??!
2 photos
Dux Prodigy 3

Dux Prodigy 3

135SL, 170SL, 170SN, 135SN
1.9 from 23 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
16

Peter Kothstein

Peter KothsteinPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Value for money

published

As a 33 year experienced and Licensed Plumber and Licensed Gas fitter you get loyal combustion over the expectations of 7 years before replacing the unit.
Commissioning of the unit is the key.
Peter 0405025476

Purchased in March 2012 for $875.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Dux
Dux C.Dux

Ellawala

EllawalaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best hot water system in the market and value for money w

published

With 2 kids under 3 years the demand for hot water is high at home.
The Dux is doing it's job very wel
We are extremely satisfied and recommend Dux products to all

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Dux
Dux C.Dux

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lyn

LynCentral, SA

Only 4 years old and needs replacing

published

As previous people the pilot light kept going out and I couldn't get it to restart. Cost of plumber each time. Unit is now leaking and only 4 years old - needs replacing. Costly exercise! Very disappointed.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
2 comments
Dux
Dux C.Dux
Dux
Dux C.Dux
crowner

crownerSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

hot water very hot.Excellent

published

We installed a prodigy 3 from Bunnings after our old unit broke down and was leaking water on a Monday,by Wednesday we had it up and running . The whole process from ordering at Bunnings to the time of installation was excellent.We were well looked after.Our hot water is a lot more hotter than before..Good one.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Good

published

I bought my hot water heater from Bunnings on 5th April 2018. I am happy with the services and installation of the hot water heater provided by the Dux Team. They even replaced the dented cover from the hot water heater! So far I have not encountered any problem with the hot water heater.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

This is a bad company don't buy

published

my dux 170l hotwater serice is rubbish.only 2.5years old and pilot light keeps going out.this is known problem so should be covered by waranty. i rang them and was told rudely i might add that it is not albeit it is known problem and said bad luck.i am now going to pursue this in court as it is not good enough.this people dont care but will take your money
shame on you dux. will never buy anything from this so called aussie business again
people please take heed before you buy a water heater from dux as they are rubbish and will cost you s fortune to repair.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Pretty good all considered

published
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Not fit for purpose -- don't buy it

published
Date PurchasedJul 2014

John O

John OCairnlea

Dud Sunpro

published

Purchased in 2008 and nothing but trouble. Solar panels replaced under 2 years, Anti Frost Valve 1 time, Solenoid Valve 2 times, Gas Control 2 times, Electronic Control unit 6 months ago and now is not heating up. Use up water & gas wont automatically reheat quickly. Its winter & solar is affected but gas should automatically kick in and do the job but same problem every year. Absolute rubbish.

Date PurchasedDec 2008
Annoyed

AnnoyedCheltenham

Dux (or Dud) Prodigy. Never again...

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

spurf

spurfAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Simple fix for Pilot Light going out

published

Pauly

PaulyCanberra

Dux = RUBBISH!

published

Prodigy 3, pilot light goes out daily. 2 warranty calls to Dux with no result. Rang Dux again, out of warranty, only 1 record of me calling so not a recurring issue. Would advise everyone to steer clear of all Dux products as the quality is non existent along with the customer service.


Dux Prodigy 135D5L

published

We built a new house mid 2013. Have a Dux propane system to heat the water. Everytime we get a new LPG cylinder delivered, the unit develops a problem with the pilot light. Wouldn't stay on so we had a gas fitter out and he said it was a problem in the systems line. Now the Unit won't light at all. Will either be a thermocoupling problem or issue with the thermostat controller. This unit is garbage. Costs us at least $350 to get a plumber out everytime. If you buy one, on your own head be it. It will cost less to replace it with a decent unit in the long term. Never again.

1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi Monarokid, We are sorry to hear of your experience, we would like to investigate this issue further, please email us at feedback@dux.com.au with reference number PRW312, please include your 12 digit serial number.
Regards Dux After Sales.


flossygirl

flossygirlbrisbane

Absolute piece of rubbish and terrible customer service at Dux

published
1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi "flossygirl", We are sorry to hear of your experience, we would like to investigate this issue further, please email us at feedback@dux.com.au with reference number PRW249, please include your 12 digit serial number. Thanks Dux Hot Water.


