??!
1 photo
David Jones American Express

David Jones American Express

2.8 from 63 reviews

See the Best Rewards Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • 15,000 Reward Points or 7,500 Qantas Points on offer

  • Earn up to 3 Reward Points or 1.5 Qantas Points per dollar (1 Reward Point = 0.5 Qantas Points)

Cons

  • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

  • $99 Annual Fee

Details

If you shop frequently at David Jones, this AmEx card has plenty of features specific to David Jones that you may benefit from. It will cost you $99 each year, but you'll also get no annual fee for the first year for new Additional Card holders ($29 p.a. thereafter). And right now if you apply online for a new card, you'll be eligible to receive either 15,000 Bonus Membership Rewards Points or 7,500 Qantas Points when you are approved and spend $750 outside David Jones in the first three months of become a Card Member.

Key Benefits

  • Purchase Protection: You'll be covered for 90 days for the theft or damage to eligible items purchased on your David Jones American Express Card
  • Attached Rewards Program: You can choose either American Express Membership Rewards or Qantas Frequent Flyer as your rewards program.
Earning Points:
  • 3 Reward Points per dollar spent at major supermarkets and petrol stations
  • 2 Reward Points per dollar spent at David Jones
  • 1 Reward Point per dollar spent everywhere else

For Qantas Frequent Flyer Points, 1 AMEX Reward Point = 0.5 Qantas Points. This means that if you use this card for your everyday groceries and fuel for your car, you'll receive a pretty good earn rate of 1.5 Qantas Points per dollar.

What are the benefits I can get for shopping at David Jones?

  • Complimentary Standard Delivery to any address in Australia (excluding gift cards, hampers and fresh food, Wine Club, Gift Registry and large items)
  • Complimentary Gift Wrapping
  • Exclusive Fashion Events Invitations
  • Up to Four Years Interest Free with no deposit when you spend $500 or more on homewares, furniture, bedding or electrical items at David Jones. Choose from either 12, 18, 24 36 or 48 equal monthly instalments depending on the plan. However, a $35 establishment fee and a $2.95 monthly account keeping fee applies to each new interest free instalment credit option.
  • Fashion Pay Later option - defer payments for a period of 3 months on all purchases of women's and men's apparel, shoes and fashion accessories with a single transaction value of $250 or more
  • Christmas Deferred Payment Option - available for purchases made at David Jones between 1 November and 24 December. The deferred payment period expires 31 January in the following year.

Fees and Charges

The David Jones American Express Credit Card comes with a 44 day interest free period and an interest rate of 20.74% p.a. on purchases, so if you're looking for a longer interest free period or lower interest rate, this isn't the best card for you. For overseas travel or shopping online from overseas merchants, you won't get any complimentary travel insurances and you'll have to pay a 3% foreign transaction fee, so keep that in mind when deciding if this card suits your needs.

CategoryRewards Credit Cards
Contact Number 1300 368 989
24-Hour Phone Contact Yes
Online Live Chat Yes
Card TypeAmerican Express
BenefitsSign-Up Bonus Points Offer
Minimum Credit Limit $2,000
Minimum Income $40,000
Minimum Repayments2.5%
Rewards ProgramAmerican Express Membership Rewards and Qantas Frequent Flyer
Points Earn Rate 3 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 3 points per $1 spent at major supermarkets and petrol stations,

  • 2 points per $1 spent at David Jones,

  • 1 point per $1 spent everywhere else.

Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate20.74% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2%
Late Payment Fee$30
Annual Fee$99 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%
Interest Free Period 44 days
Introductory Offers
Sign-Up Bonus 15,000 Membership Rewards Points or 7,500 Qantas Points when you spend $750 outside David Jones within the first 3 months.
Release dateDec 2008

Visit official website

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
10
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
28

Up to Four Years Interest Free on certain DJ's purchases over $500

published

We price matched other retailers with David Jones to furnish our new house with furniture and white goods. We signed up during a bonus points promotion and earned more points on our purchases. Great card for DJ's customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2014
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

Ronnie

RonnieThe Mallee, VIC

Its mediocore credit card

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
J Harvey

J HarveySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Alright card for signup bonus and supermarket/petrol spending

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
WL77

WL77Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Alright

published

Pro: It is nice to get extra discount when purchasing at David Jones store.
Con: Amex cards are not accepted by some retailers and some would charger a higher fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

You can earn 4 points of each dollar spend in David Jones. It is very convenience for the shoppers always shop in the DJ

published

You can earn point easily with this card. Most of all places can earn points. However, some small store that do not accept Amex. Probably they charge too much for them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


dsharma

dsharmaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great great great rewards

published

We got it when shopping and wanted something delivered as they didn't have it at that David jones. Salegirl suggested to go for this card. I think its great as we get points on each spend and i jave been able to redeem those points for David Jones purchased. It just suits my need well. Its very simple to redeem points when buying online. Delivery is free with this card. I know Amex isn't acceptable but in supermarkets, fuel stores it is.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Andre B.

