??!
1 photo
DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

KBO2001, Vintage KBOV2001
2.9 from 111 reviews

Reviews

2.9

111 reviews
5
(28)
4
(17)
3
(14)
2
(20)
1
(32)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (21)
Previous
Next
DonLea

DonLeaperth

  • 2 reviews

RUSTY AFTER A MONTH

published

It has taken 2 weeks to get rid of the very tinny taste. Also 3 weeks later the inside has rusted . Taking it back to good guys today as not happy. I absolutely love the look of it and was so excited to buy it but very dissappointed! Going for a different brand. I thought $100 for a kettle was steep and it is if it rusts within the month.

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys for A$94.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
AnthonyN

AnthonyNSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Wouldn’t buy a new one

published

Loud, very loud for a premium kettle, taste is fine. It’s slower than most, but that’s because of the 1.7l volume, which is larger than most.
Had this kettle now for 5 yrs now, average 3 boils a day, but it disappointed me from the very first year for what you would be touting the looks. The chrome started peeling the first year and asked if something could be done about, the staff at the good guys said it wasn’t an issue that could be resolved.

Purchased in April 2015 at The Good Guys for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Sarah

SarahHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing

published

Was super excited to have saved up to afford a kettle that i had been wanting for quite some time.
I was under the impression that DeLonghi was a good brand. Only backed by a 1 year warranty should have warned me. In 14 months I noticed the outside of the kettle rusting. Upon further inspection the inside of the kettle rusted as well. Was so shocked by this. Would not purchase another item from this brand.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Edwin.Z

Edwin.ZPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Worst kettle design possible

published

The lid is very difficult to come off or get back in. When it does come off, the residual moisture trapped in the lid gets everywhere. The water meter does not reflects the actual water level. The last bit of water would never come out without spilling everywhere. The worst is that it takes like 3 times the time to boil the same amount of water with other kettles. The worst possible kettle ever.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Poor quality

published

My first kettle lasted about 2 yrs then stopped working so we bought another one and same thing happened after 2 yrs stopped working , expected more for the price these sell for. Wouldn’t buy another one

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Annie K

Annie KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best kettle I’ve ever owned.

published

This is definitely the best kettle I’ve ever owned. The pouring spout is perfect, never spills a drop, it doesn’t leak when boiling, and the water tastes great.
It wasn’t cheap, but definitely worth the extra money, plus it looks great in my kitchen (I got the dark blue), doesn’t even show finger marks like most other kettles do. Highly recommend!!

Purchased at Myer for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Kate P

Kate PGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

stops working

published

it must be 1-2 years out of warrenty but it keeps stopping working, i'm a bit worried it might be dangourous. Not very good as I paid to get a good product and only lasted a few years. Not impressed with China produced goods. Update : having said this review, we have gone and purcchased another delonghi this weekend, for hte price, functionality and look, we think it is good value even if it fails after 4-5 years. Probably no different to any other brand these days.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Davo

DavoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quality kettle

published

A quality product with a stylish look and great colour. Works well and gives that extra look to our kitchen.Just bought another kettle along with the matching toaster as backup, incase DeLonghi changes the design. Love the look.

November 14th 2019 Update: Great design

Had this kettle for three years now and have just bought a back up one as Delonghi seem to be changing there design and I wanted to keep the look in our kitchen.
The quality is top notch and this little work horse never misses a beat.
Good quality finish as well.
Would definitely recommend.

Purchased in November 2019 at Peter's of Kensington for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

BEST KETTLE!

published

I have had this kettle for near 6 years and absolutely love it. I love the look of it, I have lived in several places since owing it and it has looked great in every kitchen. It gets used daily and sometimes several times per day and is still as good now as it was new. The only thing I am disappointed about is that the Beige colour has now been discontinued so I cant buy a back up for when this one eventually stops- hopefully that isn't sometime soon. Will definitely be looking at another DeLonghi when the time comes.

Purchased in January 2014 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
C.Ry.

