??!
5 photos
Dell Inspiron 15 3000 Series

Dell Inspiron 15 3000 Series

MPN: A510830AU
2.0 from 45 reviews

Reviews

2.0

45 reviews
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(24)
Previous
Next

Piece of crap computer and dell knows it

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$500.00.

Mackay

MackayCentral Queensland, QLD

The worst laptop I have ever bought.

published

Really upset with this laptop. I bought it from Dell 4 months ago. The screen was the first disappointment. My cheapest laptop had a better screen. The keyboard needs to be hit with your fingers to work.
Windows 10 is very slow and the windows update stopped it working. My Commodore 64 seemed faster. So I tried putting windows 7 but refused to install it. I took it to a computer shop in Mackay to get them to have windows 7 put on it they quoted me $100...after a week they called me and said it could not be done.
Ah well going to Gumtree. ...if that doesn't work I will see if I can flush it down the toilet.

Purchased in February 2020 at Dell Australia for A$650.00.

2pha

2phaAU

  • 9 reviews

Can't recommend it

published

I received my Dell 3583 in the mail a few days back, bought directly from Dell Australia.
When I bought it I opted for the Full HD 1080p screen option.
Out of the box the screen looks totally washed out and looks terrible.
I was able to make it look a bit better by tweaking the display colors and saturation in the Intel Graphics Control Panel under Display > Color Settings.
But the screen still bad and has really bad viewing angles. Move your head up or down by anything over a couple of cm and the screen colours shift really badly.
Maybe the one with the standard HD screen is better, I don't know.

I was quite surprised at how bad it is. The XPS 15 I have had for 3 years is great.

Purchased in April 2020 at Dell Australia for A$629.00.

Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 3000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacob

JacobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Piece of crap!

published

Had bought this back in July 2018 and had issues with it and got the issues fixed. Now the lcd is dead. Don’t buy this heap of crap at all.

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$600.00.

Natsully

NatsullySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

IF you only use one application at a time, it's fine...anything else and it's S-L-O-W

published

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for A$775.00.

Alen J.

Alen J.Sydney, NSW

Terrible laptop

published

I bought Inspiron 15 3000 and I have regret.This laptop is useless and so slow.
There is no value for money.I will not buy any dell product any more.This is a shame for DELL.

G.Toouli

G.ToouliGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Worst purchase in my entire life - misleading product listing on website

published

During Dell's sale, I purchased a Dell Inspiron 15 3000 laptop as it was a good deal, but upon arrival, there were no accessories (ie laptop bag etc), which is fair enough considering the deal, but there was also NO CHARGER so it was not a usable product at all. When contacted customer service about this, I was notified that this particular laptop does not come with a charger, and has to be purchased separately. Checking the product listing on Dell's official website again, the description/specifications did not specify that the charger was not included, and under the list of "recommended accessories to purchase" there was no charger under in that list either. This is very poor customer service and very misleading.

Purchased in November 2019 at Dell Australia for A$299.00.

bunkum

bunkumGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Completely shithouse keyboard; trackpad almost as bad

published

don't really have complaints about slow performance (which is what everyone else seems to be complaining about), it seems as fast as anything else I've used, but I'm just using for web surfing, video watching, email and word processing so far. Mine has 8GB RAM, almost 1 TB HD. My main and HUGE issue is the utterly shithouse keyboard, and the almost-as-bad trackpad. Any typing on it is just totally painful. It's hardware, NOT software-related too, because you get the same problems in Notepad - many keys, such as space bar, apostrophe, Backspace, etc, have to be hit multiple times before they work. Utterly painful. Bought for about $900 at JB Hi Fi, a couple of days ago.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$900.00.

What junk

published

This computer is very unstable and erratic. It is very, very slow. You get a very low end computer that is not worth wasting your money on. I would spend a little more and not have to put up with all its idiosyncrasies.

Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 3000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RedM

RedM

  • 2 reviews

Poor performance improved after Support Assist

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Dell Australia for A$800.00.

kmitchell_Vic

kmitchell_VicGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

It is the slowest laptop I have ever had. And I had a laptop in the early 90s!

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

MumTo3

MumTo3

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Frustrating machine!

published

I really hate this laptop! I bought it whilst my other laptop was getting fixed under warranty which was taking too long and am I regretful! It’s slow, painfully slow. It lags, A LOT! Watching movies etc is very laggy. The start up takes forever! It freezes a lot. The speakers were fine the first 2 weeks, now can barely hear any sound.
My advice, stay away!

