2 photos
DeLonghi HCX9124E

DeLonghi HCX9124E

MPN: HCX9124E
3.1 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.9 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (9)
  • Heating Speed1/5 - 5/5 (9)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.9 (9)
  • Safety
    3.1 (9)
  • Smell Yes (2) · No (7)
Previous
Next
Sudeshna Ghosh
Sudeshna GhoshSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Terrible experience!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrea Tassera
Andrea TasseraSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nice design and works fine

published

Bought it for my living area (45 sqm) and it works fine. Of course it's an electric heater so as soon as you turn it off the heat goes, but that's normal.
Consumption is good and it looks really nice in the house

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark
MarkSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Same problem - flashing lights

published

After a period (could be 1 minute or 1 hour) it starts flashing and beeping and has to shut off at the wall. I have 2 of these, both with the same issue. 2 years old from Appliances online. 7 year warranty but need to take some distance for repair as no repairer anywhere close to me.

Purchased in May 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Electric Heaters

Find out how DeLonghi HCX9124E compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul
PaulSydney, NSW

Zero stars if I could

published

3.1 code. The flashing and beeping and not turning on reminds me of a temperamental little baby. Doesn’t work often enough and will never ever buy this lemon brand again.

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gabby
GabbyPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Got a day out of it

published

Made the mistake of not reading the reviews here before buying it from Good Guys. Got one day of use before it stopped working. Beeping, won't turn on again... Going to return for a refund as won't bother wasting my time with getting other faulty replacements.

Purchased in June 2021 at The Good Guys for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Greg
GregSouth East Queensland, QLD

Temperamental

published

When it works it terrific . Like all the the other reviews it goes into error all controls flashing and erratic beeping. Sometimes turn it iff at the wall for a while and it starts again other times it will not. This is the second heater as I returned the last one under warranty. Note they have a 7 year manufactures warranty so I’m just going to keep taking it back. paid $ 350 at HN.

Purchased for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bazza DiErko
Bazza DiErkoSydney, NSW

Poorly performing and expensive mistake

published

It doesn’t work.
Warranty not honoured and even the replacement has failed.
Shuts down randomly.
There has been no product support from DeLonghi.
The retailer does not accept responsibility.
Save yourself Money and trouble.
Look elsewhere for a better alternative.

Purchased in April 2018 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Heater stops working

published

I have bought two of these Delonghi electric panel heaters and both of them now have stopped regularly sometimes within a minute of turning on. It feels like dust/fluff blockages in which case it is a poor design. Thoroughly disappointed. Would love my too much money back

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $350.00.

Incentivised Review No
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Sandy
SandySydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Randomly stops working

published

When this heater works it is great and warms up the room well but it sporadically stops working every so often and can’t switch it back on again. The lights start flashing and it won’t start up. Had this same problem with first heater and got it replaced on warranty and the second one now has the same problem. Not worth the money considering it was one of the expensive electric heaters!

Incentivised Review No
Electric Heaters

Find out how DeLonghi HCX9124E compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
boopysqueak
boopysqueakCanberra 2600, ACT

Faulty version

published

We were quite happy with this heater with no issues, but after a couple of months it clearly has a problem. It keeps tripping the circuit and we have tried it on multiple power boards and power points and it keeps blowing our power. I'm off to return it today, and go back to another brand of panel heater

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco ACT, Canberra for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gordon B.
Gordon B.Hobart, TAS

Expensive Dud!!

published

Bought our first HCX9124E 3 years ago. When it works it is a great heater, but..... Last year it started playing up (as per previous reviews), beeping flashing and turning off. Took it to our local repair agent who replaced the motherboard. Brought it home and plugged it in - failed!!! Took it back to the repair agent again. Delonghi replaced the heater under warranty. That was 2 months ago. The new HCX9124E has now succumbed to the same problem. This heater will go on the tip, and we will move to another brand with a lifetime warranty!! Very disappointing!! Waste of money!!

Purchased in April 2016 at The Good Guys for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Overpriced, Plagued with design flaws and doesn't even WORK!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
L.Marsh
L.MarshBlue Mountains

Fixed problem

published

2nd yr June. Started having the same issue as "Heater not working as described " found the timer being the issue. As the buttons are hard to see at night they may have been pushed. Delayed start and Delayed stop were adjusted and this stopped the multi icons coming up
Now running as it was. Heats a large room. Happy with the fam as this quickly warms up the air then you can cut it back to maintain temp.

Date PurchasedJune 2017

Worst heater ever

published

Works for a small time then starts to turn off and the beep drives you insane. Switched off at power point to start again, works for a small time then cuts off and the beep starts again and goes on and on and heater never starts again.
About to throw it out at a council clean up.
Would never buy DeLonghi again.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
May Lam
May LamsYDNEY
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect heater

published

The heater is heavy and easy to store as all parts can be removed, it does not take too long to warm up. I could use it in bedroom or dining room. It does not take long time to cool down. it s easy to carry and good looking too!

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Electric Heaters

Find out how DeLonghi HCX9124E compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Lucy B
Lucy Basked

Delonghi HCX9124E error 1.9

Hi, my Delonghi heater is broken. It goes to start up when I press power but then the screen starts blipping quick quickly and then all the screen lights up and it shows the number 1.9 ?

These heaters actually appear to have terrible reviews that detail this as a common occurrence and malfunction. Do you know what this could be, and whether it is worth trying to fix the issue?

Thanks,

Lucy

2 answers
Bazza DiErko
Bazza DiErko

Lucy, save yourself the heartache and dump it. As we had received 2 equally dud replacements with neither manufacturer nor retailer giving satisfaction I took mine apart to look close up at the cheap crappy parts inside then happily binned the lot.
I then got a Kogan brand replacement delivered to my door within 48hours which is better and at $120 approx., a third of the price. So long DeLonghi - never again!

Lucy B
Lucy B

hahahahah! oki, cheers Bazza. I'm glad you have some reliable warmth now :)

Bazza DiErko
Bazza DiErkoasked

Can I fix my heater. It’s winter again and just out of storage. Back to the same old problem of error messages and random shut downs.
Dump it?
This is a warranty replacement already. It took ages and many phone calls and persistent trips up the Parramatta Road to get the first one changed.
Unhappy.

No answers
Satoko T.
Satoko T.asked

This one has been working very well but today, keep having this issue with plug icon on the panel and not working, but its 100% plugged. We tried all the pluggs on our wall but the same. at the end of panel display, it shows 3.1. I wonder this is some kind of error number display... anybody has this issue?

2 answers
Louisa W.
Louisa W.

I think it's when the timer has been on.
Ours displayed the same and wouldn't come on.
I pressed the timer button twice and it came on

Michael D.
Michael D.

Same issue. Thank you for your suggestion for the 3.1 error.

See all DeLonghi HCX9124E questions

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Heaters
Price (RRP) $459.00
Heater TypeConvector & Panel and Portable
Dimensions 555 x 820 x 75 mm
FeaturesEnergy Saving Mode, Thermostat and Timer
Additional FeaturesAnti-Frost Function and Thermal Cut-Off
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8004399131118
  • MPN: HCX9124E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.