Mark

MarkWaterways

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ongoing problems with hot water system.

published

Worst product on market, replaced contoller twice , first under warranty , solar panels leaking, cost nearly a thousand dollars for labour.
Now pilot light on, but not working again. So far had paid over $ 1k just for service in about six years. Would NEVER touch their product again.

1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi Mark, We are sorry to hear of your experience, we would like to investigate this issue further, please email us at feedback@dux.com.au with reference number PRW238, please include your 12 digit serial number.
Thanks Dux After Sales.

robins60

robins60ADELAIDE

  • 43 reviews
  • 79 likes

Not energy efficient but works ok.

published

Alexey

Alexey

  • 12 reviews

Amazingly bad product

published
1 comment
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi Alexey, We are sorry to hear of your experience, we would like to investigate this issue further, please email us at feedback@dux.com.au with reference number PRW205, please include your 12 digit serial number. Thanks Dux After Sales.


Paul

PaulSydney

Dux -- Pilot light going out

published

I bought dux prodigy about 3 years ago. All is well with the unit except that the pilot light is going out , evertime we come back from vacations. Rang a plumber and he reckons it might be the the thermocouple again. I except this unit to last at least 7 years but this problem of pilot light comes on every time, the unit is turned off for vacations etc. Not happy with this Australian product.


Never buy Dux again

published

Unit not even 3 years old and now it's got same problem as other reviews! Pilot will not stay lit!, called dux n got told too bad. But they happy to ask for $120.00 just for turning up to look at it plus extra touch it n for parts!! From looking on net, this seems to be a common fault with this type of unit n more or less a way of dux making extra money! . Once a great Australian company with top products but now just rubbish, poor products to go hand in hand with poor service. Shame Dux , I never buy your hot water or air con units again. 1 star is still to hight .


Dux Prodigy Three problems

published
2 comments
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi Fiona,
Dux Manufacturing Limited has been in contact with you, if you have any further questions please call on 1300 365 115 - option 2 or email on feedback@dux.com.au .
Thanks
Dux After Sales.

Fiona
Fiona

Thanks for the prompt and positive response to this matter Dux. I am more than happy with the fact that you are resolving this matter for me at no charge as is my plumber who has always promoted your products as Australian made. Many thanks


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Pauline D.

Pauline D.asked

How can I stop the excessive loud banging/popping noise from the unit. This happens every time the water is being used!!

3 answers
Ellawala
Ellawala

I don't know why.I too am a consumer.

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Pauline,

We'd be happy to assist you with your question.

If you can email through your full name, phone number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au it will be great.

Regards,

The Dux Team

Dux
Dux C.Dux

Hi Pauline,

The heater (as it is a hollow vessel) might be amplifying noises in the plumbing and valves fitted to the cold water supply to the tank, as the water is being drawn off, any 'chattering' of valves is amplified by the hot water system.

It might be worth either getting a local plumber in to test and replace any inlet valves as required, otherwise one of our service agents (contact Dux After Sales on 1300 365 115 Option 2) can change valves as required and inspect the heater for correct operation.

To save you from calling us, we would appreciate if you can email through your full name, phone number, address where the unit is installed, model number and serial number of the unit to help@dux.com.au and we will be the one to get in touch with you.

Regards,

The Dux Team


Craig

Craigasked

How long should the hot water last havin a shower.... lasts for about 8 minutes before going cold..... mmmm.... model 135fng...

1 answer
John O
John O

Hi Craig, this was a regular thing in winter. Shorter sunlight hours or often overcast or just cooler ambient temp in general all contributed. Even though the thermostat should have made gas kick in and get temp up it was often a struggle to more than 10 min of usable hot water with hot tap on full. Eventually we had to get rid of it and installed a 230lt Aquamax and haven’t looked back.


polo

poloasked

How can I de-scale my Prodigy, the popping and banging is starting to irritate.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Dux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.