??!
3 photos
Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

TC-14FL (14L), TC-21FL (20L) and TC-35FL (33L)
3.6 from 31 reviews

See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
9
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
5

Works quite well 2%

published

Power usage is fair gets cold works well I would suggest that if you have one and its not working properly that you may have an issue with your plug - I changed mine for some thing more heavy duty

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Alex D

Alex DBarkly, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seems reliable

published

Good value, I've been using non stop for 2 months now and works well. Doesn't cool as good as a fridge but you get what you pay for. Recommended product.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Hardball

HardballSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 21 likes

Great "Dry Cooler"

published

Purchased in August 2009 at Supercheap Auto for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Hardball
Hardball
Jens B.

Jens B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Fair Performer

published

Purchased in June 2018.


What a lemon.

published

Bought some time ago and it was kept in the box unopened until we needed it. Worked OK on 240V on trial and packed away. Used once on a road trip Brisbane-cairns where it lived on the back seat and used 12v DC. I would say it "cooled" things and never chilled. It never achieved the claims spruiked by Waeco/Dometic on the box. Went to use it on second trip and now does now cool or heat on either voltage. And of course out of warranty and try getting assistant from Waeco. I have been on hold for the service centre twice for a half hour. A very expensive single use esky! I will check Engell i think

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Don

DonAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useful and durable car cooler/warmer

published

These units live up to their specifications: they cool down to 20C-25C below ambient and heat to about 65C. It is best to set the unit running on AC to precool or preheat and fill with cooled or heated food or drinks, however, this is not really necessary.
Replacement of an AC socket was the only repair in over 10 years of regular use. The unit can be used as a supplementary fridge but the fan is somewhat noisy in quiet situations such as a motel room.

Date PurchasedNov 2008

Great little cooler

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Ramjet59

Ramjet59Canberra

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Power hungry, poor performance

published

I already have a car fridge and thought this might be a useful midpoint unit for when I dont have an esky at hand.
However as a short term, short transit device it is useless. It takes many hours to get any useful temperature reduction and in that time draws a huge amount of power. If your vehicle is running no problem, but leave this on an haux battery and it will eat all the amps for breakfast and still nothing will be cold.
If you want useful cold that doesn't chew your battery, get a proper fridge unit.
This thing is just a wildly overpriced esky with a noisy fan that doesn't stop.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
pete

pete

  • 25 reviews
  • 21 likes

its only a cooler! definitely not a fridge

published

I bought one of these hoping it would provide the functionality of a Waeco fridge. I WAS WRONG. the unit couldnt keep things cool enough - the unit was power hungry and the fan noisy - and it just didnt cool very well.
these units use a device called a Peltier device - which is an amazing bit of technology, but it just doesnt provide sufficienct cooling compared to a real fridge that uses a compressor. Take it from me - if you need a Waeco fridge - buy a proper Waeco fridge - this unit will not do the job of a fridge.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
WOMBAT

WOMBAT

  • 2 reviews

Chapter 4 .

published

The 12 volt fault was traced to a poor fuse connection through the plug. A new 240 volt circuit board was supplied under warranty by Waeco. It is now working on both voltages like it should, running on 4 out of 7 lights with cabinet temperatures ranging from 1.8c to 4.0c in room temperatures in the range of 16c to 24c.

Date PurchasedDec 2011

Great little cooler

published

I bought this cooler for my ute as I do a lot of travelling & love having a cold drink (& not paying $5 for a bottle of water on the Nullabor).
I have it running off my second battery & has been on since Sept 16. It keeps my drinks & food cooler than I expected even on 40 degree days it keeps everything chilly.
The only issue I've had with mine was the internal fan was making a clicking noise & it was due to a bit of ice (lowered the temp & it thawed) so note, don't have it on the highest setting for 7 months straight.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

summerluva

summerluvaAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

not a good camping fridge on 12Volt but makes a good house drink fridge

published

My TC35FL cooler runs very poorly on 12volt battery - not really cold enough to put perishable food in but it will keep water cool. I found it totally useless on hot days where temp gets up into 30's. I had it out of car and kept it in the shade with a heavy duty cardboard box draped over the top to help insulate it At home it ran pretty good on mains power and did keep my drinks nice and cold. Pretty disappointed in its efficiency as its supposed to be a camping fridge which you run from cigarette lighter. One thought i had on this is perhaps you need keep a 2lt bottle of frozen water in it and to keep it in the car on a very short lead as i believe the longer the lead the more power is lost.???