Purchased in June 2019 for A$800.00.

Stuart C.

Stuart C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

A solid budget level laptop

published

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$549.00.

Jackie

JackieCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Slow performance, ongoing wifi issues and limited battery life

published

It has taken 3 weeks and many phone hours to get this laptop to a point where the performance is almost acceptable. The main problem is very slow download, zero upload. The router replacement made no difference. After reading users reviews it seems many others have had the same problems, short battery life, slow performance and wifi issues. One user had success after uninstalling SmartByte, I did the same and it really made a difference. I now have some Upload, not terrific, but some. My main question is that reviews for more than a year are all complaining about the same thing, so why has dell not done something about it. And if someone can provide me direct access to dell by phone or email, I would very much appreciate it.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB HiFi Mackay for A$1,189.00.

Never again

published

A few months ago I made a warranty request for the charger due to a conduit clean break. I had always stored this cable as per the photo on the Dell site. Their reply, I stood on the cable, also chargers and cables aren't covered. I had constant problems with the network cable and wireless adapter. I have performed numerous troubleshoot to fix this. It operates for awhile then it repeats. A technician has advised me to buy a laptop from a company with better products, customer service and warranty. I should have learnt my lesson with my XPS i7.

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Laptops

Find out how Dell Inspiron 15 3000 Series compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JJJ

JJJGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

waste of time

published

bought the unit on the 9/6/19 took it home was on it for about 10mins started to play up, did not come back on... JB replaced the unit with a new one on the 10/6/19. . was working.. then internet was dropping out had to keep using the tool to restore the connection, I will be returning this unit as I am spending more time try to connect to the internet an no work is being done.. How is it possible that a company can build a unit that has so many issues.. It was around $700. Will not purchase a dell model again.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$740.00.

Complete Fraud!

published

Slowest computer I've ever seen in my life and i grew up in the 80's during the green screen. Completely worthless to even open takes hours to open a email, and its brand new!!!! I dont even know what else to say other than never ever ever will i buy a dell computer. And i suggest you do the same and spend your money on something that actually works.

Purchased in June 2018 at Staples.com.au for A$500.00.

mwnew

mwnewHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

Slowest laptop ever

published

I cant believe that this laptop can be so slow for something so new. Good processor but just doesn't work. I will never buy a Dell again, Had an MPS years ago. Never again!!

Purchased in March 2019 for A$640.00.

Pathetic

published

Worst laptop I ever used.. it's lagging when i'm writing this.. so slow that sometimes i fear to start ms excel. purchased it one month back now i am thinking to purchase a new laptop. it takes a long to start up. wifi detector stop working frequently... even i'm connected on it and working its suddenly shows no wifi no internet connection.

Purchased in March 2019.

Terrible laptop, do not buy

published

Just needed laptop for simple Microsoft office use and internet browsing. So so so SLOW! Takes about a minute per click to do just the simplest tasks, internet always drops out and requires restarting. Took back after two weeks of frustration

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$750.00.

Page 1 of 3
See all Dell Inspiron 15 reviews

Questions & Answers

Gordon J.

Gordon J.asked

Inspiron 15 3000 Series

My laptop Dell Inspirion 15 3000 is just 3 yrs old. Its been getting slower and slower ti fire up and now it won't start at all. According to my local IT person on testing suggests the motherboard is stuffed. Anyone else having the same trouble ??????. Brought from JB HI FI around $650. GORDON WA.

1 answer
Jason
Jason

HI Gordon, did you create the Dell restore media? if not you could try booting from a bootable CD/USB and see if you can get it to work, the CD/USB media uses a minimal set of drivers to allow the laptop to operate... might give some clues as to what is going on, good luck....

Robert D.

Robert D.asked

Inspiron 15 3000 Series

Does this model have a DVD player?

1 answer
Jennjne
Jennjne

Not sure, but he 15 5000 does. Go on to Dells site and search for it.
www.dell.com.au

Cecil

Cecilasked

Inspiron 15 3000 Series

Suddenly after not being in use for ten days my computer, a Dell Inspiron won’t turn on. What is the problem and how can I fix it

2 answers
gadallma
gadallma

Hi Cecil, I'm sorry I cannot help you with this problem.

Jennjne
Jennjne

I had the same problem. The battery went so low that I had to leave it on charge for over 24 hours to get it going again. My lappie is only 3 months old too. The only other problem could be a virus.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.