??!
3 photos
Crossray 4-Burner
4.9 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now

Reviews

4.9

34 reviews
5
(33)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (30)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (29)
  • Preheating Speed
    5.0 (28)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (27) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.9 (27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Best BBQ available

published

Reviewed BBQ options across all brands to replace our Webber. We bought the Crossray 2 burner about a month ago: used most nights instead of the stove, so gets a lot of use: The two burner gives about the same cooking area as our old 4 burner because the Crossray heating means we are cooking on the racks more effectively.
Pork ribs: 45 min; Portuguese chicken: 20 min; Porterhouse steak: 2min each side max
Weight is not excessive, so it can easily be moved around but not move while being used
Easy to put together- yes it is IKEA proof and the directions work
Easy to clean compared to both the Webber and standard 4 burner we had.
Very quick to reach cooking temp and does not burn the food.
Easily the best bbq we have ever had

Purchased in September 2020 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Absolutely devastated.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

What an upgrade

published

After 14 Years of cooking on an old style of BBQ it was time for a new & up to date one, that I could build into a outdoor kitchen. The guys at Crossray were very helpful. Thank. I am looking forward to show it off to my mates.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray 4-Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Customer Service

published

We purchased the 4 burner trolley BBQ and have had it for approx 3 weeks. We have cooked steaks, sausages and pork ribs and have been totally impressed. We did have a problem with number 4 burner initially, one phone call and 24 hours later a new burner was delivered and no further issues. Love the BBQ and great customer service!

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Jesse

JesseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This BBQ keeps getting better and so does the service...

published

When we first got the BBQ we thought it was good but now we think - WOW!!!
It cooks everything so much better and I've had some nice BBQ's over the years. Steak was amazing, we had a roast lamb the other night and the tuna steaks were superb. It cooks so well and so fast!

The service from these guys has been outstanding as well. Brandon is excellent. Always helpful and just keeps on trying to help.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Moochie000

Moochie000Melbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Everything we wanted in a bbq

published

This bbq is everything we were looking for. After hours of research on a bbq. We decided this is exactly what we wanted.
It has so many options in the way of cooking and the food tastes amazing. It is compact but can fit so much on it. A lot more than our old 4 burner. We were going to get a 6burner until we found this. We dealt with Michelle from Crossray/Heatstrip
Michelle has been nothing but amazing and her customer service is amazing, Michelle goes above and beyond for her customers which is greatly appreciated.
We couldn’t be happier with our purchase and our customer service! Thank you

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Best BBQ I have ever owned

published

The Crossray 4 burner is a fantastic BBQ. I love using it. The heat it generates and the speed at which it heats up is unparalled. I use it for cooking steaks, pizzas, slow cooking ribs and making unbelievable moist and tasty chickens on the rotisserie. Brandon has provided amazing sales and service support in the year I have had this BBQ . I can't ask for anything better.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Noisyfridge

Noisyfridgesyd

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

A few issues but outstanding customer service so all fixed

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray
Peter00

Peter00South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic BBQ-will never settle for a cheap&nasty again!

published

Overall quality was very good, easy to assemble and even came with tools needed!
One minor problem was fixed with a simple phone call- Brandon went above what I was expecting

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray 4-Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ty D.

Ty D.Sydney, NSW

A fantastic BBQ and very satisfied

published

BBQ has been very easy to operate and looks fantastic.
Quality is very sturdy and well built.
Customer service has been great.
Definitely can see this BBQ lasting a long time to come.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Hans

HansGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

4 burner built in, best choice

published

We bought a 4 burner built in model, converted it to natural gas. It looks and feels fantastic. Very happy with our choice. New grilling techniques have to be explored, however new methods are very well explained with video and tutorials. Have fun

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Paul

PaulNorthern Region, NSW

I have finally found it!

