??!
1 photo
DeLonghi Icona Kettle

DeLonghi Icona Kettle

KBO2001, Vintage KBOV2001
2.8 from 118 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (27)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (27)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (28)
Previous
Next
monica.page.33

monica.page.33Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Peeling and not good quality

published

Bought the kettle and matching toaster. Peeling and fire hazard. Not worth the close to $300 that was spent on their products. They look good but poor quality. Not impressed.

Purchased in October 2014 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Deborah

DeborahWestern Australia

Do not buy this!

published

Kettle heats water, tastes like any other but it sounds like I've got cars backfiring in my kitchen, have to yell over it, turn the tv / radio up to hear it whilst it's boiling. Loudest kettle I have heard. The lid is stiff to get off & on, it's a pain. Toaster does not toast evenly. Terrible!

Purchased in June 2020 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Katherine

KatherineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Stylish, noisy, slow, rusty and dangerous.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulCanberra Central 2601, ACT

Chic looks, fragile design

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrea

AndreaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fake fake fake!!! When I pay nearly $300 for the pair, I want the real deal and not Chinese!! What a rip off!

published

Chinese fake product!! What else needs to be said... Disgusting. How is this allowed in Australia? It should be a clear statement that this product, despite the high price, it's made in china!!!

Purchased in September 2020 at MyDeal.com.au for $284.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
DonLea

DonLeaperth

  • 2 reviews

RUSTY AFTER A MONTH

published

It has taken 2 weeks to get rid of the very tinny taste. Also 3 weeks later the inside has rusted . Taking it back to good guys today as not happy. I absolutely love the look of it and was so excited to buy it but very dissappointed! Going for a different brand. I thought $100 for a kettle was steep and it is if it rusts within the month.

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys for $94.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
AnthonyN

AnthonyNSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Wouldn’t buy a new one

published

Loud, very loud for a premium kettle, taste is fine. It’s slower than most, but that’s because of the 1.7l volume, which is larger than most.
Had this kettle now for 5 yrs now, average 3 boils a day, but it disappointed me from the very first year for what you would be touting the looks. The chrome started peeling the first year and asked if something could be done about, the staff at the good guys said it wasn’t an issue that could be resolved.

Purchased in April 2015 at The Good Guys for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sarah

SarahHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing

published

Was super excited to have saved up to afford a kettle that i had been wanting for quite some time.
I was under the impression that DeLonghi was a good brand. Only backed by a 1 year warranty should have warned me. In 14 months I noticed the outside of the kettle rusting. Upon further inspection the inside of the kettle rusted as well. Was so shocked by this. Would not purchase another item from this brand.

Purchased in March 2019 for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Edwin.Z

Edwin.ZPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Worst kettle design possible

published

The lid is very difficult to come off or get back in. When it does come off, the residual moisture trapped in the lid gets everywhere. The water meter does not reflects the actual water level. The last bit of water would never come out without spilling everywhere. The worst is that it takes like 3 times the time to boil the same amount of water with other kettles. The worst possible kettle ever.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roselyn

RoselynMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Perfect pretty little but awesome kettle

published

This "Delonghi icona capitals red kettle" has been quite helpful and reliable unit of kettle that I have ever owned. Importantly, it is also very safe to use and to operate.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for $116.10.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Suzanne H.

Suzanne H.

  • 2 reviews

Had a good run from this kettle

published

I had this kettle for a good 7 years it was reliable ,a bit noisy when boiling, eventually had to chuck it out when it started to Leak from the bottom, I would recommend it and I would buy another one.

Purchased in March 2013 at David Jones for $199.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo

Poor quality

published

My first kettle lasted about 2 yrs then stopped working so we bought another one and same thing happened after 2 yrs stopped working , expected more for the price these sell for. Wouldn’t buy another one

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Annie K

Annie KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best kettle I’ve ever owned.

published

This is definitely the best kettle I’ve ever owned. The pouring spout is perfect, never spills a drop, it doesn’t leak when boiling, and the water tastes great.
It wasn’t cheap, but definitely worth the extra money, plus it looks great in my kitchen (I got the dark blue), doesn’t even show finger marks like most other kettles do. Highly recommend!!

