??!
3 photos
DeLonghi PAC WE18INV

DeLonghi PAC WE18INV

MPN: 36018466
2.6 from 22 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
9

Simon Houghton

Simon HoughtonQueensland

Condenser corroded out in 18 months, stay away !!!

published

My condenser has corroded out in no time at all, this is made of garbage metals and has no way performed as described. This machine is total junk and will never buy a Delonghi again.

Purchased in November 2017 at Goodguys for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Very expensive for a unit that you're lucky to get 12 months from

published

I enjoyed the unit for the first 12 months despite it being quite loud and using a lot of electricity. BUT, today during a hot day, I noticed I was still very hot in the room and that it was blowing room temperature air even though it was on max cooling. Showing "F1 errror". Disappointed that it seems to have broken down 13 months after purchase in which I probably used it on less than 20 days in total.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Furbub

FurbubSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Noisy, needed to replace filter, uses a lot of water, doesn't cool the room enough on hot days

published

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys Online store for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Keen Techie

Keen Techie

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Much poorer quality than the older model around 2009

published

I bought this unit on Feb 2017. It broke down after around 14 months. The power now does not turn on. The performance of this unit is actually poorer than the old model with lower power rating. It's very noisy. It's very slow to kick in (compressor kicks in and start cooling). The air direction is strangely veered to one side due to the new fan design.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Oscar

Oscar

  • 2 reviews

Never ever buy again

published

Really bad, bought 2 years ago summer. In last year summer, it died. This product has lots problems, super noisy, Vibration is insane when it reaches max though-put and always stop by overheated in half an hour after start. Really terrible, should really read the review before buying it.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

pau13z

pau13zSydney

Excellent cooling and very energy efficient

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Coils have been obliterated after 12 months

published

Extremely poorly made. Cooling coils obliterated leading to alloy shards being flung around the unit creating a horrible grinding noise. Customer support claim there doing their best but does replying once a day with no real info only sorry to hear count as support? Will not recommend product. Cooling doesnt work when its hotter than 30C.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Gee

GeeCentral Coast

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best purchase of 2017!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
blw

blwGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Not good for Queensland summer

published

Not easy to set up, compartment for water does not open and close easily and very bulky. Extremely noisy, need ear plugs to sleep. Purchased for bedroom in rented apartment but needs to be set at 18 degrees to slightly cool fairly small room, not looking forward to first electricity account. Not worth the high price.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Martishar

Martishar

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great for renters

published

The unit is easy to install simply vented out of a window or sliding door all required attachments come with the unit. Good for cooling a single room but works just as well in a smallish open plan lounge/dining/kitchen such as a unit especially if you couple with a fan at the opposite end of the space. The unit is louder than a split system or even the old fashioned type of air conditioner that was fitted into a wall or window, this is because the motor is inside so this should be expected.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great for a room type air conditioner

published

For a bedroom is excellent but will struggle with larger open areas, easy enough to use, can be a pain filling it with water but works better if you do, is on the noise side if your trying to sleep but you could get use to it, for this type of air conditioning though it's the best you can get

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Ada

Ada

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

it was okay

published

I bought it from the good guys on the hottest day of the year. No discount at all so it was a bit expensive. It does its job and cooled down the room. The aircon itself is quite noisy. it's hard to get to sleep with this machine on.. so only gave it 2 stars

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Bazza

Bazza

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent! Why are people complaining?

published

I have nothing but praise for this unit. It performs well compared to our similarly powerful wall mounted a split-system. For obvious reasons, it is not as quiet as the split, but it is like a church mouse compared to the budget portable model we had! The range of settings mean you can set it up how you want it to cool or just dehumidify. Another bonus is that the outlet vent pipe stays a lot cooler than our previous portable; it got so hot it counteracted the cooling.
Highly recommended!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Surprisingly underwhelmed...

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
YLS

YLSSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't cool the place at 30C and above

published

Given it's size and weight, it's not easy to unbox it unless you have 2 people. We got the unit from Good Guys and they don't offer installation despite us stating disability. It wasn't easy to install and it needs a bit of a figuring out. Also, the unit only functions the first time properly. Subsequently, it doesn't cool the room at all and you can still feel the hot air above our heads. If the temperature is above 30C, the unit is useless. If it's a cool day, it does lower the temperature. That's definitely not functioning as an air-con. Cold air is also blown out skewed to one particular side and doesn't seem to come out through all the vents. Overall, a very disappointing product given its price.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Doesn't do what it's meant to & is a safety hazard

published

Tracie

TracieParamatta

Very good so far

published

Bought yesterday due to another 35+ weekend and our small evaporative cooler just couldn't cope. Yes it is very noisy but copes beautifully chilling our lounge/dining room down to a nice 18 degrees very quickly. We now have a large comfortable living area rather than a sweat box. Our apartment is open plan so we have also hung long curtains at the entrance to the kitchen, bedrooms and front door. This has helped keep the cool air contained and let's less of the hot air invade our new paradise. lol


Cools Bedroom Effectively

published

Had this unit for 2 weeks and it works well as far as cooling the bedroom, BUT it is so noisy. The compressor noise is so bad I thought it was faulty, but told to expect some noise. Once you get to sleep you are ok, I hope I'll get used to it.


Peter

PeterSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

DéLonghi PACWE18INV

published

I persisted with the PAC W160 A, despite all sorts of problems mainly associated with leaking. I then stupidly purchased the PACWE18INV. The only thing that works is the fan. No air con whatsoever. My feeling is that the company tests its products on consumers rather than in the factory. My suggestion? Avoid this air conditioner - choose something that works right out of the box. I've never been so angry with a product or a company.
The colour.
It doesn't work as an air conditioner. It's an expensive fan.

1 comment
Peter
Peter

CSAPP

CSAPPAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ok unit

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Maureen

Maureenasked

we have just bought an inverter aircon WE18INV. have had it running for 10 minutes & the F2 (inverter module failure) keeps coming on. Does plugging it into a power pack or straight into the wall make any difference? What is this & do we have to take it back to the shop?
Regards
Maureen Patterson

2 answers
Dan
Dan

I think your asking the wrong question on the wrong site, have you tried appliances on line as it's A technical service man's question

Martishar
Martishar

Check your user guide - the unit may be faulty contact the retailer for advice on next steps


Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

CategoryPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1349
Cooling Capacity5kW
Height910mm
Width505mm
Depth400mm
InverterYes
Reverse CycleNo
Release dateOct 2011

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 36018466
  • GTIN13: 8004399511903

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.