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
JoH

JoHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent service

published

Dealing with Thermofilm Australia for purchase of this BBQ has been very easy. I can't fault the customer service they have provided. It has been really great; very responsive and friendly. Competitive prices too. Next review will be for using the BBQ!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Graeme

GraemeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Simply Outstanding

published
  • +1

Purchased in July 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Exceptional product

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray 4-Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Exceeded expectations

published

Purchased the 4 burner Crossray in January after throwing out another BBQ that rusted out and under performed. The Crossray exceeded my expectations and the heat it pumps out is awsome across the whole grille cooking surface. Able to cook meat like a commercial grille and made us realise we've been struggling and trying to get a decent outcome on our previous units. Using the Crossray demonstrated we were wasting our time with the previous BBQs trying to achieve a consistent sear. Temperature control is great, quick and consistent. Our internal electric oven broke just before Easter and to boot we were able to bake hot cross buns and bread in the Crossray as well. Highly recommend.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
James Barton

James BartonSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Exceptional BBQ, with fantastic customer support!

published

Cooks food beautifully and quickly, was most impressed with the quality and design.
One of the side tables had a small scratch when i un-boxed it. Contacted the Crossray customer support team, who i had been making inquiries with prior to purchasing the BBQ, and they sent out a replacement immediately. The support and backup for this product is unmatched.
I highly recommend this BBQ!

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great replacement BBQ, waited too long

published

Sausages and roast vegetables cook so well on the top rack. Steak is amazing on the grill. Added our existing pizza oven to the grill, fabulous even heat. Easy to clean the outside of the BBQ and gril, need to learn more about cleaning the inside of the hood.

Purchased in December 2019 at Heatstrip Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It’s a fresh new way to bbq with. O hassle.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Crossray.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

BEST grill I ever owned. Really!! Ever!

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Amazon for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 2
See all Crossray Infrared reviews

Questions & Answers

Aussie F.

Aussie F.asked

4-Burner Built-In

Is there any retailer in western sydney that can cook me a steak on a crossray before I purchase?

3 answers
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi, you can try the BBQ store in silverwater or tuckers BBQ.

Best regards,

Aussie F.
Aussie F.

Do you do product demonstrations from time to time? If so, whereabouts? Also, will you be attending meatstock next year?

Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi, usually we use to do cooking demonstrations from time to time but ever since covid-19 pandemic happened. Unfortunately, demonstrations have stopped.

We also wouldn't be attending meatstock next year.

Have you contact BBQ store or tuckers regarding a demo?

carly

carlyasked

4-Burner Built-In

Hi, I'm looking at purchasing a built in BBQ. Does this one have interchangeable hot plates? I only see the grill in all these reviews. The reviews are also all within the last year or so. I am wondering what the SS quality is - 304 or 316? I'd like to know if there have been any issues with rust over time.
Thanks, Carly

1 answer
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi Carly, our CROSSRAY BBQ does have interchangeable hotplates available but the hotplates need to be purchased separately. The grill & hotplates are made from caste iron enamel. Caste iron enamel is the best material to keep in heat. To prolong the life of the caste iron, you will need to place oil on the grill or hotplate when not in use. If you require further information or assistance, please email sales@thermofilm.com.au

Jan B

Jan Basked

4-Burner Built-In

Can Crossray 4 burner built-in run on Natural Gas?

1 answer
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi Jan, The CROSSRAY 4 Burner can certainly be run on Natural Gas. All our units are designed has LPG units, to convert the BBQ to NG you will need to purchase the natural gas conversion kit. If you require further information or assistance, please email Sales@thermofilm.com.au

Get an answer from our members and Crossray representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Crossray Infrared
Crossray 4-Burner Trolley
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 4-Burner Trolley

5.0
(8)
Crossray 4-Burner Built-In
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 4-Burner Built-In

4.8
(26)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) A$1,399.00A$1,299.00
TypeFreestandingBuilt-In
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking, On Wheels, Storage Cabinet, Temperature Gauge and Warming RackGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking and Temperature Gauge
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 1255 x 1685 x 505 mm560 x 910 x 505 mm
Weight48 kg33 kg
Gas TypeLPGLPG
Number of Burners/Zones 44
Gas Rate 13 mJ/hr13 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 4 Crossray Infrared

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.