3 photos
Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

TC-14FL (14L), TC-35FL (33L), TC-21FL (20L)
3.5 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Dometic? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Small, compact

  • Affordable

  • Designed for both warm and cool food or drinks

Cons

  • Maintains food temperature, rather than altering it

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Komang P.
Komang P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cooling food

published

Its ok if you put it inside the car with aircon on on your way to destenation.
It work depend on temperature inside your car (thermal cooling system) the cooler your cabin the beter this cooler will be.
Remeber to unplug it unless you have auxiliry battery

Purchased in August 2020 at Autobarn for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Works quite well 2%

published

Power usage is fair gets cold works well I would suggest that if you have one and its not working properly that you may have an issue with your plug - I changed mine for some thing more heavy duty

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex D
Alex DBarkly, NT
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seems reliable

published

Good value, I've been using non stop for 2 months now and works well. Doesn't cool as good as a fridge but you get what you pay for. Recommended product.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jens B.
Jens B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Fair Performer

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Don
DonAdelaide
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Useful and durable car cooler/warmer

published

These units live up to their specifications: they cool down to 20C-25C below ambient and heat to about 65C. It is best to set the unit running on AC to precool or preheat and fill with cooled or heated food or drinks, however, this is not really necessary.
Replacement of an AC socket was the only repair in over 10 years of regular use. The unit can be used as a supplementary fridge but the fan is somewhat noisy in quiet situations such as a motel room.

Date PurchasedNov 2008

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
WOMBAT
WOMBAT
  • 2 reviews

Chapter 4 .

published

The 12 volt fault was traced to a poor fuse connection through the plug. A new 240 volt circuit board was supplied under warranty by Waeco. It is now working on both voltages like it should, running on 4 out of 7 lights with cabinet temperatures ranging from 1.8c to 4.0c in room temperatures in the range of 16c to 24c.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
ryan
ryan
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

power pig!

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2012

Great little cooler for the cost

published

I have had the 14l in my truck for 3 years getting bashed around and beaten. Works great for keeping lunch and drinks cool. I think People expect too pay $200 for a cooler and want it too do the same job as a $1200 Engel. It's light weight, easy too carry and better than an esky with an iceblock

Wombat
Wombat
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Used for six years non stop.

published

Despite what the stories say I have had it to minus one degree celsius. I regularly open the end cover to clean out fluff that accumulates on the cooling fins. It makes a big difference. Fan motors sometimes get noisy, then suddenly quiet again. 240 volt power board failed years ago, so I run it through a 12 volt power supply.

Wombat
Wombat

Yesterday, running on 7 lights, the internal temperature was MINUS 2 degrees on a 23 degree day. I do not need to have it that cold. Switched to 5 lights and is now plus 2.7 degrees in a 17 degree day. Love this unit!

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cheryl
CherylMurray Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than expected

published

Bought Waeco Cool Pro 14 litre and lent it to my truck driver son while his truck fridge was being repaid. He said apart from size was it was as good as his truck fridge/freezer. Kept drinks and food at a good temperature. Doesn't use much batter to keep it running.

Very good

published

We borrowed my sisters waeco from Newcastle on a Xmas trip from Brisbane to Perth about four years ago and encountered temps in the 40's in SW NSW. Ran flawlessly, kept food and drinks cold, as cold as a shop fridge. Do not know if it ran continuously as it was in the back of a packed Territory and we could not hear it. Held temp with the car not running for hours including milk although when staying somewhere overnight we ran it on 240v to keep things cool. I am now looking at purchasing a unit of our own to take on a trip to Darwin mid year.
Kept drinks to nice cold drinking temp.
None

sturtdesert
sturtdesertsydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waeco TC-14FL thermoelectric cooler

published

Does exactly what it is supposed to - cools food close to 30deg C below ambient temperature. I have tested it half-full at +22.5 deg C, and it pulled the temp down to +5 deg C. It will without a doubt struggle at an ambient temp upwards of +30. This test was conducted at maximum cooling setting. Great for keeping your beer cool, or sandwiches for a picnic etc, but will not be suitable to use for camping for keeping milk/meat etc at a safe temp. Otherwise, a fantastic little cooler. Note also this will drain your car battery far more readily than a compressor portable fridge.
Compact, cools effectively in moderate ambient temperatures, quality construction.
Not effective in high ambient temperatures besides cooling beer/drink/sandwiches etc.

Mr Mojo Risin'
Mr Mojo Risin'CHATSWOOD
  • 6 reviews
  • 14 likes

Comments apply to all Thermoelectric models & brands basically.

published
hopalong
hopalong
  • 2 reviews

OK

published
claire ensor
claire ensor

Questions & Answers

Alan P.
Alan P.asked
TropiCool Series

My waeco fridge has suddenly stopped cooling , runs constantly without cooling. Has performed flawlessly for over 2 months on the road but suddenly stopped cooling. Is it a simple fix or terminal

No answers
Julie
Julieasked
TropiCool Series

Can I run on 240v continually for a month while travelling

2 answers
steve.lindz
steve.lindz

Yes it will. I will maby test it before committing to using it for a month I think you will be disappointed if you are using it for that long.

Julie
Julie

Thanks

Troy S.
Troy S.asked
TropiCool Series

Waeco CoolPro will work on 240 but not on the 12/24-dc cord. Would it be the cord itself, fuse or maybe the compressor?
Thanks

No answers
See all Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

Details

The Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series is a line of small, affordable portable fridges. Each comes with heating and cooling capabilities, able to cool below 25 degrees below or heat 65 degrees above external temperatures. They can run on 12V or 240V power, with a "7-stage" digital temperature control.

Reviewers liked the smallness of the fridge, often saying it fit well in the passenger footwell of a van or truck. Though not as high-performing or energy efficient as other portable fridges, reviewers generally agree that it's worth what it costs. People also noted the fridge is unable to change the temperature of food or drinks quickly, and should instead be seen as a tool to maintain the temperature of an item you put into it. It will struggle in extreme temperatures, and is best used to keep cold stuff cool, or hot stuff warm.

Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $249.00$299.00$399.00
Type Fridge OnlyFridge OnlyFridge Only
Capacity14L20L33L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletWall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Interior LightInterior Light
Cooling Capacity1 °C to 25 °C
Weight5.5 kg7 kg10.3 kg
Dimensions 328 x 303 x 450 mm420 x 303 x 450 mm460 x 376 x 550 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Construction MaterialPlasticPlastic
Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.