Andre B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good only if you shop frequently at David Jones

published

Got this card when shopping at David Jones for a housewarming gift. We wanted the gift gift wrapped, so we asked the salesman who promptly advised we would get free gift wrapping if we had the David Jones Amex Card. We would also receive a $150 gift card in the form of David Jones Points. We thought yeah why not! The catch is however there is a $99 annual fee. We decided to sign up and to this day, 15 months later.. I still haven't paid it off :(

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Rabi

RabiSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Tia card is only good for David Jones shopping and complementary shipping

published

Complementary shipping, doesn’t really matter where you are in Australia.
every now and then you get extra 10% discount on the sale items.
Drawbacks: most of the retailers charge to use Amex or doesn’t accept Amex.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tammy

TammySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for David Jones points

published

Signed up with David Jones Promotion and cancelled after a year. I like the redeem points and free shipping features when using this card with David Jones online. Easy to convert the points to goods with fair transfer rate. I never use the card outside Australia.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers
bloomer

bloomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Useful for some people

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Gokhan D.

Gokhan D.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great points system

published

I signed up at the time they were giving bonus DJ's points & got my work signed up also.They even gave me additional points for each referral. I ended up converting them to over 1k is David Jones gift card

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


L Wang

L WangSouth East Queensland, QLD

Frequently used credit card

published

Easy to accumulate points and redeem them into credits or David jones shopping items
Really good for daily shopping usage, such as supermarket and online shopping
Have not tried to use it overseas yet

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


woozie

wooziePerth, WA

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

Good value so far...

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

jim  mutton

jim muttonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

great card no problems at all

published

we found the david jones american express card among the simplest to use and the rewards program also very good and efficent and we turn our points into cash for christmas easy money and it is surprising just how quickly the points mount up good as or better than most others

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Overseas/Travel
See all answers
sheema Z.

sheema Z.Sydney, NSW

Worth credit card

published

The worth credit card i have ever used in my life. Please dont apply for this credit card at all. The customer service are really bad and even the managers or supervisor are not helpfull. You can get other credit cards with more benefits.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Lyndon and Aynslee

Lyndon and AynsleeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

USE YOUR DAVID JONES AMEX CARD WISELY

published

My wife and I have used our D.J. AMEX card now for many years. At least five times a year we cash in a $100 credit. Who's complaining - we love it. We pay for the things that are essential only. Fuel, HCF, groceries, Bunnings, Chemist Warehouse and any other store that doesn't charge a fee for using AMEX.

Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Kapil

KapilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Alright card

published

I am alright with the card, i use and pay on time, don't use the card much. Always been a cash person and try to use cash as much as possible.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Dave

Dave

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Loyalty card requiring a credit check

published

Pretty poor card 1. The reward points have significantly less value per point then the standard amex cards. 2. If in store they will convince you to get the card to save 10 percent. Issue is the process to sign up and also ensure that you meet the sign up annual fee waiver is messy (I.e 3 transactions in a short period) . The card is essentially a standard loyalty card but requires a credit check.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

JJK

JJKGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Customer support nightmares not worth your time

published

I’ve not experienced a worse customer service than from David Jones American Express team. They do not stick to their promises at all. I’ve been eligible for a $250 David Jones gift voucher which never arrived since last May 2018. It’s Feb 2019 as I write this. I still haven’t received it and each time I make a call, I’m told it’s being processed and that I will get a call back or that the card should arrive in 7 to 10 days... That’s how we’ve ended up here. This company clearly is experiencing a lot of issues, I would not be surprised to see it collapse at the rate they are managing clients. I’ve canceled the card and discourage strongly of anyone looking to sign up to this migraine inducing experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

Bijay

BijayAustralian Capital Territory

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great card to have.

published

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

joshgladwin

joshgladwinasked

Hello. Is there any way of obtaining a higher credit limit than $2,000 or is that the maximum credit limit? I've had the card for over 2 years and have made numerous requests for credit limit increases, only to be declined every time. I have more than sufficient evidence of income.

No answers

Edith

Edithasked

I want to cancel my credit card. Can I do this at my local David Jones store?

1 answer
David G
David G

no.


Phill Chau

Phill Chauasked

how can I activate my card?

2 answers

I would call the number on the back of your card but now that Amex is involved nothing is straight forward. So much easier when DJs were managing their store cards and much nicer staff to speak to.

David G
David G

You can do this online.


Get an answer from our members and David Jones representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.