Purchased at Myer for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kate P

Kate PGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

stops working

published

it must be 1-2 years out of warrenty but it keeps stopping working, i'm a bit worried it might be dangourous. Not very good as I paid to get a good product and only lasted a few years. Not impressed with China produced goods. Update : having said this review, we have gone and purcchased another delonghi this weekend, for hte price, functionality and look, we think it is good value even if it fails after 4-5 years. Probably no different to any other brand these days.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Davo

DavoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quality kettle

published

A quality product with a stylish look and great colour. Works well and gives that extra look to our kitchen.Just bought another kettle along with the matching toaster as backup, incase DeLonghi changes the design. Love the look.

November 14th 2019 Update: Great design

Had this kettle for three years now and have just bought a back up one as Delonghi seem to be changing there design and I wanted to keep the look in our kitchen.
The quality is top notch and this little work horse never misses a beat.
Good quality finish as well.
Would definitely recommend.

Purchased in November 2019 at Peter's of Kensington for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Kettles

Find out how DeLonghi Icona Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

BEST KETTLE!

published

I have had this kettle for near 6 years and absolutely love it. I love the look of it, I have lived in several places since owing it and it has looked great in every kitchen. It gets used daily and sometimes several times per day and is still as good now as it was new. The only thing I am disappointed about is that the Beige colour has now been discontinued so I cant buy a back up for when this one eventually stops- hopefully that isn't sometime soon. Will definitely be looking at another DeLonghi when the time comes.

Purchased in January 2014 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
C.Ry.

C.Ry.Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

lasts..

published

This kettle has lasted me 4 years!!! And I have tea around 3 times a day. Very impressed with it, except only recently it has started to leak when I tip it to pour water into my mug. Otherwise.. i think it lasted pretty well for a kettle that gets used so much.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Lorraine

LorrainePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Looks good. Bought from Myers.

published

Water tastes fine, level hard to see. Speed of boiling okay. Colour very nice. Downhill from here. Lid is very tinny and ill fitting. The worst fault is how quickly the inside base discolours. Every couple of days I boil a couple of cut lemons in it to remove the stains. Even this doesn't work 100% each time. My old cheap red Kmart kettle leaves this expensive one for dead. Glad I didn't throw it out!

Purchased in April 2019 at Myers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Michele1608

Michele1608Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't judge toaster and kettle by its cover!!

published

Purchased for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bazil

BazilNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks nice but noisy

published

Love the look of this kettle!! The lid is a little hard to remove when filling and the water level feature is hiding under the handle which makes it a little hard to see. The element is hidden but it is noisy when boiling. But it looks smart with its glossy finish.

Purchased in June 2019 at Qantas store for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Les tupper

Les tupperasked

Icona Kettle

My black Delonghi kettle is scratched and has a chip on the outside coating? Can this be repaired?

1 answer
Sarah
Sarah

Don't think so Les,
Be worth getting in touch with the company directly.
Especially if in warranty.

vicki d.

vicki d.asked

Icona Kettle

Inside coating of kettle at bottom started flaking what is the coating and is it dangerous to use once peeled off

1 answer
Sarah
Sarah

Ours started to rust Vicki,
I researched this an was informed it is safe. If its not rust i wouldn't risk it

vicki d.

vicki d.asked

Icona Kettle

What is the inside of kettle coated with. My kettle lasted three years and coating started flaking off

2 answers
Annie K
Annie K

The inside of the kettle is not coated with anything, it’s stainless steel - which is the best material for cookware because it’s ‘non reactive’ meaning it doesn’t rust, corrode, or produce harmful chemicals or metallic flavours when heated.

DeLonghi
CherylDeLonghi

HI Vicki, what you might be seeing is scale build up from hard water. You can descale the kettle to keep the stainless looking shiny and new.
I do mine every month or so because our water here tends to build up scale in the kettle pretty quickly.

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

Compare both DeLonghi Icona Kettle
CategoryElectric KettlesElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $139.00
Capacity1.7 L
Features360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures No
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishBlack
Weight1.3 kg
Power2,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateJune 2010
Compare both DeLonghi Icona Kettle

  • GTIN13: 8004399771550
  • MPN: KBO2001W and KBOT2001AZ

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.