??!
2 photos
Dulux Aquanamel

Dulux Aquanamel (page 3 of 8)

Semi Gloss, Gloss, Low Sheen
2.3 from 145 reviews

Reviews

2.3

145 reviews
5
(24)
4
(19)
3
(9)
2
(17)
1
(76)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Seafraid

SeafraidMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst paint ever!

published

It does just work on skirting boards if you move quickly but totally useless on anything larger. 5 coats on a door - the last as bad as the first. Wouldn't brush out without brush marks and had flat spots all over. Contacted the DULUX help desk - their recommendations try thinner. I wasted money on their Hot Weather Thinner even though the weather wasn't hot - It didn't help. I'll never use DULUX paint again! EVER!!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Gerrykh

GerrykhGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good quality.

published

In answer to a lot of comments, I think people should leave this sort of job to the professionals. If I pick up a welder and get dags everywhere it's not the fault of the welder but the fault of the applicator, same goes for painting.I am very happy with the product..

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Paul

Paul

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't waste your time

published

I am normally a big fan of Dulux but unfortunately this product is rubbish compare to the Haymes water based gloss. Painted several doors and frames with the aquanamel and decided to buy the Haymes product as I was running out of the aquanamel. Its like night and day, the application is much easier with Haymes gloss and the end result is amazing!! Not sure how Dulux could get it so wrong as their other paints are great. Wish I would of got the Haymes gloss at the start as there is now a notable difference between the two. trust me dont waste your time or money with this one.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Dulux Aquanamel compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Queen Bee

Queen BeeQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really Good

published

I was a bit skeptical using this as a few reviews said it was dry and hard to work with but I actually found it really easy to work with and I live in a really hot dry climate. I actually painted over oiled based window sills and skirts as it was going yellow and this paint is a lovely bright white. I will definitely do all my doors with this paint too!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Rubbish

published

Dries too quick on hot days, brush gets gluggy.
Runs if too thick.
I also found second coat began to dissolve the first coat.
Brushing was pulling off the first coat causing lumps.
The worst paint I've ever used in 35 years.
I think it has a short shelf life, and hardwares don't discard paint.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Paintersx56

Paintersx56Australia

Why was it even invented

published

Terrible vivid white semi gloss paint. Double undercoating on trims, doors, windows etc doesn't help as this rubbish paint does not cover. Paint brush marks are terribly visible and the final work doesn't look attractive at all. It is still shady and the base color comes through. Applied thicker runs down immediately, beyond control. Applied with a small fiber roller looks the best but it can't be applied by the roller everywhere and this is a huge problem with it. Disappointed to the limits!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
wyrmbait

wyrmbaitSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 19 likes

Dulux Aquanamel Listen to the Reviews, i didnt....

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Trinity P

Trinity PBuninyong

  • 4 reviews

Pros and cons

published

It doesn’t smell as bad as enamel which for me was a plus. As the smell of enamel hangs around for weeks. I found it ok on trims but doors the brush marks are too pronounced Leaving me wondering if I’d been better off putting up with the smell for the look.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
2 comments
Dulux
Caitlin O.Dulux
Trinity P
Trinity P

Ok thanks for your feedback

Lorigow

LorigowPerth WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

still great surface to look at and performing well since 2013

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Dulux
Caitlin O.Dulux

Hi Lorigow,
Glad you hear of your experience with Dulux Aquanamel. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and tips for others!
Kind regards,
Dulux Australia

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Dulux Aquanamel compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pebros

PebrosAuckland, 0630, NZ

Rubbish

published

Impossible to brush onto window sills/ frames. Leaves rough patches everywhere and cannot brush out. Dries on the brush. In 50+ years of painting I have never found such a disappointing product! would never buy again. Don't listen to Bunning's advice. I might have to go to Mitre 10 or Resene.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Love this product

published

I've used this paint on all of our trim and doors in our 130 year old house all big fancy archs and skirting boards the gloss level is brilliant and it brushes on quite easily Ihave painted houses for a living and would easily choose this over oil based paint I wont use anything else

Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
Dulux
garthDulux

Hi Rick,we are glad to hear about the great result you got with your doors and trim. All the best with your future painting projects. Feel free to call our Help&Advice team if you need any support on 13 25 25. The Dulux team

Love this paint

published

Have used nearly 20 lts of this paint on new internal doors,skirts,door and window frames. Without any probs. Applied mostly with short nap roller but some brushing all ok. Did paint 2 coats of 3in1 dulux primer sealer undercoat. I didn't sand between top coats as product says not to. It does dry fast and did pick up on one door but once dry is very hard. Very happy with results.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Dulux
Caitlin O.Dulux

Hi Big Rod,
Thanks for the feedback, great to hear about your experience with Dulux Aquanamel!
Kind regards,
Dulux Australia

