??!
5 photos
Daikin FDYQN Series

Daikin FDYQN Series

FDYQN140, FDYQN125, FDYQN100, etc...
3.9 from 9 reviews

Reviews

3.9

9 reviews
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Julie

JulieDarling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews

This air conditioner has made such a difference to our lives

published

This air conditioner works amazingly well. The control panel is high tech however easy to use. We love the fact that we can turn it on remotely from our phones.

Purchased in January 2020 at Absolute Cool Toowoomba for A$15,413.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Mark B.

Mark B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Great air conditioner / heater

published

We had one of these units, with 6 zones installed in our new double story 250m2 home as it was being built, along with the Advantage Air tablet control system. Very powerful and efficient system - the Advantage Air provides individually controlled temp zones and allows us to control it from our smart phones (from anywhere). Very powerful and very quick to cool down our home (or just a single room) on a hot day. The only thing we would note is you do need at least 3 vents open at any one time - works well for us as a family, generally having at least two rooms on, but it wouldn't be possible to only use it in say a bedroom without having the living area on at the same time.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$12,310.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Karl

KarlHunter Region, NSW

Don’t buy this if you like your neighbours!!

published

While this unit may provide exceptional cooling to your house, the unit produces a wonderful buzzing noise sure to drive your neighbours mad, and then Daiken will tell you there is nothing wrong. Buy an actron esp instead, buy anything other than this loud and offensive unit. It’s like living next to a 132kv transformer.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how Daikin FDYQN Series compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Saved us from the extreme weather!

published

We tried to live without air-conditioning for a long time to minimise our carbon footprint, until our baby is born last year. New parents would understand that it's hard for babies to fall asleep when it's super hot/humid.

As this is a big investment, we did our research thoroughly to ensure our decision is one that is wise and careful. We have now installed the Daikin ducted system for almost a year and I have to say we are very happy with it! It cools and heats quickly and the machine outside is fairly quiet. Having zoning saves on electricity and is more environmentally friendly too.

Overall, we would highly recommend the Daikin ducted system!

Purchased in April 2018 for A$6,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Leigh

LeighMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Breakdown after one year

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Leigh
Leigh
Mikevdz

MikevdzNew South Wales

  • 11 reviews

Great air

published

My Daikin AC kept my house warm this winter, heating up a big living room. Power rating on the high side but if you need the house heated up, there is a cost. Great features with the standard AC but even better with the connected iZone functionality. Easy to use, Great iPad Wall panel with flexibility to manage the AC from mobile devices. Change AC requirements for each room individually.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Dazza

DazzaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great air conditioner

published

Was advised by the person I had install my air conditioner who I had a lot of trust in that this air conditioner was the best pick of them all so on his advice I went with it and can say I am glad I took his advice. I am very happy with this one as it seems to do the job with ease and is so quiet and efficient. Would certainly be recommending Daikin to anyone I know wanting to purchase a air conditioner, love it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
MTT

MTT

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Glad to have installed when we did

published

Very quiet, efficient and cools very quickly. Installation was done very efficiently and professionally. Control panel simple to operate.I think its reputation as a superior brand in the market is well earned.No issue for past 4 years of heating and cooling especially in the 40-degree centigrade summer we have been experiencing.With the energy bill skyrocketing it is an expensive option but essential to comfortable living.

Date PurchasedNov 2013

Stops when you need it most

published

I have had this sytem installed in my new house and it has given nothing but trouble.
As soon as it getss to hot or a thunder storm strikes the outdoor unit/compressor stops working.
I rang the installer and he said "it happens and YOU have to reset it outside"
Oh so I spend 13k to go outside on a 40C day and reset my AC.
I had to do it 5 times before it would work.
I think daikin are to high tech and not too highly tested. Bit in front of themselves technically.
Would I buy or recommend Daikin? No.

Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how Daikin FDYQN Series compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

FSA

FSAasked

FDYQN100

advise the total cooling capacity at the following setpoints :
Indoor unit
Air on coil = 30°C DB / 22°C WB

Outdoor unit
Air on coil = 40°C

No answers
George K.

George K.asked

FDYQN160

Is this model Daikin inverter FDYQN160 adequate for a 270sq.m. (29 square) 2 storey home?

1 answer
dhkzip
dhkzip

Too small

Sam

Samasked

FDYQN Series

What are the noise levels of the outdoor unit like? I'm thinking of getting the FDYQN160 but don't want it to be loud enough to bother the neighbours.

2 answers
Leigh
Leigh

Our outdoor unit is situated directly outside our kitchen window and the sound from it has never really been a problem. It is certainly not loud. As we live in the country the unit faces out onto shrubbery and small trees so there are no hard surfaces to reflect sound (if you live in the city, for example, and neighbours are close and there are plenty of concrete walls, hard fences, etc). Even still, the two fans don't seem to make much sound.
I should also point out that the unit did break down in the first year and the problem was a faulty printed circuit board but it was replaced quickly and efficiently.
The whole system cools the house very well in out hot summers but is not so good at heating in the winter.
However, we are generally very happy with it and sound has never been a real problem.

Sam
Sam

Thanks for the thorough answer, Leigh!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.