C.Ry.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

lasts..

published

This kettle has lasted me 4 years!!! And I have tea around 3 times a day. Very impressed with it, except only recently it has started to leak when I tip it to pour water into my mug. Otherwise.. i think it lasted pretty well for a kettle that gets used so much.

Lorraine

LorrainePerth, WA

Looks good. Bought from Myers.

published

Water tastes fine, level hard to see. Speed of boiling okay. Colour very nice. Downhill from here. Lid is very tinny and ill fitting. The worst fault is how quickly the inside base discolours. Every couple of days I boil a couple of cut lemons in it to remove the stains. Even this doesn't work 100% each time. My old cheap red Kmart kettle leaves this expensive one for dead. Glad I didn't throw it out!

Purchased in April 2019 at Myers.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Michele1608

Michele1608Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't judge toaster and kettle by its cover!!

published

Purchased for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks nice but noisy

published

Love the look of this kettle!! The lid is a little hard to remove when filling and the water level feature is hiding under the handle which makes it a little hard to see. The element is hidden but it is noisy when boiling. But it looks smart with its glossy finish.

Purchased in June 2019 at Qantas store for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bronwyn T

Bronwyn TGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Worth the wait...

published

The kettle is wonderful, I am highly satisfied with taste of water, time it takes to boil, the water level is something I had to get use too. But easy once I retrained myself.
The kettle can get hot, but like anything its just the product doing its job.
I waited and got a bargain not only in price but the quality of the product lives up to the what you would believe it to be.

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
1 comment
Bronwyn T
Bronwyn T

If your wondering on the low cost, I was lucky enough to pick up the kettle as they were getting rid of old stock to refurbish the store.

C A

C ACentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Slow but reliable

published

Reliable, stylish and easy to use. I bought the red and the colour is great, I also bought matching toaster.
It doesn't taint the water, scale doesn't build up and it works fine with tank water.
Lost a star as it takes quite a while to boil. Linger than my previous cheapo supermarket brand, but apart from that I am happy.
It certainly looks nice on the bench!

Purchased in June 2016 at Myer Gifts Online for A$109.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louise085

Louise085Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A nice kettle

published

The kettle I purchased was lovely to look at, the water books quite quickly when full and has a great water level indicator. It’s a stylish, simple design which would match many styles of homes.

I was disappointed with the chrome that is on the lid and around the base of the kettle as it peeled and chipped off soon after purchase. This was a real negative as I paid for a great product which it wasn’t in the end.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
MHardy

MHardy

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Stylish but needs a few design issues fixed

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Lisa

LisaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No complaints

published

Kettle and toaster were bought secondhand from a friend moving abroad. Both are used several times a day and the kettle in particular has heavy use. No rust, no spills, pours beautifully and is perfectly weighted. Cannot see what all the fuss is about as we really love ours.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Leeeeeeena

LeeeeeeenaSouth Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Faulty. The worst customer service. Zero stars.

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Lisa S

Lisa SHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Thought I was buying a high end kettle, it stopped working

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Les tupper

Les tupperasked

Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

My black Delonghi kettle is scratched and has a chip on the outside coating? Can this be repaired?

1 answer
Sarah
Sarah

Don't think so Les,
Be worth getting in touch with the company directly.
Especially if in warranty.

vicki d.

vicki d.asked

Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

Inside coating of kettle at bottom started flaking what is the coating and is it dangerous to use once peeled off

1 answer
Sarah
Sarah

Ours started to rust Vicki,
I researched this an was informed it is safe. If its not rust i wouldn't risk it

vicki d.

vicki d.asked

Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

What is the inside of kettle coated with. My kettle lasted three years and coating started flaking off

2 answers
Annie K
Annie K

The inside of the kettle is not coated with anything, it’s stainless steel - which is the best material for cookware because it’s ‘non reactive’ meaning it doesn’t rust, corrode, or produce harmful chemicals or metallic flavours when heated.

DeLonghi
CherylDeLonghi

HI Vicki, what you might be seeing is scale build up from hard water. You can descale the kettle to keep the stainless looking shiny and new.
I do mine every month or so because our water here tends to build up scale in the kettle pretty quickly.

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.