??!
2 photos
Hoover 5013PH Dog and Cat T4008

Hoover 5013PH Dog and Cat T4008 (page 2 of 5)

3.2 from 95 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(26)
(27)
(11)
(6)
(25)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (7)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (4)
    • Weekly (2)
    • Daily (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (7)
  • Pet OwnerYes (6) · No (1)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (6)

Reviewer Photos & Videos


Karon

KaronBathurst

What a nightmare

published

I have had nothing but trouble with this "amazing" vacuum cleaner. It is advertised at a dog and cat cleaner which I believed that it would vacuum up the animal hair. Yes it does, but then the filter gets clogged every time and I have to clean and empty it several times during 1 vacuum session. My daughter has very long hair and it becomes a nightmare with I have to vacuum her room. The hair gets caught around the wheels making it even harder to vacuum. If I didn't spend a fortune on this machine it would be at the tip.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Megan

MeganSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely amazing

published

The suction on this vacuum is absolutely amazing. I picked this vacuum up only because it was half price on sale and it is the best purchase I’ve ever made. I have new carpet and it is getting all that annoying fluff up!
My pets trash the carpet with shredded tissue and newspaper and it picks it all up like a dream

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Jodestar73

Jodestar73Queensland, Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Vacuum. Recommend

published

Bought this for predominantly parquetry floor. It's light, works a charm and is easy to empty etc. It's excellent with dog hair. We basically have a carpet floor as our JRT sheds a rug each day and this picks up everything easily, only have to run over it once to pick it up. It's been about 6 months since I bought it and it's still got great suction. I would recommend it. Plus it looks good with it's grey and red. I would prefer a slightly long cord as we have stairs and where my electricity outlet is I can only do half from bottom then have to do other half from the top. Other than this is perfect.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Nikunj

NikunjAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Perfect And Great

published

Very happy with purchase;
Value for money and suction is awesome.
Very easy to manure and clean. Picks up lot of micro dust too.
Turbo brush is too good. Picks up everything flaw less.

I love how the cleaner can be taken apart and the button that allows the cable to be sucked back into the cleaner.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Cheap machine

published

Suction is reasonable but the filter clogs up easily and needs regular cleaning out. The unit tips over quite easily during use and the cord is relatively short compared to other brands. As a house cleaner using client's vacuum cleaners, this is a very basic vacuum cleaner and is really not very effective at all.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

angela

angelaMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Wish i never!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Sameera

SameeraSydney

Not worth it

published

The vacuum cleaner seemed to be doing a decent job in sucking up dirt and dust in my room and I was very pleased :) but then I realised dust particles and other pieces of dirt were dropping out of the suction part of the vacuum cleaner.

I love how the cleaner can be taken apart and the button that allows the cable to be sucked back into the cleaner.

However the vacuum cleaner is heavy and a little inconvenient to put away for storage because of the strange shape. It does its best work on carpet. It cleans okay on tile but there are far better cleaners on the market. Brooming and using a mop is best for tiles anyway :)

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Chookadook

Chookadooknoyb

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Ok but has some issues

published

Its a great little vacumn cleaner but i find the plastic clips that hold each of the pole sections to be a cheap failure ive had to tape my poles together within 6 months of buying it, they just dont clip in. And hold it while vacumning, they just slip out. Its dissapointing

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Deep

DeepMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent service

published

I am using it since last 2.5 year without any complaint. It’s excellently serving the purpose. It has a great suction power, It is light and easy to use, easy to clean. It can be used on any type of floor with additional accessories. It is definitely value for money product.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Ajit pal Singh

Ajit pal SinghGLENWOOD

  • 2 reviews

Not recommanded

published

Prose: It is Light weight and Cheap.
Cons: It has Small suction container, so user have to clean quite often. It does not work as expected (good) even when it is half empty. I expected a lot from Hoover but it is not up to my expectations.
Conclusion: I wont recommend this product to anyone. There are far more better than this

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Yog

YogNorth Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for my Unit

published

We don't have pets at home but I got this hoover as I needed a small and compact one for my single bedroom unit and I'm very happy about the buy. Suction works great. Length of the power cord is good. Heads can me easily replaced. Just not happy with the dust disposing unit as dust tends to spill all over while emptying. Picks up hair from the carpet effectively.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Tristo

TristoMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not bad at all

published

Yes it's very good and affordable .
The suction is quite strong for the size and the area it covers is about ten square meters with floorboards and tiles throughout the house . We would recommend buying this product to anyone on a budget but wants a quality vaccum cleaner !

Date PurchasedAug 2017

ducksark

ducksarkAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great in a straight line.

published

The turbo head is wonderful on our thick carpet. The cord wrapping around the vac stick is a real challenge, especially to remove the turbo head and put on the small headfor hard floors and skirting boards.
When emptying the filter and canister, everything falls everywhere, often leaving you bin diving to find the foam bit.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Ray

RayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

All others eat this hoovers dust.

published

The dog & cat turbo, fr hoover would have to be by far one of the best vacuum cleaners to date that I've ever used. Air driven turbine style foot makes picking hair fr my car so simple. Other attachments work just as good. Suction is brilliant and the generous length of power cord helps getting the job done,mno wasting time switching power sockets. All up its on my opinion value for money. The only downfall is that it needs to be cledned out at least on every third use depending on what you use it to vacuum up. Would I recommend this to my mother ? No I'd buy it for her. Great machine!!!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Bree

