??!
1 photo
Crane Sports (Aldi) XR200 Mountain

Crane Sports (Aldi) XR200 Mountain

2.1 from 22 reviews

See the Best Mountain Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
12

Ursula

UrsulaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Cran Bike

published

I bought one a Cran bike 5 years ago and the first time I used it the peddle fell off the 2nd time it was the crank and the breaks failed going down a hill.
I only researched this page because someone had a 2nd hand one for sale with helmet ridden once for $99 and I asked what brand it was and didn't recognise the name. Definitely won't be buying it or any other Aldi bike even though they have lots of quality products and I shop there all the time as the first one i bought had safety issues.

Purchased in March 2014 for $99.00.


Leigh

LeighSouth East Queensland, QLD

This thing will kill me

published

Brakes are horrible, either too loose or catch on the tyre. Handlebar easily slides out of alignment. The front wheel bashes your foot whenever you turn. I CANNOT tune gears to get onto the highest, the chain jams up before it can shift. I needed a cheap option to get to work and because I live on a hill I will probably be found dead by the side of the road.

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $89.99.

HQZ

HQZGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

fairly good

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $90.00.

Rockey

RockeyGold coast

Spent more on repairs

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Luckypuk

LuckypukPemulwuy

  • 3 reviews

Needs a lot of work to make it roadworthy

published

Handlebars misalign easily. Added a nut to the end of the thread which fixed this issue, as the thread on the bolt wears out quickly. Brakes needed some work. Chain tends to come off mid gear change. Will need to look at tightening it. Make sure you also tighten the pedals!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

  • Verified purchase

If you pay too little, then what you get may not be capable of the job

published

At Aldi, we bought two Crane mountain bikes in March 2015. One month after the expiry of the 12 month warranty (April 2016) they are both off to the recycling centre.
On unpacking we found the factory assembly so poor that we had both reassembled by a professional cycle workshop, at additional cost. Twice more over 12 months, both have been back to the workshop.
Spend a little more, and what you get will be more capable of the job.


Audrey

AudreyGowrie 2904, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

You get what you pay for = so far we think they're value for money

published

Lev Lafayette

Lev LafayetteMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not safe

published
Lisa_Harris

Lisa_HarrisMelbourne

Really dangerous

published

Bought a Crane hybrid bike today and right out of the box half of the features weren't working. The front brake was completely broken, the kick stand wouldn't go up, and the handle bars would not tighten and connect to the bike. Most of these problems i overlooked, however, the handle bars were incredibly dangerous. Every time i turned the bike or stopped the handle bars would come completely separate from the main body. I seriously doubt that this bike has met any safe standards in Australia at all .
Please do not buy
Save your money and buy a safer bike.

chris

chrisbrisbane

  • 11 reviews

Junk bike

published

crane xr200.cost $129 from aldi.well the worst ever bike in bike history.the tires are cheap rubber,and the cassette are old stone age technology and are tacky Chinese junk,the seat is like a rock,the suspension is junk and only for show,the frame is bad,the whole bike was a disaster from day 1.first tires,then the cassette,then the seat came loose,the spokes were junk,the wheel was uneven,the gears were out of shape and clunky,do not ever buy this bike,the price speaks for its self,you pay peanuts you get monkeys,avoid this bike at all cost.


Wanted to get fitter

published

I bought a "Crane" push bike a while ago and have had to replace the right peddle as the thread on the peddle stripped. Yesterday the same right side peddle fell off as the new peddle also stripped... Not happy.
I had to walk pushing the bike 4ks.


Waste of money

published

This bike is the biggest piece of rubbish! It weighs about the same as a small tank. The dual suspension is also terrible..better off with no suspension!

The size of the bike is also bad.. If you're taller than 10 year old this bike is too small for you.

I should have known when I saw the warning message on the bike "not built for off road use"... What else do I use a dual suspension bike for?


