirt, it was just pushing it around. Stay away from this vacuum cleaner

Purchased in August 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
See all answers
Luke Blue Ve SS.

Luke Blue Ve SS.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Did as it was supposed too, didn’t exceed my expectations.

published

I have carpets and wooden floors it was good for both applications although the vacuum didn’t seem to pick up the fine dust from the plush pile carpets I will use again and review its progress further.

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart Online Store for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracey

TraceyDarwin, NT

Not going crazy !

published

Am glad to find not going crazy & that other customers are having the turn it’s self off fault.
Doing the vacuuming is hard enough without a machine that turns itself off every 2 minutes.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Lisa B

Lisa BHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Contempo bagless Vacuum

published

This vacuum has great suction and is cheap to purchase has 2L Dust compacity ,1800w Power thats adjustable, has retractable cord comes with floor brush and crevice nozzle to reach hard areas making it easy to clean.Works great!

Purchased at Big W for A$55.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Giantkiller

GiantkillerMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great product at a very acceptable price.

published

This Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner was purchased about a year ago, by myself, and works very well on both carpets and tile flooring. It came at a great price, has 2years warranty, and is easily emptied. My only criticism, be it a small problem, it can tip over without righting itself, but is easily righted to keep it working. All in all, an agreeable price, a good performer, with a bonus 2year warranty.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$46.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
sean71

sean71Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

excellent for price

published

I purchased this vac for my daughter who is at Uni. It was a great price and the power was excellent. It was easy to empty unlike many other Vacs. My daughter is very happy.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Shez

ShezVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Not Impressed Sh*t

published

I purchased this vacuum cleaner a month ago, was happy vacuumed the carpet beautifully, however, today started to vacuum at 1700 hrs and finished at 2000 hrs not impressed kept cutting off every two minutes had to wait 30 minutes for it to cool down.

Purchased in February 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for A$48.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Porter

PorterNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

It is s—t

published

I have had this vacuum since November 2018 and every time iv used it, its overheated and shut down. This is the second time iv bought this vacuum, giving it the benefit of doubt but again its stops working after 2 minutes. I do not recommend getting this vacuum if u want it lasting more then a month.

Purchased in November 2018 at Big W Online Store for A$49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Big W Contempo Bagless Vacuum Cleaner compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DaleL

DaleLSurfers Paradise

  • 3 reviews

Cheap easy to use.

published

Purchased this vacuum two years ago for a two bedroom apartment. Bedrooms carpeted and the rest tiles. I have found it easy to use, it has a dial to increase or decrease the suction, and handles both surfaces well. There has been no loss of suction as long as you clean the filters on a regular basis . Yes it is cheap and it’s build shows it but having said that the only thing that annoys me is the short power cord. I’d recommend it for small places. For $50 I haven’t regretted buying it. Just don’t expect the performance of an expensive machine.

Purchased in November 2016 at Big W Retail Stores for A$49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
STP

STPSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good product

published

I use on a carpet floor and tiles as well for a 2bhk home...
Does a fairly good job.Something that i really liked about this product is the fact that it has settings to lower and increase the suctioning of vacuum as per need...was a bane when i was using it while me 4mo old bub was sleeping.
Havnt faced any issues so far in past 4 months or so.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers

Crap vacuum...

published

Needed an affordable vacuum... seemed great at first but overheats within minutes and then can't use it for hrs. The hose always falls off... it sounds like a jet plane and doesn't even pick up stuff like it did when I first got it... suction is crap. Only had it for a couple of months....

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Won't last long

published

Purchased 2months ago was great at first up until recently the suction has lessened a lot, I'm having to go over things two or three times. Suction is strong when you first purchase product it would've been nice if it stayed like that for at least a year. Mum had the same vacuum and the exact thing happened to hers.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Annoyed customer

Annoyed customerTamworth

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Stay clear

published

Have had three of these vacuum cleaners each time they overheated and stopped when you empty vacuum cleaner it doesn't click back in place clips break easily took vacuum cleaner back to store was given a replacement but still had problems it's best to pay the extra and buy a good quality vacuum cleaner

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Wendy S.

Wendy S.asked

How do I clean filter

1 answer
Russell K
Russell K

Easy to clean. Pulls apart. Wash and dry perfectly before reassemble

Gail M.

Gail M.asked

Where can I find an instruction book for contempo bagless vacuum cleaner?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Big W should be able to assist

Lauraine P.

Lauraine P.asked

Where do I bye spare parts for contempo vaccum cleaners

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Bye? Ask Big W

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$48.00
Bin Capacity2 L
TypeBagless
Power1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.