??!
1 photo
Dometic CFX 50W (50L)

Dometic CFX 50W (50L)

4.0 from 24 reviews

Reviews

4.0

24 reviews
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Sean P.

Sean P.Launceston, TAS

My fridge has, been fine for 12 months and now won't cool

published

My fridge won't cool on either 12 or 240 v stays on 15 odd degrees has the green light on, can hear a noice from the compressor area but it's not a compressor running sound? Any help cheers??

Purchased in January 2019 at Chrisco for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Crap customer service, already has problems

published

Bought the cfx 50L a year ago and its already not working- tried contacting dometic over a handful of times now with no replies. Such poor customer service especially seeing how expensive it was.

Purchased in January 2019 at Anaconda for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Lewy J.

Lewy J.Hunter Region, NSW

Works well when its not at the repairers

published

Have had my cfx 50 for around 18 months now, the first fault happened around the 11 month mark and was told there was a problem with the units computer chip or something. Now i have it back and the wifi app tells me that the whole compressor system has failed. Back to the repairer.
Yesterday I proceed to take the CFX75 (I bought around the same time for my camper trailer and have used it for probably a total of 7 days all up) out of the camper and into the ute until the 50l is fixed and today the compressor system dies in that one too!! Cant win!!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic CFX 50W (50L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bangerjames

BangerjamesMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nothing but trouble

published

Had for 6 years, every third time its used something goes wrong, it has now cost me more in repairs than what the fridge is worth, when it runs its good but always breaks down, once again on holidays and it’s faulty,can’t use, stay well clear, there crap don’t waste your money

Date PurchasedOct 2013
waza

wazaHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

great

published

Ive owned a CFX 50 for a number of years now ,I use it on solar fitted to my 4x4 then to a battery for camping and extended trips it uses very little power I could even cut the size of my solar in half Ive used it for up to a month at a time in my car and could leave it permantly their with out a problem I bought it on price (in a sale) I couldn't afford an Engle and am glad I stuck with the waeco I will buy another one if this ever fails me ( I doubt it will)

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Keithy

KeithyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great fridge, power hungry, but good.

published

I’ve has my Waeco CFX 50 for nearly 4 years now and I love it! It does exactly as asked and is more than ample to do the job. Fits plenty for a family of 3 for even long trips!

It is, however, very power hungry. My old ARB 78L fridge used less power to do the same job.

Points of note:
They like good power connections, so upgrade to Anderson plugs for your power lead.
They cycle a lot more than other fridges.
The lid is light, so sometimes you need to press it down to close it properly.
The USB charge point is extremely good to charge devices.

I’d buy another. I use mine heaps, it’s a great fridge, just need a big battery if you use it.

Date PurchasedJun 2014
Relby

RelbyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!

published

Keeps our drinks icy cold. We take our Waeco to work with us. We also have taken it on the road when we travel up north for work. It keeps our food and drinks fresh for days. It has never let us down. This is one of our best purchases

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Vic C.

Vic C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Fridge. Highly recommend.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
salty

saltySoutheast, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waeco cfx50

published

Bought this over three years ago and hasn't missed a beat. I've had in the back of a 4x4 for three weeks straight in summer and never flattened my second battery and kept my food and drinks cold. cools down fast and is light enough to easily lift into the back of my 4x4. I would recommend this fridge whole heartedly

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic CFX 50W (50L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worth every dollar.

published

On all aspects this unit has for four years now exceeded all expectations. My first time out was a trip of 12000 k's over 13 weeks in temperatures from 40+ to -4 never missed a beat and numerous trips since the same, if this one ever fails I've more than got my monies worth

Date PurchasedSep 2013
Brad7

Brad7Perth

Great fridge plenty of room but.....

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Billy

BillyPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic Sound Product

published

I upgraded from a smaller CF series Waeco and firstly love the digital display and the increase in space. The fridge is easy to fill being so tall so never have to try cram stuff in sideways. The features built in like battery protection and emergency override are great features. It doesn't seem to chew much power at all when I had it set on 1 degree in middle of summer on the back of my ute, still had plenty of juice left in 110Ah battery even after few days. It feels like solid construction and cops a flogging on the back of my ute. I definitely recommend getting one if your looking for a portable fridge freezer

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Jimmx

JimmxSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Strong, Durable, Low Power Consumption and Just Works.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Kcir62

Kcir62Adelade

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic

published

My CFX50 had been sitting in the back of my dual cab for 18 months until it was stolen.(smashed the window).
But it worked beautifully, never missed a beat. Travelled the Simpson and many numerous trips camping trips.
Plenty of room for food and drinks, never used as a freezer only on fridge at a constant 1%. Hooked up to a 100 amp dual battery.