Poor quality

published

Very poor, after only a few weeks the front forks feel like they are going to collapse, rock hard seat, paper thin tyre's over 10 punctures in one week, wheel bearings & crank bearings had to be greased as they had no grease as the bike would could not roll freely. no where to put a drink holder
Price was only good thing about bike $129
Poor quality, badly put together, cheep materials, very over rated item from items


Nick

Nick

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible build quality

published

Bought this bike two days ago, assembled it correctly and tightened all bolts (including pre assembled pieces) as much as possible. On the road the next day and left crank arm fell off completely - could have been a disaster if the traffic was heavy. Handlebar also came loose on first test ride... Shoulda followed my gut feeling on this one and gone with something trusted. Save yourself the time, don't buy this bike. The build quality is not only bad but it's also dangerous.

Terrible Build Qulity

blibster

blibstersydney

  • 2 reviews

nice looking, but cheap parts and poor build

published

Great!

published

Great bike loads of fun dont know what the fuss is about it really does the job well. Aldi has done a good job. Only had it for 6 months but as mentioned does the job well. Good for off roading holds up well no problems so far so good guys... Would recommend it


Waste of money

published

The bike pedal fell off and the thread is bear. Aldi will not take responsibilty and the bike is still under warrenty. I ve been told by both the store and their head office to contact the manufacturer which is againist the Australian Comsumer Law. I have a very unhappy child that has not been able to used his xmas present. would not give it the store or bike ant stars.


Dis-illusioned

Dis-illusionedSunshine Coast Qld

  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

Very happy Crane Sports Bike from Aldi

published

Dont know what everyone is goingo on about. Ive had my Crane Mtn Bike form Adi for over 5 years and very happy. For the price its a good bike if you look after it. I'd still be very happy with it for another few years but some low-life stole it out of our carport.
good for the price. gears on the grips excellent idea.
seat a bit uncomfortable

1 comment
larry
larry

Gaza87

Gaza87melb

  • 3 reviews

big problems

published

First the bike does not have a quick release on the rear wheel (lies) and it has been assembled wrong on the rear hub, so that the rear brake will jam and cause an accident! Typical chinese rubbish! you will have to reassemble the rear hub correctly by moving the spacer on the left side from the inside of the frame to the outside next to the nut.
haven found anything yet
dangerous

1 comment
allan.dunk
allan.dunk

It's amazing what get's through. Nothing to do with this bike, but i got my son a licenced Thomas the tank Engine bike which has the thread on both pedals back to front, so the pedals unscrewed and fell off as he was riding.


OK

published

Pretty good, the option was to spend much more on dodgy second hand eBay bike, so generally happy with purchase. Not going to find a new full suspension MTB anywhere else at this price!
Very well priced entry level dual suspension bike ($200). I have replaced seat with a good Selle Italia, better aluminium pedals, and a much better quality headstem (original headstem totally inadequate). Shifters and low end quality deraillier all OK. Light frame, dual disc brakes work OK, needed to tighten brake cables after 3 hours use. Just hose down after a muddy ride and do it all again tomorrow!
Poor quality cranks, inadequate seat, rubbish headstem. Front shocks leaking oil after 3 hours of use. Frame squeaks, frame welds very messy.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Lucky Phil

Lucky Philasked

Does anyone know the office address for Crane Sports as I need one wheel for a netball ring and Aldo have only suggested to try online - Good Luck with that!
Anyway if anyone can give me either the contact address or phone number I would appreciate it.
Thanks.
Phillip.

1 answer
Audrey
Audrey

Sorry Phillip - no idea! Good luck.


Blake mate

Blake mateasked

Is this from Aldi?

1 answer
AEG3012
AEG3012

Yes it was


Jim Charlesworth

Jim Charlesworthasked

Is the bjke frame made of alloy steel or aluminium? What is the weight of the bike?

3 answers
Gaza87
Gaza87

Dear Jim, l would guess without having a scale to put the bike on that it's about 10kg and the frame is alloy not steel.

specci82
specci82

I can tell you now that this bike would be well over 10kgs. A full carbon mountain bike with mid-spec components will put you around the 10kg mark. This bike would nearly easily be double that figure. just my 2c but if you are going to buy a cheap no name bike like this I would stay away from a dual suspension as the parts will be very cheap and nasty.

Jim Charlesworth
Jim Charlesworth

Thanks. In the end I opted for a Mongoose 350 (extra large) because I am 189 cm tall. I am thankful that I did. It is a pleasure to ride . Jim


Get an answer from our members and Crane (Aldi) representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.