BreeWoombye

  • 4 reviews

Terrible Vacuum Cleaner

published

This vacuum was great for the first 3 months, after that it went down hill. Suction was terrible (even thought filters were cleaned after every use), turbo head did not work as well. Would not recommend to anyone! Took back to Godfreys after 6 months to complain & they sent it off for service 3 times & nothing changed. Would not buy anything from GODFREYS again, awful service and awful vacuum cleaner!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Worst vacuum cleaner ever!

published

The filters have to be cleaned after every vacuuming otherwise the suction doesn't work. You will spend more time cleaning the vacuum cleaner then actually vacuuming. The suction is very low as well so without the motorised head it is absolutly useless. One star is for the motorised head which actually picks up debris from the carpet and its the only positive thing about this terrible vaccuum cleaner.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Yarra Man

Yarra ManWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Sad, would certainly not recommend to family or friends.

published

We bought this beastie new but right from the start it was very ordinary. When it works it goes great. The issue however is that the design of it means that you constantly (perhaps every time) needs to empty it out because it gets clogged very easily. It is however light and when it works is great to use.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

kwelna

kwelnaPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good vacuum cleaner that does the job

published

I have a cat and perhaps the best thing about this vacuum cleaner is the ability to lower its suction so that the kitty doesn't leave the room in full scaredy cat mode. At full power it has great suction but I only have hard floors so this not really something that concerns me - I only use this occasionally since i have a stickvac and a robovac (all by hoover) which reduces my need. But its still a wonderful addition to my vacuuming arsenal.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

troyza

troyzaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Great to suck non stop

published

Its great to use it is light weight no loss of suction at all and the pet hair removal head is a treat it gets every last hair it's not too noisey and goes all day even if i use it in the car it's just enough room to reach everything

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Hoang

HoangAdelaide

  • 3 reviews

Does pick up a lot of fur from the carpet.

published

I bought this for $150 on sale and considering the price it did a decent job of picking up fur from the carpet due to its power head. It is heavy to carry around and the red cord to the power head is a bit annoying to constantly attach and re-attach - in future I would have just bought one where the cord is hardwired. Overall a decent buy.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

Page 2 of 5

See all Hoover 5013PH Dog and Cat T4008 reviews

Questions & Answers

Paula Townshend

Paula Townshendasked

what does the maximum level mean and how can I fix it? The light stays on even after I've emptied the dust container.

3 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Paula,
This light is indicating that there is a blockage in the machine, blockages can occur in the head, rod, hose and filters.
We would also recommend to check if the filters are due for replacement, it is recommended to replace them every 6-12 months.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Rainy
Rainy

I know exactly what you're talking about because the same thing happened to me. I would definitely put this down to bad instuctions in the manual. Here is how to fix it:
1. Push the red button on the top (the one closest to the word "Hoover". Turn that part of the vac. cleaner upsidedown. At the bottom of the filter push the black square piece, which will release the top (remember, it's upside down). Tip the dirt out. You will think you have emptied it, but in this next step you will get the shock of your life when you see the amount of dirt is still there. It helps to do this part anywhere where there is no carpet & wearing gloves. THE FIX: Inside the part that you just emptied, on the right side inside the empty section (the filter part is facing you) there is a round black tube-like structure (this why you are wearing gloves). Put yout hand around it & turn it to your left (anticlockwise). At first, it might be tight (mine was) so I just turned it harder. Pull it out & watch the dirt fall out. Amazing how much dirt is still in there, 'ay? Put the black tube back in, turning it to the right (clockwise). Before closing it, take the white filter out. If the colour is tan or brownish, the filter is really dirty, so clean that as well. You can scrape the dirt off with your hand if you like. If you think there is a piece of thick tan spongy thing, it is just another load of dirt.
Place the filter back, close the top of the dirt holder, canister, or whatever you want to call it. Place the canister back in the vac cleaner. Plug it in & turn it on. The light should go off. I'm not sure which "max" you are talking about because I haven't got the manual in front of me. If you are talking about the large red button on the top, turn it all the way to the right. It is noisy, but the machine will have more power to pick up more things. I assume that would depend on how thick your carpet is, but you definitely wont need to put it that high if you are picking up things on a non-carpeted floor. Before you vacuum, pick up small things off the floor (paper clips, paper, etc.). I have heard that kitty litter that has been tracked onto a carpet can actually clog & even break a vac. cleaner. I use the catlux litter in the purple bag (Woolies + Coles) that is actually tiny chips of wood. It's also soft on their little paws. I wouldn't take the chance of vacuuming up crystal litter, but you can if you want. With all other vacuums I've used, vacuuming up the litter I use, was impossible. I put this down to an old shaggy carpet, but the carpet wasn't the problem, the vacuum cleaners were. Miraculously, this vac. pics it up perfectly without any problem. I personally think that the problem using this vac is the instruction manual. Maybe it was written by someone who never used it or maybe never even vacuumed before, but cleaning out the dirt instructions are really terrible. People who write manuals should have to use them first. Well, that's what I think anyway. NOTE: I wrote this as I cleaned my vac to write this answer, so that I could tell you exactly what I was doing. I hope these instructions are clear. If you need any further info. just let me know. If I can help, I certainly will. Cheers!

Paula Townshend
Paula Townshend

Thanks. I'll give it a go.


Mel

Melasked

Can I reverse the suction . If yes how do I do it?

1 answer
Mariana
Mariana

No.


Maged

Magedasked

Where I can buy filter for hover model 5013 ph and how much? thanks

2 answers
Kath G
Kath G

get in touch with your nearest Godfreys they will help you with this.

Humpty
Humpty

godfreys


Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.