Date PurchasedOct 2015

ryan

ryan

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

power pig!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Wprks great.

published

Keeps drinks nice and cool. Sits in the truck with me and cant complain. Kept my drinks cold today (was 39 degrees)
Fites 6 water bottles and ny sangas nice and cool. Will recomend to all our friends. The boss is even buying some for the other trucks in the fleet.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great little unit should have bought one sooner

published

Works great icey cold drinks when you need them couldn't do without it now sits on truck seat beside me forever ready cool suggested to friends and family to buy one nice and easy to handle and light too which helps in the truck even my sandwiches stay nice and cool on a hot day bonus.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great little cooler for the cost

published

I have had the 14l in my truck for 3 years getting bashed around and beaten. Works great for keeping lunch and drinks cool. I think People expect too pay $200 for a cooler and want it too do the same job as a $1200 Engel. It's light weight, easy too carry and better than an esky with an iceblock


KirstyB

KirstyBSouth Australia, 5540

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better than expected

published

Temperature sits near 3 Celcius and large enough for a few drinks and containers of food. Light enough to lift easily into back of my 4x4. Can't fault this little TC-14FL, price was very good from BCF. Great on 240V excellent on 12V, big enough to hold a couple of longer bottles if needed.


Paulc98

Paulc98Mount Druitt

  • 17 reviews
  • 17 likes

Excellent Cooler

published

I purchased this unit as a cooler for a 4wd. It performs admirably it is light enough to be lifted easily and will hold 4 bottles of water and 2 sandwiches and 2 apples easily. The temperature is down to about 3 degrees on a 34 degree day. It is quiet and I cant fault it in any way.


Wombat

Wombat

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Used for six years non stop.

published

Despite what the stories say I have had it to minus one degree celsius. I regularly open the end cover to clean out fluff that accumulates on the cooling fins. It makes a big difference. Fan motors sometimes get noisy, then suddenly quiet again. 240 volt power board failed years ago, so I run it through a 12 volt power supply.

1 comment
Wombat
Wombat

Yesterday, running on 7 lights, the internal temperature was MINUS 2 degrees on a 23 degree day. I do not need to have it that cold. Switched to 5 lights and is now plus 2.7 degrees in a 17 degree day. Love this unit!


Cheryl

CherylMurray Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Better than expected

published

Bought Waeco Cool Pro 14 litre and lent it to my truck driver son while his truck fridge was being repaid. He said apart from size was it was as good as his truck fridge/freezer. Kept drinks and food at a good temperature. Doesn't use much batter to keep it running.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Joe

Joeasked

Yea mine is running on 240 volts ,but when switch to 12 volt ,keeps blowing fuses .

No answers

Graham P

Graham Pasked

Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Hi there.
Can you please tell me if the internal fan runs constantly with the external fan.
Ive got my cooler hooked up to 240volt and the external fan is going but getting nothing from the internal one.
Thanks

2 answers
Hardball
Hardball

It's supposed to.
Internal power supply has two low voltage components I believe. 1 x 5v & 1 x 10. Or something in that range. How those fans are connected up to those power supplies I do not know. Maybe a case of no power to one of the fans or a seized fan. If it's just a fan I used to salvage one of similar voltage from an old computer and screw them into place. These days it's even easier. You just look up the dimensions of the fan on mebay or amazon and source one with the appropriate voltage. All this is presuming you're Peltier unit is still operational....

Graham P
Graham P

Thanks mate. I have been down and purchased a new internal fan and hooked it up with no joy.
Will keep looking.


Claudia G

Claudia Gasked

Waeco CoolPro TC-35FL (33L)

Can I use my thermoelectric cooler lying on its side?

2 answers
Don
Don

Claudia
As the cooling system is mainly solid state electronics with a cooling fan on a heat sink I imagine that it should be ok. It should be like operating a notebook pc on its side.

Hardball
Hardball

Shouldn't make a scrap of difference, other than thermal leakage as cold air which will flow downhill, leaks out the lid seals.
Unlike conventional fridges, there are no moving parts other than fans so issues such as hydraulic lock, caused by lubrication oil getting past compressors when you tip fridges on their side, is not a problem.


Get an answer from our members and Dometic representatives

Details

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

19 reviews
Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-21FL (20L)

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-21FL (20L)

No reviews
Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-35FL (33L)

Dometic Waeco CoolPro TC-35FL (33L)

12 reviews
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $249$299$399
Type Fridge OnlyFridge OnlyFridge Only
Capacity14L20L33L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletWall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Interior LightInterior Light
Cooling Capacity1 °C to 25 °C
Weight5.5 kg7 kg10.3 kg
Dimensions 328 x 303 x 450 mm420 x 303 x 450 mm460 x 376 x 550 mm
Construction Material PlasticPlastic
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.