3 photos
Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

TC-14FL (14L), TC-35FL (33L), TC-21FL (20L)
3.5 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Dometic? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Small, compact

  • Affordable

  • Designed for both warm and cool food or drinks

Cons

  • Maintains food temperature, rather than altering it

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Komang P.
Komang P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cooling food

published

Its ok if you put it inside the car with aircon on on your way to destenation.
It work depend on temperature inside your car (thermal cooling system) the cooler your cabin the beter this cooler will be.
Remeber to unplug it unless you have auxiliry battery

Purchased in August 2020 at Autobarn for $199.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5

Works quite well 2%

published

Power usage is fair gets cold works well I would suggest that if you have one and its not working properly that you may have an issue with your plug - I changed mine for some thing more heavy duty

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Alex D
Alex DBarkly, NT
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seems reliable

published

Good value, I've been using non stop for 2 months now and works well. Doesn't cool as good as a fridge but you get what you pay for. Recommended product.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Hardball
HardballSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 97 likes

Great "Dry Cooler"

published

Purchased in August 2009 at Supercheap Auto for $150.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hardball
Hardball
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jens B.
Jens B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Fair Performer

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Don
DonAdelaide
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Useful and durable car cooler/warmer

published

These units live up to their specifications: they cool down to 20C-25C below ambient and heat to about 65C. It is best to set the unit running on AC to precool or preheat and fill with cooled or heated food or drinks, however, this is not really necessary.
Replacement of an AC socket was the only repair in over 10 years of regular use. The unit can be used as a supplementary fridge but the fan is somewhat noisy in quiet situations such as a motel room.

Date PurchasedNov 2008

Great little cooler

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
WOMBAT
WOMBAT
  • 2 reviews

Chapter 4 .

published

The 12 volt fault was traced to a poor fuse connection through the plug. A new 240 volt circuit board was supplied under warranty by Waeco. It is now working on both voltages like it should, running on 4 out of 7 lights with cabinet temperatures ranging from 1.8c to 4.0c in room temperatures in the range of 16c to 24c.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
Chris V
Chris VSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little cooler

published

I bought this cooler for my ute as I do a lot of travelling & love having a cold drink (& not paying $5 for a bottle of water on the Nullabor).
I have it running off my second battery & has been on since Sept 16. It keeps my drinks & food cooler than I expected even on 40 degree days it keeps everything chilly.
The only issue I've had with mine was the internal fan was making a clicking noise & it was due to a bit of ice (lowered the temp & it thawed) so note, don't have it on the highest setting for 7 months straight.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ryan
ryan
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

power pig!

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2012

Wprks great.

published

Keeps drinks nice and cool. Sits in the truck with me and cant complain. Kept my drinks cold today (was 39 degrees)
Fites 6 water bottles and ny sangas nice and cool. Will recomend to all our friends. The boss is even buying some for the other trucks in the fleet.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great little unit should have bought one sooner

published

Works great icey cold drinks when you need them couldn't do without it now sits on truck seat beside me forever ready cool suggested to friends and family to buy one nice and easy to handle and light too which helps in the truck even my sandwiches stay nice and cool on a hot day bonus.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little cooler for the cost

published

I have had the 14l in my truck for 3 years getting bashed around and beaten. Works great for keeping lunch and drinks cool. I think People expect too pay $200 for a cooler and want it too do the same job as a $1200 Engel. It's light weight, easy too carry and better than an esky with an iceblock

KirstyB
KirstyBSouth Australia, 5540
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than expected

published

Temperature sits near 3 Celcius and large enough for a few drinks and containers of food. Light enough to lift easily into back of my 4x4. Can't fault this little TC-14FL, price was very good from BCF. Great on 240V excellent on 12V, big enough to hold a couple of longer bottles if needed.

Paulc98
Paulc98Mount Druitt
  • 20 reviews
  • 25 likes

Excellent Cooler

published

I purchased this unit as a cooler for a 4wd. It performs admirably it is light enough to be lifted easily and will hold 4 bottles of water and 2 sandwiches and 2 apples easily. The temperature is down to about 3 degrees on a 34 degree day. It is quiet and I cant fault it in any way.

Questions & Answers

BMa
BMaasked
Waeco CoolPro TC-35FL (33L)

My Coolpro TC - 35fl first had a blown fuse in 12v lead but would run on 240v. Now will not run on at all. When connected to 240v there is a click followed by quiet hum but does not run. Unscrewed panel with the fan. All looks ok - no burnt or disconnected components. Is there an internal fuse? Suggestions please.

No answers
Joan G.
Joan G.asked
Waeco CoolPro TC-14FL (14L)

What amps does it use

1 answer
Komang P.
Komang P.

It using PET normaly 75watt so it max 6.2A for maximum heating or cooling

Ann R.
Ann R.asked
Waeco CoolPro TC-35FL (33L)

Do I have to cool my cool box to the right temperature before use ?

2 answers
Lucien F.
Lucien F.

Better to do so, and put an ice pack in it too.

Ann R.
Ann R.

Hi thank you for replying I have noticed since getting the cool box I get water leaking from the bottom every so often should this happen it's not much but why is this happening thanks

See all Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

Details

The Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series is a line of small, affordable portable fridges. Each comes with heating and cooling capabilities, able to cool below 25 degrees below or heat 65 degrees above external temperatures. They can run on 12V or 240V power, with a "7-stage" digital temperature control.

Reviewers liked the smallness of the fridge, often saying it fit well in the passenger footwell of a van or truck. Though not as high-performing or energy efficient as other portable fridges, reviewers generally agree that it's worth what it costs. People also noted the fridge is unable to change the temperature of food or drinks quickly, and should instead be seen as a tool to maintain the temperature of an item you put into it. It will struggle in extreme temperatures, and is best used to keep cold stuff cool, or hot stuff warm.

Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $249.00$299.00$399.00
Type Fridge OnlyFridge OnlyFridge Only
Capacity14L20L33L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletWall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Interior LightInterior Light
Cooling Capacity1 °C to 25 °C
Weight5.5 kg7 kg10.3 kg
Dimensions 328 x 303 x 450 mm420 x 303 x 450 mm460 x 376 x 550 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Construction MaterialPlasticPlastic
Compare all 3 Dometic Waeco TropiCool Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.