4 photos
D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A

D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A (page 2 of 2)

MPN: DSL-2888A
3.9 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (6)
  • Number of Connected Devices 8.333 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.1 (7)
  • Reliability
    3.1 (7)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.7 (7)
Previous
Next

No provision to connect fixed line telephone

published

Wanted to replace my Gateway Modem for better wi fi and had no issues connecting to NBN however there is no provision to connect my household phone. The supplied splitter is useless for NBN.
Have since found out that you have to purchase next model up with two phone connection points. The lack of a facility to connect your household phone should be included in the promotional information

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
fried chicken
fried chickenACT
  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified

This is an excellent device.

published

In my experience this modem router is a very powerful device. I have been using this for about a month now, with ths arrival of FTTN NBN. I get very consistent sync speeds and the connection is very reliable. My house is composed mostly of brick, and signal from the other end was still very strong. Excellent device.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Andrew
AndrewSouthside
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Haven't had an issue

published

Easy to set up, dual band modem from D-Link which is usually a good company to buy modems from if you look at forums about their firmware updates and ease of warranty claims. Using it as a main modem but i know people who do use it as a bridging modem and they've had a good experience with it also.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Modems

Find out how D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AARYAN GUPTA
AARYAN GUPTAMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Hate It

published

I bought this modem 1 year ago always had the issue from the beginning. Complaint to d-link couple of times and nothing got sorted.

Every now and then the signals drops out. Overall I wasn't happy with it ended up returning the product and never buying the dlink products again.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Nicklegao
NicklegaoNSW, 2217
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good modem

published

Already had enough with my old laggy modem so bought this just before the new year when it was on promotion - as a new year gift for myself ^*_*^
This product is very easy to setup, and has beautiful and friendly console, not quite get the advanced settings part though but that is not an issue at all for normal family use.
However, although it has 3 antennas, the signal in my bedroom upstairs is still not full.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Jez
Jez
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great Modem for decent price

published

Easy setup. Do not have to download any drivers, just plug and go. Impressive signal strength. Wi-Fi never drops. Phone stays connected after leaving 10 meters from premise (premise has really thick walls as well). Wi-Fi speed is relatively fast. By staying within 3 meters of this modem there is no need for LAN cable to maintain a great up/down ratio.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
henry
henry
  • 3 reviews

No Dramas

published

Bought this for my newly activated NBN connection as i didn't want to use the one the provider provides. Easy to install. User interface is simple, lots of nice features if you have more people in your house, such as speed limit on each end terminals etc. also has cloud feature which i am yet to figure out.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Johnny J
Johnny JMelbourne
  • 4 reviews

Does what it supposed to do

published

No complaints, easy setup with good coverage. Bought one two months ago to replace a stock router and am very impressed. Had no issues setting it up. Software is easy to customize . Good speeds, does not drop out no issues thus far would recommend to all happy buying all

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
matts
mattsPerth
  • 4 reviews

Does the job, could be better

published

A reliable and easy device to use. Only took 10minutes to setup and get things up and running .little dissapointed with the wifi range, it does not reach more than 20m through the house. Interface via a url is easy to use and manage. device stays cool and is low on power consumption

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Modems

Find out how D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
The Major
The MajorTasmania
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Good NBN Router

published

Purchased this to replace Telstra NBN modem which kept dropping out. So far there has been no problem whatsoever. It is fast, does not drop out and does what it is supposed to. After so many problems with the previous modem and provider I am very happy with this purchase

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kirstie
KirstieToowoomba
  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great mid range FTTN compatible modem

published

Very easy to set up, good speeds, dual band (companies should stop selling single band tbh), all for a decent price. Had to "upgrade" when I moved from a place with ADSL2 to another with only NBN as the internet option. At least this has backward compatibility (can use for both ADSL2 and NBN) if I move again to an area without NBN.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
George23
George23VIC, 3840
  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Easy to use and trouble free

published

I bought one about a month ago to replace a modem that dropped connections. It was super easy to set up and its been very stable ever since. There is a recent firmware upgrade that improves how the user interface works. Very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to others.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Right Choice
Right ChoiceAU
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cannot fault it

published

The PYTHON - Dual Band Wireless AC1600 Gigabit ADSL2+/VDSL2 Modem Router is stable and fast. Only got 25/25 but switched to the python and the speed improved to 85/35. Apparently, the Chinese chipset is ideal for FTTN connections where you are more than 400m from the pillar. Not a techy, but I guess the proof is in the pudding...

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 2 of 2

Questions & Answers

L c k
L c kasked

How do you reset passwords?...we lost the information we had to reset passwords and can not remember it now we want to change it please help

1 answer
Raymond
Raymond

Just call dlink help

Shaun K.
Shaun K.asked

is it compatible with internode internet provider

1 answer
Raymond
Raymond

It is compatable with any isp(internode included) , compatable with adsl and all types of nbn, to set it up your self you need internode settings for the type of internet you will get

Foong
Foongasked

I bought this modem last month and haven’t issues with the poor WiFi signal. The speed is slow and my son has issues connecting to WiFi on his oppo phone due to weak WiFi signal. How to configure the router to improve the WiFi signal?

1 answer
Shane Jones
Shane Jones

Mine works perfect out of the box. Best bet would be to call your internet provider or the manufacturer of the modem either shpuld ne able to help with the problem.

See all D-Link Python AC1600 DSL-2888A questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $249.95
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesExternal Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL2+ and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 37 x 230 x 155 mm
Weight0.52 kg
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: DSL-2888A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.