UPDATE-
purchased a cheaper fridge only lasted 6months,
Bought another cfx 50. Should have stuck with my tried and tested fridge

Date PurchasedJun 2015

The best I have ever had CFX50

published

I purchased at RAY's Outdoor 2013 in that year I put in my mini bus commuter keeping -6 degrees all time and traveled to Cooktown Normanton Karumba Mount Isa Boulia Longreach back to Burke and Home in Sydney with no problem. In mid 2015 I put my CFX50 running with a spared battery in hired ISUZU 4WD and traveled to central Australia around Simpson Desert starting from Tibooburra, Cameron Conner, Innamincka Birdsville, Boulia, Alice Springs, Gosses Bluff,Kings Canyon, Uluru, Coober Pedy, Williams Town, Maree, Broken Hills and Home. It covered around 3,000 Kms on Dirt Road with no problem with my CFX50 by running 6 degrees below zero.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic CFX 50W (50L) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A06

A06Armidale

  • 24 reviews
  • 41 likes

Have been very happy so far

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Extremely happy

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

It has been in the repairers just about as much time as I have had it.

published

A fault from when we first bought this fridge/freezer. It continually fails to turn off, I think this is about the 6th time it is back to the repairers for the same fault. It is no fun when it drains the batteries in our caravan while we are in free camping spots. There has been a few other faults too. Sorriest thing I ever bought was this Waeco CFX50 fridge/freezer. Will never buy another or recommend this brand to anyone else, too unreliable..

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Francis81

Francis81AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great fridge can't go wrong

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Gordon

GordonPerth WA

  • 3 reviews

This is the best fridge I ever purchased

published

This fridge was purchased to supplement my old CF 50 which I have had for 17yrs. I just replaced the touch display panel, only because it kept scrolling through the settings. I love my new fridge that draws very little power, In fact I had both fridges running in the rear of my Patrol. The old CF 50 as a fridge and the new CFX 50 as a freezer running at minus 15 degrees. The new fridge is awesome, uses very little power and comes with a remote digital display of the temp and battery level.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Dometic Waeco CFX Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Adrian R

Adrian Rasked

CFX 50W (50L)

Hi there, my CFX 50 runs on 240v, runs on 12 volt in emergency override (so the fuse is good) but it wont run in normal 12volt operation. The dual battery is currently sitting on 13.4 volts and the fridge is set to Low voltage shutoff. Any ideas / thoughts as to why it wont run would be greatly appreciated. P.s we are thousands of KMs from home.

1 answer
Razman
Razman

CFX will prefer 240v AC supply if connected along with 12v DC input.
The voltage cut off settings will take charge when CFX runs on 12v DC; no impact when it runs from AC supply.

Jodie M.

Jodie M.asked

CFX 50W (50L)

I set the fridge to - 4 it never stays as that. Within a few hours it can drop to minus 29degrees Celsius. It has done since we first got it only been used a handful of times. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. Can u help.

2 answers
Fernando S.
Fernando S.

Probably your emergency override is switched on! Check it

Jodie M.
Jodie M.

After rereading instructions I realised I wanted it at 4 degrees not -4. The problem fixed itself after that. Will keep override switch in mind . Thank you for your reply.

Mano

Manoasked

CFX 50W (50L)

Well opened the fridge to find everything frozen and the temperature saying 33’c.
Any help?

1 answer
Graham
Graham

Hi Mano, Yep same sort of thing happened with the first one we had. It's stuffed. Take it back. As I mentioned in my testimonial it seems the first few batches had faults but our 3rd one we can't fault. It's actually working better than My Engel and my ARB!! The temperature pulls down in no time compared with the others. Don't bother listening to the retailers, just demand a new one or go to the Ombudsman. Make sure you inform them you intend to do so.
Best of luck
Graham

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.