??!
DeLonghi Icona Vintage KBOV2001

DeLonghi Icona Vintage KBOV2001

MPN: KBO2001VAZ
2.8 from 26 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
6
3 star
5
2 star
6
1 star
6

BEST KETTLE!

published

I have had this kettle for near 6 years and absolutely love it. I love the look of it, I have lived in several places since owing it and it has looked great in every kitchen. It gets used daily and sometimes several times per day and is still as good now as it was new. The only thing I am disappointed about is that the Beige colour has now been discontinued so I cant buy a back up for when this one eventually stops- hopefully that isn't sometime soon. Will definitely be looking at another DeLonghi when the time comes.

Purchased in January 2014 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Louise085

Louise085Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A nice kettle

published

The kettle I purchased was lovely to look at, the water books quite quickly when full and has a great water level indicator. It’s a stylish, simple design which would match many styles of homes.

I was disappointed with the chrome that is on the lid and around the base of the kettle as it peeled and chipped off soon after purchase. This was a real negative as I paid for a great product which it wasn’t in the end.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
MHardy

MHardy

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stylish but needs a few design issues fixed

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level

Bad Buy

published

Very heavy even when empty
very noisy
almost impossible to see water leveler which is hidden behind the handle; cannot understand the logic behind it if there is any
lid gets hot and must be careful when pulling it off
Would not recommend it to anyone and specially not elderly people
The more expensive model does not seem any better
Checking with retailer if I can return it

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Mezz

Mezz

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks great Works Great little noisy

published

I love the look with our red toaster.
Had no problem with it had it few years.
It is little noisy sometimes have turn tv up so my son can hear it whilst I use kettle.
It is good if you dont mind a little noisy upon boiling the water.
Do buy it if you dont mind this.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Pat S

Pat SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not happy

published

I purchased both Icona Vintage kettle and toaster on 15/12/14 from JB HI FI. I'm very disappointed with the kettle as the paint is now peeling off it. I paid $118 for the kettle and $147 for the toaster. The kettle sits on my bench top and now because of it's appearance it now sits in the cupboard. I do find it very loud as well when boiling. The toaster so far is good.

Date PurchasedDec 2014

Terrible Kettle

published

I bought this kettle based on its looks but have been really disappointed with its performance. My main concern is how hot the exterior gets, especially the lid. You can not touch the lid for a long time after boiling water. If you need to add water to boil again (unexpectedly need to boil water again so soon) the lid will still be scalding hot.
Staff at Harvey Norman talked me into buying it and conned me with the price, saying I would never find it cheaper anywhere else - guess what, that's because they have it manufactured with a different button so customers can never find the EXACT kettle anywhere else. I won't buy any more Delonghi products and won't ever walk into Harvey Norman again!!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Maria

MariaWanneroo

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

No issues.

published

I was hesitant to buy this kettle when I originally saw it because of the price tag. I love the look of it and couldn't resist. This kettle has never failed, I have had no problems, no switches have broke and have had it for years. I really like it.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
adz

adzMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

waste of money

published

4 days after use switch broke and had to turn it on and off at the power point
1 week later it started to leak water
purchased it with fly buy points and seemed to difficult to get a refund so i threw it in the bin
for a kettle at this price a lot more is expected , went back to using out $6.99 kettle which had been going for 5 yrs now

Date PurchasedOct 2017
cuta

cutaMelbourne

Delonghi Icona Toaster

published

Bought this toaster 13 months ago and it is now cutting the power in the whole house. Contacted Delonghi and they refuse to repair or replace. Worst customer service ever. Avoid purchasing Delonghi products as they are overpriced rubbish. A $15 toaster from Kmart will last longer. Avoid Avoid Avoid

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Ianjam

IanjamPerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Love the colour and the vintage style.

published

Got this kettle via Qantas redemption to replace our aging breville kettle.
Love the red colour and the vintage style that seems to be trendy nowadays.
kettle does the job, decent boiling speed. A bit louder when boiling compared to our previous breville.
only negative after using our breville is that the lid needs to be pulled off completely as compared to the 'modern' designs that flips the lip back, not really Delonghi's fault but i guess its the styling.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Tashahh

TashahhMandurah

  • 4 reviews

Colour faded

published

I purchased both the Vintage Icona Kettle and Toaster. After 6 months of moderate use, (1 adult and 1 teenager) the kettle started to fade its Colour (blue). The toaster hasn't faded at all. As they sit on the bench side by side, it is very noticeable. The kettle works perfectly with no rust or scale build up, however am pretty disappointed as I paid a lot for it.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

mel

meltasmania

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed to say the least!