Jamie

Jamie

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

DEFINITELY NOT for brushing on trims, but OK if rolled or sprayed QUICKLY on larger surfaces

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Awful

published

Bunnings sold us this paint as the didn’t have the White Knight paint we wanted. So disappointed. We are painting the inside of an old caravan and the finish is awful. Wish I’d read the reviews first! Don’t buy this paint. I feel like we were led astray by Bunnings staff.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Do your self a favour don't buy this product

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Dulux Aquanamel compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HappyJan

HappyJanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 25 likes

Tricky but ok

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Brad S

Brad SGold Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Rubbish from start to finish

published

This product like many others from dulux do not live up to expectations myself and many professional painters are moving away from Duluth as their products are no longer top quality problems have occurred with many of their premium products such as aqua enamel and wash and wear better products can be purchased from taubmans or resene

Date PurchasedNov 2017

I wish I read the reviews on this stuff first

published

This product is crap super hard to use brush strokes still visible after four coats had bubbling I've just wasted a whole day using this on my door frames and not getting any closer to the result I'm looking for. I thought I just sucked at glossing now I don't know what to do keep coating and sand back and use oil based I could cry I've wasted so much time on this stuff and now in gonna have to send it back and do it all again save yourself the pain people.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Rostyslav

RostyslavNoble Park

Stay away from this product!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not good

published

This product is very very difficult to use and has been most disappointing. The coverage was fine but the paint drys almost instantly and creates a dragging effect leaving rough patches and brush strokes that can't be fixed during that coat. I used a quality brush and prepped properly but still produced a poorer than expected top coat result on a solid timber external feature door. Did not have issues when using a roller for other timber but this stuff and brushes don't seem compatible! Cost plenty, I'm thinking I'll have to re do in oil based enamel. Not much I complain about but aquanamel just doesn't produce the quality finish expected when using a brush. Sorry.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 3 of 8
See all Dulux Aquanamel reviews

Questions & Answers

Henry M.

Henry M.asked

Aquanamel

Hi there, I've applied this to skirting, doors and window sashes. The paint is translucent in appearance and the second coat still does not give depth to cover. I have used vivid white off the shelf and its like there isn't enough white tint in the mix. I have stirred it twice for extra measure but still no difference.
How can I sort out this problem.
Cheers Harry

3 answers
Ashley
Ashley

Sorry have not had this issue so not sure how to sort out your problem. Probably best you give Dulux Tech support a call.

Dulux
Renee B.Dulux

Hi Henry, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our aquanamel paint. We are so sorry to hear that you are having some issues, and we would like to help. Please contact our Help & Advice team on 13 25 25 (Option 2), and quote your ticket number 357390, or you can private message us with your details and we will call you as soon as possible. Our operating hours are Monday to Friday 7:30am to 7:00pm, Saturdays from 8:30am to 3:00pm, and Sundays from 10am to 4pm AEST – The Customer Service Team.

Tibor
Tibor

Vivid white is the base of all whites there's not much coverage as it's got no tint in it, try something like vic builders white. Aqua enamel itself will be translucent and will need the same color undercoat.

Curious

Curiousasked

Aquanamel Semi Gloss

Hi there, what timber putty/sealer would you recommend to use with a Aquanamel paint on timber skirting as I have got bubbles on all the nail holes previously filled, under latex then double coated in aquanamel? I was told Aquanamel draws water out of the sealers?? Any recommendations to ensure no bubbles?

4 answers
Ashley
Ashley

When using Aquanemel I prepared the old surface well before using Dulux 1 step pre coat paint before applying the Semi Gloss. Had no problems with the Polyfilla for Doors and Trims product to fill holes etc.

Curious
Curious

Thank you - Yes, used total prep prior to 2 coats of aquanamel, but since the application (over 6mths) the putty has been drawn out of the hole to make a bubble... was told if the putty/filla was water based it would do this?? Just thought I might be able to see the names of product recommended for prep with this paint.

Dulux
Renee B.Dulux

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our Aquanamel Semi Gloss paint. We are so sorry to hear that you are having some issues, and we would like to help. Please contact our Help & Advice team on 13 25 25 (Option 2), and quote your ticket number 350314, or you can private message us with your details and we will call you as soon as possible. Our operating hours are Monday to Friday 7:30am to 7:00pm, Saturdays from 8:30am to 3:00pm, and Sundays from 10am to 4pm AEST – The Customer Service Team.

Alysha W.

Alysha W.asked

Aquanamel

can you use aquanamel on bathroom and kitchen tiles

2 answers
Dulux
Renee B.Dulux

Hi Alysha Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your query, Dulux Aquanamel! We would love to help! Please give our Help & Advice Team a call on 13 25 25 (Option 2), and they will be able to answer all of your questions! – The Customer Service Team.

Tibor
Tibor

I wouldn't

Get an answer from our members and Dulux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.