??!
3 photos
DeLonghi Brillante Kettle
2.9 from 37 reviews

Reviews

2.9

37 reviews
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(10)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Katangie

KatangieAU

  • 3 reviews

Nice looking but not good quality

published

After 2years, the plastic on inside of spout started to disintegrate, the plastic on the lower part of the lid and top of kettle around silver edging breaking away. Pricey product, poor quality. Had a stainless steel Russell Hobbs for 20years before it gave up.

Denise

DeniseSydney, NSW

Extra Noisy

published

Love the look of my red kettle , but the noise is unbelievable which I find surprising for such an expensive kettle.The water boils quite quickly , but it is difficult to see the water level .

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Not happy with product

published

For a good looking kettle it’s not very practical. Doesn’t pour easily. Shouldn’t have thrown out my 30yo Russell Hobs kettle!! I definitely don’t recommend this kettle for people with arthritis.

Purchased in December 2019.

Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Brillante Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The inner surface of the spout disintegrates over time.

published

The interior surface of the kettle spout has significantly disintegrated. It was detected as powdery residue in our water. Kettle purchase date is within 2 years. It is unknown how long we have been ingesting this powdery residue. I have made a formal complaint to DeLonghi. I do not recommend this product.

Sue Parkes

Sue ParkesCentral, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A big disappointment.

published

I was quite excited when I bought my new Delonghi kettle and it worked well. Unfortunately though after about 8 months there was a definite plastic taste to the boiled water. Upon inspection inside I found the plastic was breaking down. A white dust came off if you rubbed your finger inside. A big disappointment.

Purchased in September 2018 at Big W.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Disintegrating Plasic

published

Made the mistake of purchasing two of these kettles , as they were very light , attractive and stylish but over a short period of time the plastic deterioration was substantial , as plastic particles from the kettle was mixing with the water , would not recommend purchasing.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$110.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TobiasD

TobiasDSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Plastic disintegration! Avoid!!

published

Kettle looks great. Plastic water level indicator has broken down even though it’s out of direct sunlight and disintegrated resulting in us getting scalded trying to use it once boiled.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Michael

MichaelSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good looking Kettle

published

It's a good looking kettle and fits in well with my kitchen. It's quite and easy to keep clean. The water reader is located under the handle and can be hard to read. Water heats up quite quickly and taste isn't effected by the heating of the water. Overall a good kettle.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Very disappointing

published

I will have the model but not at hand at time of writing this ...love the look of my kettle ...pretty noisy but can deal with that ....bought this just before we left for a month long holiday oct/nov and today the 21 nov 2018 I boiled kettle and it just kept boiling spewing hot water over everyone including the power switch .....turned off and let it sit for a few hours to try again ....same thing ....the kettle wasn’t anywhere near full!!!! Taking back to Good Guys in Midland Perth today!!! Potentially very dangerous in my opinion!!!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Brillante Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carolyn

Carolyn

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Lovely looking kettle but plastic!

published

Had the kettle 3 years and then it began to leak. Electrics were still fine but it had to go to land fill. Appearance is great and I initially thought I was buying a metal kettle but it's plastic and like all plastic kettles its finish detiorates over time and the plastic breaks down. I've now replaced it with a stainless kettle.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Marta

MartaBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy so far

published

It works great. Purchased today at BigW. Very quiet kettle. It is stylish and nice to look at. But the kettle looks better on photos then in reality. However, it takes for ages to boil water (about 5 min or more to boil 1.7 L). Our old cheap kettle from Kmart was faster)) Very lightweight. You can not overfill this kettle because of the steal water level inside. I am happy with my purchase so far.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Soso

SosoSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Disintegrating plastic

published

Our kettle started disintegrating on the inside, white plastic was melting into the water. Make sure you check your kettle, we have been boiling water for out twin boys in this kettle for 2 years! Very scary! Don't know how long this was happening before we noticed, there should be a warning about shelf life on the product packaging.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Jacqui O

Jacqui OMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Quick and relatively quiet kettle

published

I only recently purchased this kettle from Myer, however so far so good. It heats the water much faster than my previous kettle and it is relatively quiet. It is also very aesthetically pleasing. I do have two minor criticisms, one is that the power light is in an odd spot and I sometimes find it difficult to find. I also find that I tend to overfill it because the water gauge is also in an add spot and I cannot see it when I am filling the kettle. Other than that, I am happy with this purchase so far.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Cosmic

CosmicSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite good

published

We liked it. Got about 5 years out of it, using many times during the day.
Plastic looks better in photos than real life, but its a decent item.
Quiet as well.

Date PurchasedJan 2012

Ok, until it started disintegrating

published

This kettle is stylish and relatively practical. We have had ours for approx 4 years, however, the spout has started disintegrating, leaving flaking plastic in the water. So, even though the kettle itself works perfectly, I have to dispose of it. Very disappointing as far as contributing to landfill unnecessarily and also putting our health at risk. The next kettle we get will be made of metal.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Brillante Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kylie1983

kylie1983Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this

published

Love love love my delonghi black diamond look kettle, heats water quite quickly, so simple and easy to clean, came in a fantastic range of colours with also having a matching toaster. If I had to pick something bad I think for the money it shouldn't be plastic but other than that I lovvvve it

Date PurchasedOct 2016

looks good but noisy

published

Looks great, and matches my toaster, BUT this is now the 3rd kettle(same model)see how long this one lasts. 1st one blew up , 2nd one (REPLACEMENT)kept going off before it had boiled so exchanged it again, major downside: it is definately the noisiest kettle I have ever had.cannot hear the TV in lounge if we don't shut the kitchen door.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dimitri

DimitriMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 51 reviews
  • 18 likes

Boils Perfect Cup of Tea

published

Or so my wife says! We both love this kettle, because it seems to always boil our water the right temperature. We have had this kettle for two years now, and have had no issues, whereas, other kettles have only really lasted us around 12 months only. The external casing does not over heat like other kettles.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Rosetta

Rosetta

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing

published

For such an expensive kettle, I would never recommend anyone buying one. My Sky Blue one begun rusting on the inside and outside within 12 months, the lid is nearly impossible to come off as it is so tight, it is very noisy when boiling and trips our safety switch as it draws so much current and is now just out of warranty.. I have learnt my lesson to complain about all its faults before the 12 months is up!

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Groomer

GroomerQueenstown

Brilliante but flawed

published
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

jennyh

jennyhasked

Brillante Kettle

Hi there, does anyone know if the DeLonghi Icona Capitals model is BPA free?

3 answers
DeLonghi
CherylDeLonghi

Hi Jenny,
Do you mean for the part of the kettle that touches the water as this is stainless steel in the capitals range.

jennyh
jennyh

Hi there, no I meant the small caps which hold the water level guage in place.

DeLonghi
CherylDeLonghi

HI Jenny,
apologies for not replying sooner i have requested this information to find out for you and will let you know asap.
Thank you

bill gras

bill grasasked

Brillante KBJ2001.W (White)

I have a KBJ2001.W kettle , is it save to use ? it's about 2years old

No answers
bill gras

bill grasasked

Brillante KBJ2001.W (White)

where can I get a replacement lid for my kettle KBJ2001.W ? (the lid fell and broke )

No answers

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.