published

I have never bought a DeLonghi product before and I certainly will not be buying another! I was so excited when I came across the Icona Vintage Kettle and toaster range online. I bought the kettle and toaster and they looked awesome in my country kitchen. Didn't take long for the Kettle to start peeling, I was shocked at how cheaply these products are made. The toaster takes ages to toast... I can't believe I replaced my trusty 10 year old Tefal Toaster with this crappy one! DeLonghi products look beautiful...you pay a fortune for them because you think you are investing in something that's going to last...NOT. Ripped off big time!!!

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Kettle stopped working after 2 years

published

Bought kettle from good guy's after the first one broke down due to a whistling noise ie it was supposed to silent. We bought a different model which just broke after 2 years. Never again will i buy a delongi kettle very dissapointed with the product. Kettles shouldnt break down after 2 years when it was expensive to pirchase

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Julie

JulieAdelaide, South Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks lovely in my kitchen and works impressively

published

Very pleased with the kettle my only criticism si the window that shows the water level is not very clear. Would certainly recommend the brand and as my Nespresso is a Delonghi brand l was very confident of this brand.Very stylish looking kettle and very pleasing to the eye holder

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Patty

PattyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

3 years, still working

published

We bought the Delonghi Icona kettle and 2 slice toaster 3 years ago and both appliances are still working well. Very happy with them.
The lid on the kettle is quite tight and difficult to open but my hubby adjusted the clip inside and it's all good. Will buy delonghi again if I need to.

Date PurchasedOct 2014

Nat

NatPerth

6 Years!

published

Our 6 year old black Icona kettle died today. We bought it with a matching 4 slice retro toaster which is still going strong. Hubby and I were really impressed to get 6 years out of the kettle so are now on the hunt to buy another in hope that it will last just as long.

Date PurchasedSep 2010

Aggie

Aggiesydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Kettle has stopped working!

published

After 7 months the kettle has just stopped working. Little orange light comes on but water does not boil. Australian Delonghi won't replace it as it was bought in the UK. Not good enough when it says it comes with a warranty period of 1 year. Very disappointed as i bought it with the matching toaster.


TBird

TBirdAbbotsford

  • 2 reviews

4 years old and still going well!

published

Brittle Plastic that is Not Heat Resistant

published

I have had several of these kettles CRACK literally. One time was the water level indicator. Another time included the area just beneath the water level indicator. Another instance was when the base cracked.

I'm not sure how safe it is to use, but I wouldn't take my chances with this kettle. The newer models ditch the metal altogether and opt for plastic. That's a recipe for disaster as you might see from the other reviews on that model.

Too much hassle getting it sent in to get fixed.


Page 1 of 2

See all DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle reviews

Questions & Answers

Pauline

Paulineasked

Why did my kettle just stop working, it's 18 months old. Is it old age

1 answer
Adit
Adit

Mine worked for nearly 9 years without issue and now dead. it should work longer than 18 months, could be faulty or some parts DOA.


Steff

Steffasked

When boiling water, will the outside of the kettle become hot?

2 answers

Hi, no the bottom of the kettle doesn’t get hot at all. Just the top around the spout gets hot as this is why I got this kettle as my special needs son is autistic and wants to touch items if he thinks it’s hot! So when he touches the kettle it doesn’t burn him as I had to install a induction top stove I will be doing a review on soon. I hope this helps you. Thanks and good luck

Kyneton
Kyneton

as Shirley stated only the top around the spout gets hot. if you have curious little ones like we had, keep the kettle away from the edge of the bench to stop temptation to feel/touch


Marianne Williams

Marianne Williamsasked

I am on my second Delonghi electric kettle. The kettle has a crack from outer shell. Doesn't leak but annoying to see the crack line. Is this a common problem?

1 answer
Misty
Misty

Hi Marianne,
This was not an issue with both kettles but I have returned mine and changed to Sunbeam.Mine was a rust issue within.
We had a red kettle and the outer colour would change to dark red and very hot once boiled, this could affect the paint to crack Im sure.
If your e not happy with it return it.
I now have a red toaster bur no matching kettle:( better this than no kettle after 12 months. My last kettle lasted 8 years.
I hope this helps?
Joanna


Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Compare all DeLonghi Icona / Icona Vintage Kettle

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8004399771956 and 8004399771970
  • MPN: KBO2001VAZ

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.